We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bodhi Serene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Ranked #39 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in November. Our first choice of hotel was fully booked due to the fesitval but it all worked out well in the end.

Here's what you need to know if you are thinking of staying:-

THE PROS

1. Location. As many people had already highlighted, this hotel is walking distance from most of the major sights in Chang Mai. It's probably a bit too far to walk to the night markets but the hotel put on a free shuttle service every night. There is a Thai boxing stadium close by and loads of good places to eat.

2. The staff. Very friendly and helpful. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived (very early) but they gave us a drink, looked after our luggage and made suggestions for things that we might want to see.

3. The breakfasts were fab - great omelettes and lots of options!

4. The room. We had an exec room which was huge, had a double bath tub and a big, comfy bed. It looked out onto the big court yard which meant lovely views but a few mosquitos (which is a problem that the hotel were tackling whilst we were there).

5. The pool area. It was great to go for a dip after a days sightseeing. The pool area was spotless, there were always enough sun loungers and towels on standby and having the bar with their happy hour offers right next to the pool was a very wise business move!

THE CONS

There aren't any! This is a fab little hotel, with great staff and in a fab location. I would stay there again if I went back to Chang Mai.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Skunkerhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    398
    76
    26
    8
See reviews for
136
396
47
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is awesome. Walking distance to the night market and the nice parts of town. So much wonderful stuff right outside the front door. Great meals, lots dinner/drink options within 5-10 minute walk. Really an incredible location. Cannot say that enough.
The service was great, front desk was helpful, kind, and informative. They also set up taxis and rides for us whenever we needed.
The room itself was awesome. Wonderful little porch area to enjoy a coffee/beer. Big, comfortable bed, HUGE bathroom. Really a 5 star feel without the pretentiousness.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived late and they only had one room available. It was ok, nothing too fancy. The photos make it look upgraded but it's pretty cheap updates. Bathroom had mildew and the beds were so hard that it felt like I was sleeping in a rock! We only stayed one night and moved to another hotel for cheaper and better beds. If you enjoying sleeping comfortably don't stay here too long. I read that someone asked the front desk for mattress pads. We didn't but seemed like it worked for them.

The breakfast was not all that great either . It is set up in a nice court yard but given how much we paid we were expecting a little bit more.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mehinojosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Has to be one of the best inside the old city.
The hotel itself is set around a pretty garden, the room we stayed in was very nicely decorated, clean and well maintained.
We didn't have an evening meal here, but the breakfast buffet was very good.
The staff are lovely, very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely stay here against on the next trip to Chiang Mai.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BibandTucker B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed here last week and we enjoyed it very much! The location is very good in the old center of Chiang Mai. A magical swimming pool and the breakfast is very good (the best in Thailand in my opinion) Rooms were large and clean, staff was very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuriAmanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Bodhi Serene for 6 days during the Loi Krathong holiday period. We were so pleased with our experience at the hotel, that we wanted to share it with others. What we most appreciated about the hotel:

1. Location, location, location - the hotel is perfectly situated in the old city, only a few blocks from the Tha Pae Gate, meaning it is an easy walk to the shops and restaurants on Tha Pae Road and the Sunday Market.
2. Service and hospitality - the staff were incredible! They were quickly responsive and accommodating to any request that we made; they were exceedingly polite and kind; and they spoke fluent English (not that we expected it, but were pleasantly surprIsed how easy communication was).
3. Rooms - we had the basic room and considered it to be large, considering that we were in the city center, with a nice view of the gardens. The room was tastefully, but simply, decorated. It was always very clean and wifi was consistently fast. My only recommendation would be that if the firmness of the bed is too severe for your taste, request a mattress pad - it made a world of difference for us, who appreciate a more plush mattress style.
4. Breakfast - fresh food with plenty of options, including western-style breakfast.

For the reasonable price and excellent location, as well as the graciousness of the staff, I am certain that one will not be disappointed in choosing the Bodhi Serene.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I spent 5 nights at the Bodhi Serene over the Loy Kratong festival weekend; although it was not my first choice of accommodation (everything else was sold out!), I was very glad I ended up there. It is a great boutique hotel with a real 'local' feel in the Lanna style, and the location - in the Old City close to the bars, restaurants, markets and temples - was perfect.

The hotel rooms are very spacious and almost all look over the beautiful central garden and fountain. The rooftop pool was great and a nice way to relax after a day out and about. The range of drinks, snacks and restaurant food was excellent (we had a Thai dinner at the restaurant one night and it was top notch). The breakfast selection, as some other reviewers have pointed out, is a bit limited and repetitive, and could do with a refresh, but is adequate to get you going in the mornings.

I booked a couple of day trips through the hotel (one in a small group and the other with a driver) and was very satisfied with both of them and the service provided. The overall staff service was generally excellent although occasionally the reception staff seemed a little preoccupied - possibly a result of the busy weekend we were staying there.

Other reviewers have noted some minor issues with furniture and drains, etc. I didn't notice anything significant but if you prefer a 5-star hotel experience, there are plenty to choose from in Chiang Mai. If, however, you prefer a personal, authentic and truly relaxing place to stay, in a great, central location, then the Bodhi Serene is for you. I'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Suites are larger and have more balcony space, as well as being set a bit further away from the dini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#15 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#42 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
1.8 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodhi Serene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodhi Serene Hotel

Property: Bodhi Serene Hotel
Address: 110 Ratchaphakhinai Road, Phra-sing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodhi Serene Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bodhi Serene is located within the old city walls of down town Chiang Mai surrounded by many ancient temples and is a mere 20 minutes from the airport, train station as well as the bus terminal. It is also visually and architecturally stunning with exotic Lanna style influenced by Chinese designs. There are only 38 rooms to offer most of which overlooks our central courtyard area with a tropical garden and waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Bodhi Serene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodhi Serene Chiang Mai
Hotel Bodhi Serene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing