We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My new favourite place to stay”
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #10 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Ohaupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“My new favourite place to stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is a small boutique style hotel with a great family atmosphere.

Location: It is situated just across the river from the main part of the city. About a 10 minute walk to the night market. I initially thought it would be too far for us having a 6 year old and an 8 year old but they managed the walk without too much hassle and it ended up becoming a nightly activity and a highlight of our time in Chiang Mai.

Service: Enough can't be said about the service at this hotel. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome and help out in any way possible. They have a tour desk that offers all sorts of activities. However, even though the cycle tour that we were looking for wasn't offered by a company they were familiar with, they still organised it for us and didn't try to persuade us to go with another company.

They will also organise taxis and tuk tuks for you and advice on travel times and distances.

Our 6 year old son had fallen ill during our stay and we weren't sure what do. We talked to the staff and they outlined the correct procedures and would take us to the hospital if needed free of charge. In the end this wasn't required but our minds were put at ease knowing we had a plan of attack if things got worse.

Rooms: Our family room was situated away from the pool area looking out over a neighbours house. Not the most scenic of views but the kids had fun spotting the squirrels jumping from tree to tree. The room was spacious and quiet. I did note that the pool area became quite noisy at times and wondered how quiet the rooms next to the pool would be.

This may sound a bit snobby but another great thing about this hotel is that it seems to attract like-minded guests. You will not find larger louts or rugby teams on their end of year blow out staying here. Of course this may be because Chiang Mai is not that sort of destination but the behaviour of other guests can sometimes make or break the enjoyment of your stay. There were a number of families staying when we were there but there were also a lot of couples and solo travellers.

So a big thumbs up to Rimping Village and all the staff working there.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,529
    440
    69
    7
    6
See reviews for
543
954
97
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed in early July 2014 for 6 nights with my 10 year old child. They picked us up at Chiang Mai airport at no extra charge. It was an ideal place to stay with a kid as the pool area is central to all rooms and is set in a very leafy courtyard (my child loved spotting little squirrel-like creatures up in the trees!). What's more the hotel supplied various inflatable pool toys that were there for all to use. Restaurant staff were very happy to deliver ice cold beers and good cocktails poolside as well - at very reasonable prices - 60THB for a beer and 140THB for a Singapore Sling! Our room was quite large and had enough extra furniture to allow you to sit around a coffee table and small lounge. Free apples and bananas replaced daily in rooms another nice touch. Mini-bar had beers for 40 or 50 THB (under $2 Australian) and packs of chips (crisps) for just 20 THB. Very fair indeed! Lots of other family groups were staying. A good buffet breakfast was included in my room rate, and while not as extensive as you'd get at a 5 star hotel or resort, it still included a far greater variety than you'd ever get in your own home! ....and plenty for the kids to enjoy as well.
The staff at Rimping Village couldn't have done more for you. They were happy to arrange hotel bookings at our next destination, book bus tickets to Chiang Rai, arrange a driver for one of our day trips and book other activities. They were really terrific. The place has a nice, authentic ambience and lacks the dull, generic feel of most, more upmarket lodgings. Extremely clean, comfortable and friendly with great staff. I liked it!

Room Tip: I requested a "non smoking room near the pool" and was given a "deluxe" room. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sukhothai Province, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The point and comment are too much better than actual. There are 2 good things for this hotel
1. It's located near the center of downtown
2. It's very clean
But rooms are very small and so narrow. Entrance way for a car is very small and the atmosphere is not good.
This hotel is for traveller who doesn't have a private car.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Patarapong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Good location just across the river with only a 15/20 minute walk to the City center or a 5 minute Tuktuk ride. A very clean and comfortable boutique hotel with lovely rooms and friendly helpful staff. The pool is certainly a welcome addition for a quick cool down.
I would have given another star but really for the money we were spending per night I would have liked a better breakfast rather than an adequate one.
I will though have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingArcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in a Deluxe room with views over the garden. Very nice hotel with large clean room with all facilities that you need. Excellent location within walking distance of the night markets and plenty of restaurants to chose from, either close by on the river or near the markets. Close enough to walk up to the old town and then easy to get a tuk tuk back if you have had enough walking.
Front desk staff are exceptionally helpful and booked our tours and arranged a car and driver when needed.
Very nice pool area with plenty of lounges to use after a day sightseeing.
Breakfast, which can be taken outside under the Banyan tree or in the restaurant area, has all the normal selections you expect to see.
Airport pickup and drop off was a nice bonus.
Will stay here again next time in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJD_401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Real attention to detail - loan umbrellas everywhere, torch, sachets of laundrey powder and hair dryer in room, inflatable pool toys for kids. Genuinely friendly staff who are happy to call transport, advise rates, help with the little things. One woman organised a same day repair on my daughters dress for 10 baht. Located just across Ping River, 15 mins walk from old town, 5 mins walk from night market.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cabbagetree3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
193 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Rimping village for three days . The resort is immaculately kept , nothing out of f place . The rooms are nice and bathroom good . The pool is nice to cool down in after a day sightseeing . The breakfast was really good with a choice of hot and cold dishes . The Rimping village is a good location within walking distance of the iron bridge and the night market and old town . The best thing about the Rimping village is the most amazing staff , they were so friendly , attentive and helpful . They let us leave our luggage at the hotel for three days when we went to Pai , on our return they gave us cold towels and drinks and let us have a shower for no charge even though we had checked out ! . They have a luxury mini van to take you to and from the airport . We loved the Rimping village and hope to return one day .

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank colchesteradrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#14 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#25 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Property: Rimping Village
Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing