We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #12 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Spent 3 nights in March 2014 at Rimping Village and loved it. Right off the bat, we knew we were in good hands as the staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. The hotel has a nice little restaurant with outdoor seating. I thought the food was decent. Didn't spend too much time at the pool, but it's nice to have the option to take a dip on a hot day. I thought the location was great. A bit of a walk to the old city, but very doable, and an easy tuk tuk ride. Night Bizarre area is a pretty short walk. Rooms were nice, beds a bit stiff for my liking, but not uncomfortable. We did have a random infestation of bugs (they didn't bite), but the staff cleared them from the room promptly. One great perk is the free bikes on site - a great mode of transportation for those who aren't intimidated by the traffic in the city. I recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloryJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,497
    433
    69
    7
    6
See reviews for
531
942
91
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

The staff lifts this hotel to a higher level, they are absolutely wonderful and anticipate all your needs. Big hats off to them.

Other than that, the hotel looks lovely and has everything you need. Small things such as bathrooms and curtains could use a little refreshing so it looks "fresh" again.

Only real downside for us was the fact that this is really a family hotel. This means that there are lots of kids running around the pool which can be a bit annoying. If you keep that in mind you'll have a lovely stay!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank goldeen188633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My family spent two nights here and the staff were simply wonderful. From the moment we checked in they could not do enough for us and it was difficult to leave! The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean and the breakfast was a really good choice of both Thai and European favourites. Lovely pool with towels provided, rolled into neat bundles by the side of each lounger. The hotel was a little haven away from the gentle bustle of the town, albeit not so gentle during Songkran...we got drenched but all in good fun and in the spirit of the festival! A short walk took us into the middle of the town.
This is a great boutique hotel at a great price and very much worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickyjm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here for 4 days near end of a month long visit and it's tempting to just stay in hotel rather than go in to Chiang Mai.

Room is very spacious, clean and no mossies. The pool is lovely with fresh pool towels provided.

Food is excellent and cost of dinner very reasonable.

Location very good- short walk to bars, restaurant and night market. Quick tuk tuk into the old town.

Service is that of a 5 star hotel- faultless! They really do anticipate your every need .

Laundry (if, like us, you're on a long trip) is hotel prices. Use the lady up the lane- big metal sliding gate with laundry sign. 40bht a kg and perfectly laundered!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beneaththeskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Rimping Village with 3 friends for Songkran for four nights in a large room 123 with two twins and a king size bed. If was perfect for us! Clean, plenty of room, internet and breakfast in the morning was great. Lots of variety available and the service at both the restaurant and the hotel guest services was impeccable. The hotel staff helped us arrange rides, a guided tour of the temple in the mountains and also with general info about the city. The hotel location is about a 25 min walk from the old city gate and about 10 min walk from the night bazaar. It was just the right place to be quiet but close enough to everything. Please come here! Rimping Village is fantastic!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jgriffing87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

From our initial airport reception to our final departure, our treatment by Rimping's staff was excellent! It is truly indicative of what a boutique hotel is about, as the staff seem to know you and are there to be of service, and are always there to help. Kate in particular was exceptional in helping us deal with Lao airlines after a flight was cancelled with late notice, and was even prepared to provide us with free airport transfers when we were not staying at Rimping Village! The location is fantastic, the pool is really enjoyable after a day's shopping or touring and the breakfast, and particularly the fresh fruit and coffee, was to die for!

Room Tip: The ground floor was quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

What a fantastic hotel!! My family and I have been fortunate to have traveled to 20+ countries over the past 10 years, and I have been to over 55 including business travel, and we found the Rimping Village to be among the very best hotels! Starting with the staff, who make or break a hotel. Each and every one was always there to greet you and take care of your needs with a smile. They make you feel very welcome and are very helpful when providing suggestions for sightseeing or activities. The rooms were very well maintained and always cleaned. The food was excellent for a breakfast, lunch or quick snack. The location was also very convenient, literally minutes away from the hustle and bustle and far enough away so you were actually able to get away where it was quiet, relax and enjoy the pool. Highly recommended and we will certainly be back! Thank you

Room Tip: A room over looking the pool on the 2nd floor seemed ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianBancroftk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Property: Rimping Village
Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing