We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really chuffed!”
Review of Manee Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manee Guest House
Ranked #99 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really chuffed!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Was booked into this by stray the group tour I was on and my first impression was totally correct, seemed clean safe and friendly and best if all it had a lovely new pool which was a eelcomechange after staying in much more grim hostels for a similar price. Only complaint was the bed was a bit hard but it was totally fine in all honestly. Was nice and clean and felt really safe, one night came back a bit late and they were very good about it as long as you are quiet. Amy was really good, and the advice given was very good, considered going on a little kayaking adventure but unsteady of taking money they recommended against it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingoptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    83
    22
    9
    11
See reviews for
16
73
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
München
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

i just read that comment and i am so angry i write a rating for the first time of my life.
right now i am a guest @ "manee's guesthouse" and i will spend a lot of time here.
about this Sevi P from estonia comment: i have stayed i chiang mai for long periods of time since 2005 and i know that city. this area is extremely safe. a very protected, quiet calm backstreet in a beautiful residential meets visitors area. right opposite "manee" is a temple area.
so dear Sevi P.... have you ever thought about the other members in your group? no one goes window climbing here. it would be witnesses in a second. i left my handbag like everywhere around here and the kind and very competent staff always had an eye on it. so whoever sneaked into that room was another guest. you have to understand that the local people here have a lot of respect of strangers from the west or wherever. they care about you and they care about their workplace. and this is a family business.
as i am airline cabin staff i spent over a decade in posh, highclass hotels and i KNOW when a place is safe. reception desk staff at a grand hyatt attempted creditcard fraud once. this is the greedy people.
okay i leave it now. i am not totally objective as the "manee" family together with the ueber-cool and still so kind and warm "sleep" owners fro across the street took care of me without having seen me once, without having made one baht income with me. try this in the cold cold west: a perfect stranger has an accident, has to go to hospital, no phone, no money and close to really going to very tiny pieces. you would turn your back and run the other way, right?
not those loveable ones right here. i felt like the holy family on the run and they provided me with drink (i was dehydrated), food (couldnt keep it down before) and a deluxe room that felt like hitting the holy grail. an oasis. john from holland and his lovely wife ja ae (yes, you people on the dating websites of the world i tell you: love is possible. go to thailand and talk to the people not other drunk tourists who have no idea) paid for my night at manee as i was down to 16 baht and put cash in my hands. dear reader (if you still follow this) just for your record: they had nothing but my e-mail address. so after being half dead i am safe again and feel that the universe loves me. so if you wanna change your life, your luck your happiness. just come to this lovely street/soi and you have all you need. try google street view. i left my passport at the foodstall down the corner (where it is really busy) and it was still there 3 hours later. so if anyone has any more questions or request...until i set up my blog (this will take some time, i need medical care for a while. please contact me via my facebook "susal77" account or write to me=> always happy to help. but a warning: i am just a travelling gypsy rom the darkgreen bavarian woods and i navigate by <3 and belly. so take care out there, chokdi from steamy but sweet chiangmai. love, susanne aka susal77
p.s.: safety-wise- be careful around the night bazar and always ask a local (best pick: little mobile foodstall people). and use TRAVELFISH for all your asia travels. they are brilliant, they rock and there message board helps with all you need. dont overplan. just go and talk to the real people. we westerners have tomatoes on the eyes. if you are patient and stop blabbering complicated stuff with bad accents the loving thais take them of your face. so, i stop now. i blog soon.

Room Tip: with rooms it depends on what state you are in. yesterday i enjoyed the extra comfort of the deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Chiang Mai is my favorite stop in S. E. Asia, and when there I always stay at the Manee Guest House. First and foremost its really squeaky clean and safe. Manager Amy and the staff are friendly and accommodating yet serious when it comes to the cleanliness of the rooms and all the common areas. Recently they opened a new wing on the same property along with a swimming pool available to all guests. The new wing is more upscale yet still reasonably priced. I stay in the original building (3 floors) where the room prices are still a bargain. They also offer coffee, tea and toast with butter and jam in the morning.

All rooms come with free WiFi, a frig, a cable connected TV and a hot shower. Sheets and towels are always clean and fresh and as mentioned the rooms are kept virtually spotless. They offer rooms with Air Con or fans depending on one's preference and of course the price for Air Con rooms is a bit more. I find there are very few months a year that I need Air Con in Chiang Mai, but if you are arriving from a cold climate your reaction to the heat will be different to those of us who spend a lot of time in a tropical climate. They also have an in-house travel agency and the woman there, Rainbow, really knows what she is doing. She's very helpful with the guests regardless whether they use her services.

As far as safety and security goes, in general I find Thailand a much safer country than most I've visited. But travelers must take precautions especially in Bangkok and the beach resort areas. At the Manee they offer safe keeping with a safe in their office where I can keep any valuables and extra cash, and a storeroom for extra luggage etc. Most guest houses don't offer this service that is generally found in more expensive accommodations. I'm frequently out in the evenings and with all night security plus security cameras both inside and outside the Manee property I come and go with no worries or inhibitions. The police regularly patrol at night which is an added comfort when walking and out and about. I must say though with all the street activity at night, the markets, the vendors, all the restaurants open, the tuk-tuks cruising around I've not seen nor had a problem.

In the middle of all this on a quiet street within the moat area is the Manee house. Certainly IMO a place to stay that, along with the friendly and helpful staff, will make your visit to Chiang Mai enjoyable and memorable.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back in the original Manee building are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Every time i go to chiang mai i go back to manee guest house. The rooms are great for the price range. Like other comments have mention the location is perfect on a quiet street but at the same tie really close to the main tourist hub. But the best part is the staff all very friendly and helpfull , even when i went away for 2 weeks they look after some of my clothes in their locker room.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonatan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stay 3 night on the second floor.Room very clean. On the night time quiet and safty because they have CCTV monitor and security on duety all night.Travel agentcy "Rainbow" very nice and very helpful for travelling aroud the north

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Faii A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We booked on Agoda for three nights. Got in pretty late from Bangkok and were excited to be back in Chiang Mai. However, once we saw our room at the Manee House our excitement turned to regret that we had booked three nights at this dump. The room had one of the WORST beds I've ever slept on! To top it off the pillows were hard and lumpy--almost as if the pillowcases were filled with half dried cement blobs. No matter how we positioned ourselves we could not get comfortable. Woke up feeling extremely stiff and unrested.
Another bad thing about the room was the horrible fluorescent lighting reminiscent of a hospital or jail cell. Speaking of jail cells, the bars on the windows were a nice touch.
We agreed that we could not bear to stay one more night-let alone two, but when we tried to get a refund for one of the nights the lady informed us that would not be possible. I guess that is one of the risks of using Agoda.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights in the end of January 2014 with the group of 10 people. There was two serious stealing cases within this period from the second floor rooms. In both cases there was only 10 minute period when there was no one in the room and the robberies was commited very accurately at this time period. Although there were security cameras in the corridors, they did not show anyone to go into or come out from the rooms at this time. So the only possibility was to go through the window from the roof and someone should gave the information that the persons left the room (or/and game back to room)! The staff was not helpful and kept at the distance from the problem. Inside deals?? So if you don't want to be robbed choose another guesthouse - there are plenty in this area.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms without barred windows especially on the second floor and left side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sevi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 736 in Chiang Mai
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
SK House 2
SK House 2
#79 of 736 in Chiang Mai
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
#44 of 736 in Chiang Mai
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#17 of 736 in Chiang Mai
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pha-Thai House
Pha-Thai House
#50 of 736 in Chiang Mai
264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chiangmai Boutique House
Chiangmai Boutique House
#203 of 736 in Chiang Mai
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manee Guest House

Property: Manee Guest House
Address: 23/5 Moonmuang Rd., Soi 7, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Manee Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manee Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing