We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, friendly, relaxed. Great breakfast.”
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #14 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I am sitting outside my room of the Rimping Village right now, relaxing on the terraced area where they have placed very comfortable chairs. It is raining, but I am comfortable and happy, looking out over the pool. I just had a delicious breakfast with excellent latte, fresh fruit, eggs made to order, and lots of other options. My room is huge, the internet has been fast and reliable, the staff accommodating. I am within easy distance to some great areas for walking around, including the night market and many delicious food options? Chiang Mai, as is true seemingly everywhere in Southeast Asia, has a zillion massage places, so I went to one recommended by the hotel where I got an hour long amazing foot massage for $8, and then later on that same day a 90 minute full body Thai massage.

The front desk made arrangements for me to have a tour yesterday, and they also have a fleet of bicycles to loan out to their guests... although, please take care because inexperienced riders may been intimidated by the crazy traffic patterns and bumpy road surfaces.

My only minor quibble was with my shower; only in the sense that the water pressure was so unpredictable here that showering becomes an adventure; shivering cold water that suddenly becomes scalding hot then goes cold again, all within the same minute. So, whatever...

This place is a true gem. 5 stars for sure.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank chloes_dad_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

765 - 771 of 2,099 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

I can't praise the staff and hotel highly enough. The hotel is excellent value, very clean and excellent food. We only ate once in the evening and the food was as good as the best restaurant . The staff are friendly and exceptionally helpful and organised our taxis and day trips quickly and efficiently. If we return to Chiang Mai we would definitely return to Rimping village.

Room Tip: It's a small hotel in a quiet area so don't see a problem with room selection unless you pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

very welcoming hotel on our arrival from UK . Reception staff couldn't have been more helpful. excellent breakfast near the pool and rooms spacious with good sized bathroom . About 30 min walk from old town but great walking location near to the river for the night market and restaurants. Tut tuts to old city ( little happening at night in old town ) were cheap . would stay again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Loved the rustic look and friendly staff!! The hotel is nicely located, ideal for the many tours you can book in Chiang Mai and it is also walking distance to the town where there are many things to do/see (including the night market).

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akhil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

If you travel to Chiang Mai this hotel is a must. It provides every bit of comfort for your journey and the service is excellent! The quality service is the foremost memory i take away from my stay at Rimping Village. Its a nice quiet area but also close to town, particularly the night markets. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the buffet breakfast is tasty and filling. Thankyou to all the staff there for making our stay pleasant and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clinton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

After reading the reports of other TA travelers we booked 4 nights at Rimping Village and were happy we did!
Although this is not a 5 star resort, we found the personal service from the staff to be at 5 star level! The word "no" was not in their vocabulary and they went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant stay.
The included breakfast each morning was very good and we enjoyed having coffee outside on the patio by the beautiful large tree!
We will book this hotel again on our next visit to Chiang Mai!

Joe and Nam
Las Vegas, NV

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sportsitejoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Rimping village is in a great location, close to the night markets, cafés and restaurants, but removed enough to be quiet at night. The staff are wonderful, the rooms are just great. Breakfast is outstanding, what more can we say? Rimping is rated highly on trip advisor and deserves it. We will stay here again and again.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Bruce_and_Megan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#4 of 389 in Chiang Mai
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#36 of 389 in Chiang Mai
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £49 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing