We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baan Hom Samunphrai
Ranked #501 of 809 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Amazing accommodation, meals, fresh herbal steam bath, massage...
Great sense of hospitality.
Family owned
Definitely the right place for someone who wants to relax away from the city center of Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alec1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

After an overnight train ride from Ayutthaya to Chiang Mai, me and my cousin wanted to relax and get in a good shower, steam and massage. So worth it.

Quiet and secluded, we were given towels to wash the train ride off us and then head into an hour and a half to two hour massage in a screen enclosed, yet open room by masseuses. We took in a steam bath and loved the aroma of herbs. There was a little cool pool to relax in and have ginger tea.

All tension and miles traveled melted in our 2+ hours at this piece of paradise. The price was definitely reasonable. I don't think I spent more than $50/person.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5feetsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We visited friends studying the Baan Hom thai massage course. Our day began with an amazing two hour thai massage. The masseuse was a former student of Hom's and excellent. We then spent about an hour in the herbal steam room.. inhaling wonderful medicines between visits to the cool down pool outside. Our day ended with dinner and great company.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Baan Hom Samunphrai. The traditional style teak homes are beautiful. The food was delicious, we enjoyed 3 meals a day. All meals are served family style, which adds a convivial element to the experience. Many of the other guests were enrolled in the classes (Thai medicine and massage) offered at the Baan Hom. We did enjoy participating in pre-breakfast thai style yoga, and the early evening herbal steam bath was definitely a highlight. The massages were incredible, it is certainly worth putting aside time to enjoy the full 2 hour massage. We availed ourselves of the guest house owned bicycles and were joined by the co-owner who took us on a private guided tour of the rice paddies and surrounding area.

If I were to visit again I would try to avoid going into Chiang Mai while at the Baan Hom and simply enjoy it for the peace and tranquility it offers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annelfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2007
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pgbclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#48 of 394 in Chiang Mai
947 reviews
5.4 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 394 in Chiang Mai
688 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 394 in Chiang Mai
3,156 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,088 reviews
3.9 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#172 of 394 in Chiang Mai
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Hom Samunphrai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Hom Samunphrai

Address: 93/2 Moo 12 | Tawangtan, Saraphi, Chiang Mai 50140, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #501 of 809 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Thai Traditional Medicine Center as well as a guesthouse, a school and a rural spa -- we offer no exotic treatments. We also welcome small conferences and workshop groups. We're family run, have resident therapists, and accept long-stay guests who are independent and not easily bored. Very quiet, very simple, nowhere to go but being here. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing