We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliest hotel in the land of smiles”
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #10 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Friendliest hotel in the land of smiles”
Reviewed 9 August 2010

This hotel was and outstanding find. I booked it based on Tripadvisor recommendations and couldn't have been happier. The breakfast was pretty good each morning, the rooms were clean and well tended. The staff was so wonderful. They helped with all our questions, gave recommendations and even passed out bug spray in anticipation of the pests. I would go back in a second!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenTravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,526
    440
    69
    7
    6
See reviews for
542
954
96
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2010

The staff, the facilities, the friendliness, and more all added up to make this fairly small family run hotel a pleasure to stay at!!! From the moment of being met at the airport to our farewells at the same place, I felt that we were being hosted by friends, these friends being the hotel staff. They saw to our every need with an enthusiastic friendship. Our room, the pool, the free wreless Internet connection, the car that met us at the airport, and everything I can think of was of the highest standard and in perfect working order. It was our pleasure satying at the hotel. They even provided bicycles for their guests to use (with no charge) whenever they chose to ride. It was like an oasis in an otherwise old and somewhat run down area, yet it was a mere 10 minute walk to "downtown Chiang Mai". What a great hotel, run by the friendliest and most competent staff!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

This hotel is small and beautiful. It is a tiny resort in the middle of Chaing Mai close to the old town, night market and good restaurants. We (a family of 5) had two adjacent brand new delux rooms. The rooms were both simple and lovely, the only negative being lack of proper shower (although there was a low one detachable head over bath ). Food was really excellent as was the staff who were charming and very helpful.
The pool was very family friendly with lots of balls etc for families to play with.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Rimping Village is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. We had a wonderful time there. The staff are incredibly helpful and kind, the layout is perfect, every attention to the smallest detail, beautiful grounds, amazing breakfast, great pool. You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backfromkathmandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Well folks, we found it!
When we arrived at Chiang Mai airport, waiting at the terminal with a sign was a young well dressed man. We followed him as he carried our bags away and lead us to a beautiful, shiny black 4WD. We got in the car and sat on our leather reclining seats and it was right then that I knew we were off to a good place. What I didn't expect was how good!
Once we arrived, they took care of our luggage and then we saw the first sight of the pool and it was breath taking. When we stepped into our room, a sweet fragrance in the air hit my nose straight away, it heightened already excited senses. With the air con on and the curtains drawn, it showed a big room with wardrobe, separate bathroom and big soft cushions on the most comfortable big bed, plus all the little extras in the bathroom. They have thought of everything.
I could have died a happy women!
I unpacked my gear, threw on my bathers stepped out the door and eased into the inviting pool and all I could hear were the sweet whistling sounds of birds in the trees with the occasional motor bike riding by.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvuchurchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Wonderful place. Fantastic staff. Great peaceful base from which to explore ChIang Mai. Attracts lovely guests and the setting is great for meeting people if thats what you'd like to do. Only 5 minutes to walk to the main center. Quiet for sleeping at night. Great pool. My kids and I loved it. Best place we have stayed EVER!!!

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MaleeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We stood there with 4 adults and 5 teenagers for 3nights in July. The resort is perfectly located in a quiet street but close to Ping river and the night market. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and nicely decorated in Thai style. They are located in two two story buildings around the nice pool. The service was extremely good from welcome to departure. For example they always looked for guests coming back and handed over the correct key without request. Although located in the city the garden was tropical green, well maintained and nicely decorated. At the salt water pool they offer special towels around the day. Wifi and parking are available and free of charge. Breakfast, bar and restaurant are in the some room close to the pool. The bar closes very early (before ten o’clock). Breakfast is delicious with a variety of fruits including mango. Eggs are served at any style. Overall it was the best hotel during our two weeks Thailand roundtrip and we can only highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beifallsbekundung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#14 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 379 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Property: Rimping Village
Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing