We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely love this place!”
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #13 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
canberra
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely love this place!”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Stayed at the hotel for four nights. Not long enough! We caught the overnight sleeper train from Bangkok. Train got in late and Rimping kept breakfast on for us. That was just the start of our fantastic stay here. The staff could not do enough for us, they were the most friendly, courteous and gracious people I met in my whole 18 days in Thailand. The family rooms were very very spacious, huge bath, flat screen t.v. There were also bikes, made getting around so easy. The internet was free and if it was being used the staff would offer a laptop for use. Breakfast was made to order, and if the kids slept in they would take them some breakfast. Food and drinks within hotel were very reasonably priced. My family will definately come back here, this was one of our favourite places in Thailand.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shell40Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,550
    452
    70
    7
    6
See reviews for
559
965
99
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

I booked this hotel after reading many favorable reviews on Tripadvisor and was unsure whether or not I would be satisfied in comparison to other more expensive options. I can not say enough nice things about this hotel! All the reviews were true. The staff is amazingly helpful. The best example I have is when my husband and I bought a large wooden elephant at the night bazaar and wanted to ship it back to the States rather than carrying it around all over Thailand. I asked the woman at the front desk where the post office was, and I could tell she was worried I would not get along very well not speaking any Thai. She offered to ship it for me. After declining, she offered to have the hotel driver personally take us there, talk with the clerk, and help us pack everything and ship it. This was all done free of charge. Our package arrived safely a couple months after returning.

In addition to the great staff, the rooms were clean, the restaurant was good, and the area was quiet and tucked only a few minuted from the town (about 5 min by tuk-tuk).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snsmith27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goulburn, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Great little hotel, close to the Riverside but a bit of a walk to the Night Bazaar & a tuk tuk ride to the old town. Staff very co-operative & helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneBGoulburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Had I know, I would have left Bangkok sooner and stayed longer in Chiang Mai, a town filled with warm and friendly people, where there's lots of nature oriented things to do. And terrific food (both restaurants and markets) too! Rimping Village is tucked away in a quiet area, but just a short walk through some (safe) back roads to get into town. The location was terrific; It was the perfect compliment to the busy town, so close yet far enough away. The rooms were simple but comfortable, there was a smallish (but ample) salt water pool to refresh in, the continental breakfast was great - and the staff was so helpful; They helped us arrange wherever we needed to go, and gave us lots of tips when asked. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSS949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Wonderful service - friendly and helpful staff - clean, well designed and spacious rooms - Internet access - Great gardens, pool and restaurant. All this and just a short walk to the Night Markets. The staff made us feel very welcome and anticipated our every need. We will definitely be staying here if we're lucky enough to visit Chiang Mai again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billandgayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Staff were friendly, helpful. Room was enormous and great value given the size.Hotel has a really relaxed feeling which was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

This is a fairly small hotel whose layout makes for a specious and peaceful feel even though it is in the city. Our room (a Rimping deluxe) was huge and would be marketed as a suite in many hotels. The tile floor and local-style furnishings gave it a clean uncluttered feel, and the en-suite was on a similarly large scale. Restaurant was basic but pleasant, if you exercise the open-air option and eat under the big banyan tree expect some mosquitoes but that’s a fact of life in Thailand. Swimming pool was accessible, and officially open till 10 pm – very sensible, this is a hot country and the chance of an evening dip can be very welcome yet many hotels close their pool at 6 pm or 8 pm.
The staff deserve a paragraph all to themselves. Warm, welcoming, pleasant, helpful, willing to answer all queries and do everything they can to make your stay a pleasant one. It is difficult to praise them too highly.
The urban setting (which you can easily forget when in the hotel) means some useful facilities are within a few minutes’ walk, including a good restaurant with an extensive Western menu (The Duke’s), a tour operator office for booking your outings, a 7-11, and a decent-size supermarket with a pharmacy and a truly excellent little coffee shop. A slightly longer walk takes you to Chiang Mai’s extensive and tourist-orientated night market, the place to buy your presents and souvenirs (and a something or two for yourself) though after the experience of visiting it and loading up you might find you prefer to take a tuk-tuk back (I know we did).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IainNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 386 in Chiang Mai
742 reviews
2.6 mi away
BED Nimman
BED Nimman
#7 of 386 in Chiang Mai
446 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 386 in Chiang Mai
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Property: Rimping Village
Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing