We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel in good location”
Review of Bodhi Serene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Ranked #36 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“great hotel in good location”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This hotel really exceeded my expectations. The location was perfect for the Sunday walking street market, close to shops and restaurants and yet peaceful and quiet when inside.
Rooms were very spacious (we had a king bed plus 2 baby cots plus there was a few chairs and desk and still ample space).
Breakfast was simple but lovely to be near the gardens.
Pool was a little cold but again it was a nice setting.

Had lunch one day and this was a let down (probably the only thing that could be improved). And i would have liked softer towels in the room. These are only small negatives though as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

All in all I would stay here again if in Chiang Mai and recommend to others.

Room Tip: all rooms overlook the central grassed courtyard so think they are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    409
    79
    27
    8
See reviews for
142
416
49
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
BC, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

This hotel is in a fantastic location in the old city and is definitely a serene oasis to relax in after tromping about the city. In fact some days we were there we barely left the hotel. The neighbourhood has plenty to offer (we've stayed in a number of old city locations in Chiang Mai and this street wins for food, spa and ambience offerings) as well as being walking distance to the Sunday Night Street market (the real zoo in Chiang Mai ;) The rooms are large, upper floor rooms have a balcony / lower floor rooms have a patio, and clean and well appointed. The bathroom was big, but could have used a little updating to fit into the 'wow' category. The breakfast was excellent, with enough choice in the buffet without overwhelming. We had perfectly cooked eggs benny and fruit salad every morning. Service was very friendly and helpful every day. The pool was fantastic.

We didn't eat any other meals here, as there was so much lesser expensive options on the road. Highly highly recommend "Ginny's Cafe" the eatery next door. Honestly some of the best Thai food I've had and they make a mean burger as well if you're craving western (for about 80 Baht a dish (under $3). Also a very good local soup restaurant at the end of the road (not gate side) and a fantastic nightly street food market (where you have to try the Roti and Pa's Fruit Smoothies!). Finally it's less than a ten minute walk to one of our favourite character but packed Northern Thai tapas restaurant called Huen Phen - which you can look up here on Trip Advisor.

I would definitely splurge on this hotel again, tho my only caveat is that we got our room for half the rack rate (so 3000 Baht rather than 6000) which I felt was fantastic value for the money. At 6000 I would have expected a little more from the room (which don't get me wrong, was lovely, but not over $200 per night lovely) i.e. a newer more wow bathroom.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are better in that they have a little private balcony (whereas downstairs have a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twangypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

When we first arrived at bohdi, I was a little caught off guard...here's a beautiful hotel in the middle of a run down street...it seemed very out of place. But don't judge the hotel base on its street...once we explored Chiang Mai more, we realized how conveniently located it is to almost everywhere we wanted to go to...restaurants, shopping, massage, etc. Location is awesome! All the streets of Chiang Mai is a little run down but it's just the characteristic and culture of it that makes Chiang Mai what it is. What an awesome city! (our favorite city in Thailand by faaaar- we also visited Phuket n koh phi phi) anyways, back to the hotel - beautiful pool, which was a pleasant surprise. The breakfast was delicious and included and the staff at the breakfast buffet were splendid! Super sweet and hospitable. The rooms were clean and nice - didn't get a chance to use the tub, looked really nice to have soaked in there. Overall, excellent hotel. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choonifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This hotel was a little gem in the middle of the Old City. Walking distance to Sunday Walking Market, local temples, and within about 1 hour driving time to Doi Suthep, the Elephant camps, and Tiger Kingdom. Clean, adorable rooms, amazing breakfast (included), very friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful infinity pool. Excellent hotel, good rates, definitely worth staying at!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff National Park, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Stayed for one night at Bodhi Serene hotel in Chiang Mai on October 30. It was amazing. Very very clean hotel and cozy room. The view was not great as we got a back room but it did not matter as we were only spending one night there.
Booking was easy - I saw a special rate on their website, emailed them and got a response within a few hours with a booking confirmation.
The buffet breakfast was great and a chef was present to make eggs of your choice. The location of the hotel was the best - right in the middle of the walled town and very close to some great restaurants. The night market was a few blocks away and can be walked to. However, we took a tuk tuk and it was 50B.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was on the second level but it was easy to get our luggage up there as they have a clever ramp for that purpose.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calgarian_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

This little boutique hotel is the perfect place to go for a little slice of heaven that will not mean morgaging your home. It is in the heart of the old city, very close to everything but far enough away from the hassle of the town to ensure quiet. The rooms are beautiful, the layout tasteful and the pool a relief after a hot day sightseeing or shopping. Breakfast is fantastic. A major sell for us was the staff who could not be more helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spanniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My family and I stayed at Bodhi Serene for a week after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. We were thrilled.

The rooms are lovely, and the staff are absolutely amazing. Khun Thai, Khun Dao, Khun Pang and Khun Tip (travel desk) to name a few are just so helpful and honest. As we had to change our dates due floods in Bangkok, part of our booking fell into low season - they lowered the price for these nights without any request- amazing.

The free wifi was readily available and good speed.

Although small, the gardens are very relaxing and the breakfast area was a perfect start to the day.

We took a number of private day trips booked through Khun Tip. Our driver Khun Joe was friendly, helpful and very safe. The price was ok as well.

I have stayed in Chiang Mai before, and I must say that staying in the old town is worthwhile. The cafe next door "Ginny Cafe" run by Khun Tee not only has good food and service, but they are very informative, but not pushy at all.

The Sunday markets are much better than the Night Bazaar, and Chiang Mai Cotton is an excellent shop for quality cotton outfits for women.

Thank you Bodhi Serene. We will be back.

Room Tip: We had a higher floor room so the view over the garden was nice. Executive Suite nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DE1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#31 of 383 in Chiang Mai
952 reviews
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,832 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#43 of 383 in Chiang Mai
921 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodhi Serene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodhi Serene Hotel

Property: Bodhi Serene Hotel
Address: 110 Ratchaphakhinai Road, Phra-sing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodhi Serene Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bodhi Serene is located within the old city walls of down town Chiang Mai surrounded by many ancient temples and is a mere 20 minutes from the airport, train station as well as the bus terminal. It is also visually and architecturally stunning with exotic Lanna style influenced by Chinese designs. There are only 38 rooms to offer most of which overlooks our central courtyard area with a tropical garden and waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bodhi Serene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodhi Serene Chiang Mai
Hotel Bodhi Serene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing