We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staff and great location”
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #11 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome staff and great location”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Rimping Village Hotel in Chiang Mai. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite (room 413) the room was spacious and very comfortable although we had some local wildlife nearby (rooster starting about 4am) that was a little noisy. the facilities are excellent and the hotel is located just a short ten minute walk from the Chiang Mai night market (walking street) and other attractions (shopping centre, temples etc). The best thing about the hotel was the staff. They went to the trouble of learning our names and arranging any tours or activities for us. They really made us feel like we were the only guests. I would certainly recommend Rimping Village Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,533
    444
    70
    7
    6
See reviews for
546
958
98
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stop here. The service was friendly and room clean and well stocked with free water.
The hotel is a long walk to the old city walls so you may need to consider a tuktuk or taxi.

The buffet breakfast is a good spread and the pool area looks inviting.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank birdovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
506 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed for two nights, ten days apart. The service was excellent from the moment we were met at the airport. Rimping Village arranged transport to and from the hotel and this was in a luxury mini bus. When we arrived back after 10 days, we were welcomed back like friends and asked how our trip went, etc. Our luggage (which we had stored with Rimping Village for the 10 days) was already waiting in our room and they brought us fresh towels and apple juice to our room. Excellent service!

Our room was nice and spacious and very well equipped. It also had a balcony and you could open the doors at night to let fresh air in. The hotel is located within walking distance of the night bazaar and the Sunday bazaar and most of the important sights although tuk-tuks and taxis are readily available. We had a good breakfast with a range of warm dishes, fruits, yoghurt, cereals and breads/pastries.

We will most definitely recommend this hotel and return here if visiting Chiang Mai again. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the service was excellent!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are very spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PretoriaTravelfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a fantastic hotel and was just perfect for our family of four. We had a large room with two beds -- just the right size for all of us. Loads of DVDs to borrow so that after a long day the kids could zone out a bit while mom & dad unwound with massages (check out the nearby Fah Lanna -- awesome). The staff here was helpful and welcoming; our youngest son celebrated his 9th birthday while in Chiang Mai and the hotel even provided a birthday cake upon our arrival. It's walking distance to the Night Bazaar and nearby are a number of good street food vendors as well as laundry services. Great experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soste2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for few nights. Staff are friendly. The most important is the staff do listen to us and organize things ahead. Baby court was arranged upon arriving without chasing. Suitcase were arranged ahead and up at our room after our second return to the hotel from a few days away. Taxi back to airport was well arranged and waited for us without us chasing them. Everything was great. Hope the staff can keep doing that and provide this good service at all time. Leave us very good memory.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hello2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

My family stayed at Rimping Village end of November this year. The rooms were clean and pleasant, the staff were friendly and the food was good.

Rimping's proximity to Chiang Mai's old town was handy. Loved the free bikes. We used them each day to explore the streets of Chiang Mai.

Can't speak highly enough of the staff. After we left Rimping for a three day trek, we returned to Chiang Mai and stayed at different accommodation. On one occasion we were stranded in the city with no directions, nor any means of getting 'home'. In desperation we called in at Rimping and asked for help and they were fantastic! Taxi was called, directions given and iced water while we waited. Can't ask for more than that!

Can highly recommend Rimping Village.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Megsy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater Beach, FL
Level Contributor
266 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. A close walk to the night market and many restaurants. During our visit, many people were enjoying the pool. Very nice buffet breakfast and strong WiFi internet in the room. Great A/C and good beds. We had a mid-level room and the place to use a laptop was small - an observation, not a complaint

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 381 in Chiang Mai
703 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,359 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#15 of 381 in Chiang Mai
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Property: Rimping Village
Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing