We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Hotel!”
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #12 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My sister and I stayed at Rimping Village for 4 nights in December 2013. Our reservation at the hotel included a ride to/from the airport, which was prompt on both arriving and leaving. It's a beautiful place to stay! We loved relaxing on the deck by the giant banyan tree when we weren't running around Chiang Mai. We were able to walk into the old town area of the city (maybe 20 minute walk). The front desk staff are also helpful in setting up tuktuk rides if needed to go anywhere. There's a grocery store within easy walking distance of the hotel as well where we picked up water/snacks. Our room was spacious and clean (It was located in the separate building that's back from the parking area). We also had a great balcony. We didn't have any problems with noise. The breakfast was a buffet style with Thai food, more Western food (bacon, eggs), yogurt, and fruit - super yummy! We ate at the hotel for dinner a couple times too and really liked the food then as well. Everybody at the hotel was helpful and nice. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 770 of 2,152 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

I echo many of the comments here. Every person on the staff at this hotel goes above and beyond even traditional Thai hospitality, which is saying quite a lot, considering how friendly and inviting the staff is at just about any hotel. We were here for three nights, and have no complaints. Although I usually prefer properties that are a bit more expensive, and this it is not a 5-star hotel, I was very happy here, and have no regrets. You can't get this location for this price; so, the location, the staff and the price certainly make up for not being in the Ritz. You'll be treated better than at the Ritz. Although the Rimping is close to restaurants in the old town, we ate a couple of dinners at the hotel, being too tired at the end of a long day, and the food was excellent. We didn't find the noise a problem, which surprised me after some reviews, but maybe we were just too tired to notice.
All of the suggestions we received from the staff - itineraries, restaurants, etc. - were excellent and appropriate.
If you want to ensure quiet, I guess you should follow some of the advice here and get a deluxe room. But on my next trip to Chiang Mai I would definitely go to the Rimping Village.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliveNowB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Have just returned from our 4th stay (that say's it all!) at Rimping Village Hotel, a small intimate oasis in a perfect location. A big hello to all the amazing staff who make this hotel such a special place to be. We'll be back for Loy Krathong next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BennoandWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in mid January 2014. Staff are the best in that they are knowledgeable and efficient. Hotel is in easy walking distance to old town and many fine restaurants are within a few blocks .Location is one of the best.to be found in the budget range. Our only criticism is that the rooms are very susceptible to noise. You hear the people beside you and above you. Walls are very thin as well the door doesn't block any noise. We started out across from the pool area and there were quite a few families with younger children laughing and screaming thru out the day. Forget the afternoon naps. If you want relaxing day at the pool forget it. We moved /upgraded to a deluxe room with a tub, a touch larger room which was on the ground floor. However the stair way was adjacent to our room so you heard all of the upper room traffic. Seemed like a lot of 5:30-6:00 am check-outs. I would stay again only if I was on the second floor in a deluxe room. Value for price is average but keep in mind it's a budget hotel for a reason.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

From the moment we first booked our stay with ease via the hotel's website, until we were farewelled at the airport after our stay, the service and hospitality experience provided by this hotel and its staff was outstanding! The friendly, more personalised, aspect of this hotel is an absolute winner. The facilities are well maintained and spotlessly clean, with everything provided to ensure a comfortable stay. Whilst it is neither brand new or 5 star, the experience provided by outstanding staff with superb attitudes and their attention to detail, ensures an enjoyable time. The hotel is located in an older, quieter section of town but is still only 20 minutes leisurely walk, or 5 minutes by TukTuk, to the main areas of interest. You can arrange whatever tours or transport you require very easily with the hotel staff at very reasonable prices. The hotel restaurant serves a very good range of local and western cuisine. There is also a supermarket and other small shops within 5 minutes walk. We have stayed regularly in many hotels across Thailand and Rimping Village is right up there with the best!!

Room Tip: The upstairs "Rimping Deluxe" rooms are worth paying the extra for. Very large, quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Recently stayed here for 5 days with my daughter and we were totally blown away by the wonderful staff in this hotel. Most had superior English language skills which for us made getting directions, arranging excursions etc just so much easier. All staff from the reception desk to the restaurant were extremely attentive, well informed and anxious to please - they were all very willing to help and showed us extraordinary patience with our sometimes tedious questioning ! The hotel is not 5 star but rooms are extremely clean, the pool and restaurant area are lovely to sit around for either breakfast or cold beer and meal in the evening. The style is much more traditional Thai boutique hotel and I would suggest perfect for solo travellers, couples or families. Bicycles are offered for those guests who would like to use them and taxis, tuk tuk, red cars etc all easily booked by front desk. We walked all over the city from this location, relatively simple just over the Iron Bridge on Ping River to Night market area and lovely restaurants including River Market and Riverside bar and restaurant with live music. Would definitely return and recommend to those looking for good value, friendliness and even those who are tired of 5 star anonymity !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2possums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The staff really make Rimping stand out, they simply could not do enough for us, were a wealth of information, and seemed to really commit themselves to giving individual attention to each guest. Before we had to ask a question, they would approach us with the answer, for instance, they knew when we had excursions booked and would inform us when we would be picked up, and asked us if we would like them to arrange airport transfer the day before check out. Whenever we returned from a day out, someone was there to greet us and keen to know how we got on. Also, we arrived early in the morning, having taken the night train from Bangkok, and although it was too early to check in, they allowed us to have breakfast in the restaurant (much needed), and showed us where we could have a shower if we wished.
All in all, a lovely place with simply wonderful people. Would highly recommend!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.9 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 402 in Chiang Mai
976 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#5 of 402 in Chiang Mai
892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#31 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £52 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing