We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Thai hospitality”
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #11 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
adelaide
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Real Thai hospitality”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Recently stayed here for 5 days with my daughter and we were totally blown away by the wonderful staff in this hotel. Most had superior English language skills which for us made getting directions, arranging excursions etc just so much easier. All staff from the reception desk to the restaurant were extremely attentive, well informed and anxious to please - they were all very willing to help and showed us extraordinary patience with our sometimes tedious questioning ! The hotel is not 5 star but rooms are extremely clean, the pool and restaurant area are lovely to sit around for either breakfast or cold beer and meal in the evening. The style is much more traditional Thai boutique hotel and I would suggest perfect for solo travellers, couples or families. Bicycles are offered for those guests who would like to use them and taxis, tuk tuk, red cars etc all easily booked by front desk. We walked all over the city from this location, relatively simple just over the Iron Bridge on Ping River to Night market area and lovely restaurants including River Market and Riverside bar and restaurant with live music. Would definitely return and recommend to those looking for good value, friendliness and even those who are tired of 5 star anonymity !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2possums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,532
    444
    70
    7
    6
See reviews for
546
957
98
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The staff really make Rimping stand out, they simply could not do enough for us, were a wealth of information, and seemed to really commit themselves to giving individual attention to each guest. Before we had to ask a question, they would approach us with the answer, for instance, they knew when we had excursions booked and would inform us when we would be picked up, and asked us if we would like them to arrange airport transfer the day before check out. Whenever we returned from a day out, someone was there to greet us and keen to know how we got on. Also, we arrived early in the morning, having taken the night train from Bangkok, and although it was too early to check in, they allowed us to have breakfast in the restaurant (much needed), and showed us where we could have a shower if we wished.
All in all, a lovely place with simply wonderful people. Would highly recommend!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here over Christmas and it was really lovely experience.

Its not really a 5 star lavish hotel. It felt more like a homey type of place to stay at.

location wise - we need to catch a tuk tuk or cab to go into the main city where a lot of the main temples are (approx 100 - 200 bht). There are also some nice touristy restaurants up the road which is about a 10 minute walk. Its in a quiet area away from the hustle of the city which is not too far away.

service here is EXCELLENT! A young lady named Des made the effort to tell us all about the Hotel and what there was to do in the local area. She also called a local orphanage and found out all of the information we needed to know about visiting and making an appointment.
Another gentleman named Nopadon was also great to deal with. He was always very friendly and helpful. However, these two people were the only ones where I knew their names.. Every single member of the hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

the buffet Breakfast was also really nice. they offer cereals, fruits and yogurt etc.. but they also have a hot food selection of thai food, soups, bacon & eggs etc

They also provide push bikes for us to hire for the day at no extra charge which was really cool.

Thank you again for making our stay at Rimping Village an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rio de janeiro
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Perfect choice for our stay!

Comfortable and clean room, friendly and always available staff, ready for explanations and arrangements, delicious breakfast and dinner.

Affordable prices and in a walking distance from many attractions, such the Old City and Night Bazaar.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank fthedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My boyfriend and I had been travelling for 2 months and wanted a bit of luxury, and we definitely got it! The rooms are nice and spacious with fridge, aircon, amazing showers and safe. The whole hotel is set out like a little village, with the pool as the centre piece. The breakfast in the morning has english and thai food and was always gorgeous. We wanted to see the city so asked the hotel staff where to go - they were extremely helpful and showed us a few places on the map. We took one of the bikes from the store which are free and travelled around the 1 mile square city stopping off at the places they had recommended which were all fantastic. Little touches such as Anti mosquito candles being lit, and fresh fruit in the room everyday really made our stay that little bit more amazing.

Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRC19WDA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

WHY YOU WANT TO STAY HERE:

1) Location: it is very close to the action in Chiang Mai, yet far enough away to avoid the noise. An easy 3 block walk to the Night Market. Easy walk to the river, to town, to great restaurants, and massages.

2) Customer Service: these are the kindest, friendliest, and most dedicated staff I have ever met (ever...and we travel a lot)! They really go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable, and happy.

3) The Hotel: the hotel "fits" Chiang Mai. Some hotels here are posh and pretentious, Rimping Village is plenty nice, but has a charm about it like a Mediterranean Villa. We love it.

4) Extras: they have a dozen bikes you can use at no charge! Talk about fun!! They have two computers for free use, printing, etc. They have daily newspapers, magazines, books to read.

5) Breakfast: a great way to start the day!

6) Pool: a nice pool with deck chairs that are not all "presaved."

7) it was our daughter's 20'th birthday today. They overheard us mention this and brought up a cake, candles, and a lighter. They also sent a huge balloon up to the sky (see attached photos) a Thai tradition for good luck. That was way over the top nice, and we feel very loved here.

We are still here, but so far, no negatives.

We feel it's a great value, and we are obviously happy with our choice.

Maybe if you have a handicapped member of your travel group, you might want a hotel right on the main drag? We like the idea of walking a couple blocks to town, and leaving it when we are done...but if you have someone unable to easily hike a few blocks, that might factor into your hotel decision.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank traveldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Quite colonial in its feel, this is a quiet and charming hotel, rooms were very clean and comfortable, the family room an excellent size, well thought out, especially with the little touches like mosquito coils being lit outside the rooms every evening.

We stayed 5 nights and we could have happily stayed longer. The pool was a decent size to lazy around and though the hotel is further out of town it is really easy to get in via foot or tuk tuk. We ate here one night, and the food was very good.

One massive shout out must go to the staff, who were fantastic, so professional, friendly and helpful, they really went out of their way to help and always with a smile - they were the nicest we encountered during the whole trip. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 381 in Chiang Mai
701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,355 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#15 of 381 in Chiang Mai
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Property: Rimping Village
Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing