We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, peaceful and relaxing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #11 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful and relaxing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed at Rimping Village in July for 8 nights with my 2 primary aged children. It was our second stay, having spent a few days here last year. Cannot say enough about this boutique style hotel. Fantastic location, lovely facilities, great pool, comfortable rooms and the friendliest and most helpful staff I have encountered on my travels. You will not be disappointed! Would love to go back again one day. Thank you to everyone at Rimping Village for making our stay such a great one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,501
    433
    69
    7
    6
See reviews for
533
942
92
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

First and foremost Rimping Village Hotel offers a safe, clean and comfortable place to stay while you explore Chiang Mai. It’s situated in a neighbourhood where Thai’s go about their daily life, which adds to the authenticity of actually being in another country. We booked directly with the hotel online and this was handled promptly and professionally.

After an overnight flight from Australia, we were collected from the airport in an airconditioned Mercedes people mover and arrived at the hotel to a friendly and smiling staff who immediately offered us breakfast (even though it wasn’t included in our stay)! Our room was even ready. The hotel grounds were attractive and well maintained with a lovely pool and lots of greenery. The room itself was spacious (with large beds for us and our teenage daughter), clean and cool (with the very efficient aircon) and we found the firmer beds to be just perfect.

Each day the room was serviced and we received bottles of water, fruit (apples and bananas) and the usual tea and coffee supplies. The staff offered a very personalised service in helping to organise day trips and give advice on practical matters like how much to pay for a tuk-tuk to the market! There was excellent free Wi Fi in the rooms and free computers in the lobby. A good variety of food was offered at breakfast – both hot and continental – with a lot of care taken in the presentation. The restaurant food was delicious and very reasonably priced.

We stayed three nights, took a side trip for two nights, then back for one more night. Our side trip involved taking a minivan to Mae Sariang and Tommy, on the front desk, didn’t hesitate to offer us their Mercedes to transport us to and from the bus station and to store our luggage while we were away. We arrived back for our final night around 9pm to be greeted with a cold drink and cold towels, our stored luggage having already been moved to our room. So very thoughtful and civilised!

Rimping Village Hotel and its staff offer a true OASIS in the city of Chiang Mai. Very Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieJohnIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our stay at Rimping Village was wonderful, especially due to the staff who were always genuinely friendly and willing to help. We stayed at Rimping for 4 nights and were very sad to leave, the breakfast was fresh and delicious with options for everyone and the restaurant served some of the best Thai food we have had in Thailand (they definitely didn't skimp on the chilli as some places do!). Location was excellent, across the river from the busy old town, but very close to an excellent supermarket and charming riverside restaurants. Definitely take their advice and have a massage at their recommended spa, it was fantastic! Ripping villiage definitely deserves the high rating it has on here, we hope to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights at Rimping Village as 5 of us snatched the last family suite over the weekend.

Our arrival was met with lovely greeting from the staff at the front desk, they are able to command pretty decent English, plus having our check-in details ready prior to our arrival, our check in was smooth and easy - in less than 5 minutes. As there's more than 4 of us, additional guest was charged 300 baht per night which included mattress and breakfast (we thought it's reasonable).

We were led to our room by the friendly staff. The room is spacious, clean and cosy. The hotel provides decent breakfast (buffet style) and it's definitely worth the money. The free bike service enhanced our stay as we cycled to the nearby markets. The hotel provides strong wifi coverage throughout the area. Personally I think location of this hotel is quite convenient to the points of interest esp the Sunday Night Market. It is located at the back of shops/houses, abit secluded but I believe due to its fame every driver knows the place well). There are many good restaurants, coffee and massage places nearby. The free bike service is an added value to your stay, or you can hail tut-tut or the red car to travel around.

Overall, our 2 nights stay at Rimping Village was excellent, nothing we could have asked for more. We were then greeted goodbye by the hotel staff and boarded the hotel shuttle van at a cost of 300 baht (we were told if booking is done through Booking.com etc and not through direct deal with the hotel, free hotel shuttle is not included thus we have to pay for the service but the price is still reasonable consider the distance to airport which is about 15-20 mins drive). I have to commend that all the staff at RImping Village are the huge asset to make this place an award winning hotel (Winner of Trip Advisor 2011, 12, and 13 - I guess 14 too?). They are attentive, polite and very nice (they will not resist to help the guests with advises on eateries, make reservation for massage, tours, etc and they wrote down our request of our departure time and had our shuttle service ready on the dot of our requested time). Everything catered to details. Excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohaupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is a small boutique style hotel with a great family atmosphere.

Location: It is situated just across the river from the main part of the city. About a 10 minute walk to the night market. I initially thought it would be too far for us having a 6 year old and an 8 year old but they managed the walk without too much hassle and it ended up becoming a nightly activity and a highlight of our time in Chiang Mai.

Service: Enough can't be said about the service at this hotel. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome and help out in any way possible. They have a tour desk that offers all sorts of activities. However, even though the cycle tour that we were looking for wasn't offered by a company they were familiar with, they still organised it for us and didn't try to persuade us to go with another company.

They will also organise taxis and tuk tuks for you and advice on travel times and distances.

Our 6 year old son had fallen ill during our stay and we weren't sure what do. We talked to the staff and they outlined the correct procedures and would take us to the hospital if needed free of charge. In the end this wasn't required but our minds were put at ease knowing we had a plan of attack if things got worse.

Rooms: Our family room was situated away from the pool area looking out over a neighbours house. Not the most scenic of views but the kids had fun spotting the squirrels jumping from tree to tree. The room was spacious and quiet. I did note that the pool area became quite noisy at times and wondered how quiet the rooms next to the pool would be.

This may sound a bit snobby but another great thing about this hotel is that it seems to attract like-minded guests. You will not find larger louts or rugby teams on their end of year blow out staying here. Of course this may be because Chiang Mai is not that sort of destination but the behaviour of other guests can sometimes make or break the enjoyment of your stay. There were a number of families staying when we were there but there were also a lot of couples and solo travellers.

So a big thumbs up to Rimping Village and all the staff working there.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed in early July 2014 for 6 nights with my 10 year old child. They picked us up at Chiang Mai airport at no extra charge. It was an ideal place to stay with a kid as the pool area is central to all rooms and is set in a very leafy courtyard (my child loved spotting little squirrel-like creatures up in the trees!). What's more the hotel supplied various inflatable pool toys that were there for all to use. Restaurant staff were very happy to deliver ice cold beers and good cocktails poolside as well - at very reasonable prices - 60THB for a beer and 140THB for a Singapore Sling! Our room was quite large and had enough extra furniture to allow you to sit around a coffee table and small lounge. Free apples and bananas replaced daily in rooms another nice touch. Mini-bar had beers for 40 or 50 THB (under $2 Australian) and packs of chips (crisps) for just 20 THB. Very fair indeed! Lots of other family groups were staying. A good buffet breakfast was included in my room rate, and while not as extensive as you'd get at a 5 star hotel or resort, it still included a far greater variety than you'd ever get in your own home! ....and plenty for the kids to enjoy as well.
The staff at Rimping Village couldn't have done more for you. They were happy to arrange hotel bookings at our next destination, book bus tickets to Chiang Rai, arrange a driver for one of our day trips and book other activities. They were really terrific. The place has a nice, authentic ambience and lacks the dull, generic feel of most, more upmarket lodgings. Extremely clean, comfortable and friendly with great staff. I liked it!

Room Tip: I requested a "non smoking room near the pool" and was given a "deluxe" room. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sukhothai Province, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The point and comment are too much better than actual. There are 2 good things for this hotel
1. It's located near the center of downtown
2. It's very clean
But rooms are very small and so narrow. Entrance way for a car is very small and the atmosphere is not good.
This hotel is for traveller who doesn't have a private car.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Patarapong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Property: Rimping Village
Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing