We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #14 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We spent in Rimping Village 4 nights, 7-11/03/2010 and really enjoyed. We travelled from north to south and stayed in few hotels during this trip, then really we can compare Thai hotels including even 5 star hotels- please find other review. Staff is outstanding, very friendly and helpful, speak good english. They will help you with everything, will book trips for you, let you use their mobile free of charge. Hotel has good wireless connection and also laptop in lobby, all free of charge. Staff in this hotel made our stay in Chiang Mai very memorable and made our life easy, this what you need travel first time in Thailand.
Magdalena, Hull, UK

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagdalenaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,474 - 1,480 of 2,099 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2010

Rimping Village Hotel had by far the best service of any hotel we stayed at in Thailand during our 4 week vacation. Their customer service was exemplary. In fact, if I wanted to demonstrate exemplary service I would certainly insist that this hotel be used as a model. Right from the staff who clean the rooms, repair the facilities, shuttle clients to and from the airport, the wonderful servers and cooks in their restaurant, and of course the friendly people at the front desk. Everyone did such a fantastic job of making us feel welcome and safe. We will certainly recommend to our friends that Rimping Village Hotel is a priority place to stay for the EXTRA care they provide their guests.

We also stayed at the Davis and Novatel Airport Hotels in Bangkok and the Amari Reef Hotel Resort in Koh Samui. All these hotels and their services were excellent and we would stay at each of them again but Rimping Village Hotel stood out miles ahead of these other executive hotels for the EXTRA care they show their guests and for making us feel welcome.

Jim & Pat McKenzie, Ottawa, Canada.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

My wife and I booked Rimping Village based on TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disapppointed.

My wife and I are in our early 30's and when vacationing, always try to balance the price of a hotel with the amenties, ratings, etc. RImping was the perfect blend of great price, big room, pleasant staff, good location and nice salt water pool. If you're expecting (and needing) things like a fitness centre, business centre and top of the line amenties - probably not for you. It is quient and quaint.

We would be back in a heartbeat if/when we get back to Chiang Mai!

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank JP_ECP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

As a first time visitor to Chiang Mai we wanted our accomodation to be reasonably priced, close to activities and safe. We read many of the reviews on Trip Advisor and were drawn by the reviews on Rimping Village as a place that would suit. First impressions did not match our expectation and we wondered what other travellers had seen in the place to write such good reviews. But from the moment we entered the reception area we knew we had made the right choice of accomodation for our three days.

The positives

Cold drinks and towels were placed in front of us as we completed the paperwork, we were asked if we had any plans and to not hesitate to speak to any of the staff if we needed any help or information. We were escorted to our room, ground floor, alongside the pool, but at no time did we hear and pool noise, day or night.

The room was quite large with all the basics for our stay.

Breakfast each morning was ample with fresh cooked eggs as required in a delightful outdoor setting under the spreading branches of a largBanyan tree. (even mossi spray on the table to ensure these insects are kept at bay)

Pool was clean and inviting and large enough for some good swimming.

The staff were able to anticipate our requirements, knew our names and met us at all times with a friendly smile.

If your looking for advise ask the staff and let them make arrangements for you.

All in all a great place for accomodation in the price range and we would not hesitate to go back if we go to Chiang Mai again.

The negatives.

Yes it is out the mainstream, perhaps 8 minutes walk to the nightmarket and depending on the way travelled either down a narrow lane, or dark street, but no matter which way you travel the walk was fine and we never felt any danger. If you don't want to walk the hotel staff will call a Tuk Tuk or Taxi. 8 minutes or so by Tuk Tuk to the old town.

A little traffic noise from the road outside, Tuk Tuks mainly, but they make noise everywhere they go, but only thought the day, did not have any sleep interuptions through the night.

Bottom line, great place, great staff and recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wizardoz1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

great room with spa bath big enough for 4, free bikes, lovely salt water pool, lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank time0ff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Basic rooms, very friendly and helpful service which provided good information of activities (flight of the gibbon and trekking in the rainforest), excellent location - all in all, very good value for money. Nice, easy going atmosphere. Tip: do the sunday market, much better than the night bazaar, don´t forget the street food at the sunday market - it´s fabulous.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matkailija58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Just a little way from the old town this is a haven for the weary traveller.
Great staff, very pleasant room with enormous bath tub, clean and orderly.
Very good breakfast and I had dinner twice and it was good and reasonable also.
No complaints whatsoever, which is rare these days. Jonathan Nettleton

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#4 of 389 in Chiang Mai
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#36 of 389 in Chiang Mai
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £49 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing