We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!”
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #11 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

From our initial airport reception to our final departure, our treatment by Rimping's staff was excellent! It is truly indicative of what a boutique hotel is about, as the staff seem to know you and are there to be of service, and are always there to help. Kate in particular was exceptional in helping us deal with Lao airlines after a flight was cancelled with late notice, and was even prepared to provide us with free airport transfers when we were not staying at Rimping Village! The location is fantastic, the pool is really enjoyable after a day's shopping or touring and the breakfast, and particularly the fresh fruit and coffee, was to die for!

Room Tip: The ground floor was quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,533
    444
    70
    7
    6
See reviews for
546
958
98
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

What a fantastic hotel!! My family and I have been fortunate to have traveled to 20+ countries over the past 10 years, and I have been to over 55 including business travel, and we found the Rimping Village to be among the very best hotels! Starting with the staff, who make or break a hotel. Each and every one was always there to greet you and take care of your needs with a smile. They make you feel very welcome and are very helpful when providing suggestions for sightseeing or activities. The rooms were very well maintained and always cleaned. The food was excellent for a breakfast, lunch or quick snack. The location was also very convenient, literally minutes away from the hustle and bustle and far enough away so you were actually able to get away where it was quiet, relax and enjoy the pool. Highly recommended and we will certainly be back! Thank you

Room Tip: A room over looking the pool on the 2nd floor seemed ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianBancroftk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albufeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

3 days staying in this place as perfect trip for our family. We got a special upgrade since we were traveled with kid that were very impressive and special. Enjoying the swimming before breakfast in hotel swimmingpool. Best thing about this place is hotel room which was extremely clean and neat specially the bathroom. Free internet providing is really thoughfull. The most key point to made our stay perfect was the hotel service - brilliant staff member. There is no double we would love to recommend this place to any family travel with young child

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiagogomesr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here and loved it. Lovely rooms and beautiful pool. The staff were helpful and low key. Good spot close to river, 60-80 baht for a tuk tuk to old town. The only downside was bathroom was a little dated and grotty. Breakfast was wonderful, choice of Thai and western food under the beautiful banyan tree. Restaurant was nice but much nicer options nearby.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bessiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Great place to stay in Chiang Mai! Excellent service, friendly, polite staff. Very good complimentary breakfast. Refreshing, clean pool with good quality comfortable lounge chairs. Family suite was large and clean. Everything is good quality but what sets this place apart is the staff. They took note that my birthday was during our stay and put together a mango and watermelon birthday "cake". They also got me to release a lantern which wads very cool! I would definitely recommend the Rimping Village to family and friends. Easy walk to the night market which is worth going to. On the way to the night market make sure you eat at the Lemongrass. Cheap and amazingly good! Go early in your stay and I bet you'll eat there more than once.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSchlapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Absolutely lovely hotel but made great by the wonderful hotel staff.

When we arrived we were welcomed by personal staff and welcome drinks. Whilst booking us in, he then took us through all of the local excursions available and if we wanted to book he would do for us.

Breakfast was very nice and wonderful! Great location and within walking distance of main town.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rhys11lawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I picked this hotel for the incredible hotel reviews. This hotel is a quaint, secluded, simple hotel walking distance from restaurants, bars and the night bazaar. The room itself is very simple and the shower is a bit outdated, but I think that's what gives the hotel its charm. We were greeted by hotel staff at the airport and were promptly taken to the hotel about 20 minutes away. Once there, one of the employees showed us the main highlights on the map of what to do and see. Every morning we had to turn in our key to the office for the maid service to clean the room. When we picked up the key in the afternoons, a member of the staff was waiting by the door to greet us with our key and information about our booked next day plans. We were very impressed by this service and greatly appreciated it. On the day of departure, the owner or manager walked us out to our airport transfer to say goodbye. Again, we were very impressed. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLDMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 381 in Chiang Mai
703 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,359 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#15 of 381 in Chiang Mai
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Property: Rimping Village
Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing