We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Staff. Read about the location - just so you know”
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #12 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Alameda, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & Staff. Read about the location - just so you know”
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stayed for two nights at Rimping Village in Chaing Mai, Thaliand. One day before a back country trek and a return stay after the trek. We found the staff to be delightful and genuinely attentive to our needs and comfort.

Room: Standard room. Clean and well put together with modern convenience such as a safe, minbar, AC, DVD player, TV with many stations, teapot and desk. The shower was AWESOME the best on the trip.

Amenities: A nice pool with seating area. Free wireless everywhere in hotel and grounds. A nice outdoor seating area shaded by the Banyan tree. Restaurant with a solid menu and a wide ranging and good breakfast (which was included in room rate). Free lobby computer & free bikes for guests. Laundry service. Shuttle to a from airport (also included in our rate)

Staff: Awesome

Location: This is where you need to make your decision. Rimping is a 60 baht ($2 USD) tuk tuk ride to downtown. Night market is a 10 minute walk away. In downtown you have more options, more action. At Rimping you get a pool and quiet. Not to say you do not have options at Rimping. There are many bars and restaurants within a 10 minute walk (A Good View, Gallery & Dukes are a few).

Price: We traveled in June (rainy season) in 2009 (world economic downturn, swine flu and political unrest in Thailand (neither of which were any issue for us, but has hurt tourism)). We paid a rate of 2600 baht per night including breakfast, taxes and transport
Overall: We would recommend staying at Rimping Village. It was clean, felt safe and the staff was great. Your choice is about location and what works for you. For us the pool and quiet were worth it.

About us: We are in our 40’s and live in California. We have travelled a great deal through our lives and continue to make a big trip or two a year. When looking for hotels location, independent reviews (that is why we post reviews on Tripadvisor – please do the same after you travel), price/value play a huge part for us. We have little loyalty to chains for personal travel (although I travel domestically in the US for work a few times a month and I am very loyal to Hilton).

We focus on independent travel, supplemented with a well placed personal guide for overview. I have a Business degree with a Hotel specialization. I spent 15 years in the Hotel Industry in San Francisco/California in a variety of positions working from Desk Clerk to VP of Operations for a hotel management company. We understand service and we do not have unrealistic expectations of perfection as long as people try, are honest and care.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ThankYouMrMiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,540
    446
    70
    7
    6
See reviews for
551
961
99
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We statyed at the Rimping Village for 3 nights while touring the Chiang Mai area.
The area around the hotel is not that great, however the hotel property is resort like and lush.
We could walk into Chiang Mai central area in about 20 minutes, or just take a TukTuk

Upon arrival, you are greeted by amazingly friendly staff in a nice lobby area.
(the lobby has 2 internet connected computers for free guest use)

Our room was a suite and it was very large and well appointed.
The beds were comfortable and the ventilation worked well.
The bathroom design was a bit dated (those tiny brown tiles) and there was an occasional sewer gas smell from the shower drain. We saw that there were room scent things placed, so I suppose they are aware of the problem.

There is large pool with lounge chairs surrounding.
The restaurant has a full breakfast with made to order eggs and specialty coffees.

TIP: The bathrobes are really nice and you can purchase them at a modest price.

Except for the intermittent drain smell in the shower, this hotel was almost perfect

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deathracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2009

It was our first time to Chiangmai we were traveling with 2 kids and were very surprised when we checked in. All the staffs, from gardeners to manager were very friendly and generous especially when our small kids made a big mess.

When we travel the most important thing for us is people and how they serve us, this hotel made it really worth our trip. The room was more than we've expected, it was really a 6 star class!

We didn't like the hot and spicy food too much but there were other easy food for us and our kids.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loheburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

Despite our very high expectation with this hotel after reading all the positive reviews (with a #2 ranking), we were still impressed by this hotel.

The location is good. It’s outside the city wall on the other side of the river. It is nested in a quiet residential area. However it’s only a short 5-minute walk to night bazzar or a short tuk tuk ride to anywhere in Chiang Mai. Normally in Thailand I fear tuk tuks as many drivers try to rip you off, and I hate bargaining. But the staff at Ramping Village ordered multiple tuk tuks and negotiated a fair price for us during our stay.

The service was simply exceptional, and not seen even in most 5-star hotels. Everyone I met was warm, friendly, professional and efficient, but Wi and Wan were especially helpful during our stay.

We arrived in Chiang Mai quite late and were going on a hiking trip the next day. The nearby pharmacy/supermarket was closed so we were unable to get sunscreen and insect repellent. When the reception staff found this out, they provided us with insect repellent from the hotel supply. The assistant manager even offered us her own personal sunscreen (from her handbag) for us to use! We were blown away.

There was another time when we sat down in the lobby, someone came and turn on the fan for us!

The breakfast was also very memorable. Imagine being served king prawns for breakfast! The array of hot selection and freshly made omelets were delirious. And the selection of fruits was amazing; the mangos and melon there were the best I ever had.

There are so many other great things about this Ramping Village. Guests can enjoy FREE use of raincoats, umbrella, WIFI internet and bicycle. It has a great clean resort-style swimming pool and a brand new western supermarket nearby.

There were two minor issues during our stay, but of no fault of the hotel.

First, the room we were initially given was full of mosquitoes. I think this is quite common in Chiang Mai as it is rural. We unsuccessfully try to get rid of them ourselves, we went back to the reception. We were immediately given another room that was insect free.

Second, we booked a day trip through the hotel. The company was called Chiang Mai TIC. It was the worse day trip experience we have had. The transport was absolutely dangerous. They put 12 mostly well-built tourists on the back of a pickup truck that can probably sit only eight. I was sitting at the edge and almost felt out many times while we were on the highway. For the price we paid (1200B each), we deserved at least safe and comfortable transport. Last year I went on a similar day trip booked through Raming Lodge, we had a private tour (with only two of us in the van), traveled in a safe air-conditioned van with seat belts, for the exact same price. But this is of no fault to the hotel. When picking day tours, try to go with companies offering “van” rather than “pick-up truck” transport
.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sea2skyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We stayed at Rimping village, taking two rooms, for three days in April 2009. Although slightly tricky to find, the location is good, being both quiet and within easy walking distance of the river and the night markets. The rooms are clean, quite new, and quite adequate without being stunning. The staff were excellent - greeting us upon arrival, and every time we subsequently arrived back at the hotel, no matter what time. The Included breakfast was fine, the usual buffet being accompanied by eggs, etc cooked to order. Had no problems whatsoever with anything at this hotel, so can recommend it fully.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Follies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Rimping Village was as wonderful as all the reviews indicated. From the moment we were picked up at the train station until 5 days later when were dropped at the bus station we were overwhelmed by the hospitality and lovely nature of all the staff. Every aspect of our stay was perfect. We loved our room, the pool area, the restaurant and it's food, the freshly cooked breakfast each morning (including a free breakfast on our first morning due to an early arrival), the free internet access, the local food market 5 mins down the road and most importantly the wonderful staff. Thanks to Tong and all his colleagues who gave us lots of advice and took the time to have a chat with us whenever we came back from a day out. I hope that we can return soon as it was very sad to leave but the adventure had to continue!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dazmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2009

I stayed here with my partner and 3 others and we all agreed that we could see why this place is rated so highly. The service here is impeccable. We were greeted each time we returned to the hotel and given our keys before we'd reached the front entrance. We were also offered insect repellent each time we went out, and when dining at the restaurant a bottle was on the table for those who had forgotten to apply.

The breakfasts were lovely. Not a huge selection, but just enough. Instead of a buffet that most hotels go for, Rimping offer you a set menu to choose your hot food from, and the cereal etc is available on a side table for you to help yourself.

The rooms are perfectly comfortable and have everything you need. Free bottled water daily and a welcome fruit basket were a nice touch. The hotel is within walking distance to the night markets and a short tuk tuk ride from town (the alley way is a fun shortcut home).

All in all this was a great little hotel and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. If I'm ever back in Chiang Mai this will be where I choose to stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKiwi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 383 in Chiang Mai
725 reviews
2.6 mi away
BED Nimman
BED Nimman
#6 of 383 in Chiang Mai
434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Property: Rimping Village
Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing