We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely oasis in the vibrancy of Chiang Mai”
Review of Bodhi Serene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Ranked #35 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for one night before we went to The Elephant Nature Park, then afterwards came back for 3 nights (was originally planned to be 1 night but we extended both before and after). Reception staff were really good in dealing with our ever changing arrangements.

Lovely pool - great staff in the bar/restaurant.

Location rightly scores highly on Trip advisor - the hotel is literally next to the staircase for the Sky Train station (Asok). the underground station is a few yards away to the right. We were entertained by the scooter taxi station right next to the restaurant deck - amazing the way that Thais hopped on side saddle, whilst still on the phone, no helmet, and took off against 3 lines of traffic.

Yes, we had a couple of cockroaches too, on our last night - we had assumed that we had brought them in off the street somehow. We also had quite a lot of mosquitos (an average cull in the bathroom yielded 12 dead mozzies). Twice we asked for the room to be sprayed whilst we were out, but no noticeable difference. We were on a ground floor room (111) and that may have made a difference.

Breakfast was included for our rate, and was more than adequate for us - I liked the info about the healthy juice each day.

The hotel trip organiser was very helpful - we went on Flight of the Gibbons and a daytime cruise on Mai Ping River Cruise (both very good). Pick ups went smoothly.

Within walking distance of night bazaar and the walking market - after the quiet islands the vibrancy of Chiang Mai was a shock in a good way - we loved it (it felt safe rather than overwhelming). Every other retail unit is a massage parlour, lots of lady boys hanging out at the bars, and also a depressing number of middle-aged western men with stunning young Thai women on their arm.
We can recommend the lady boy cabaret at the night bazaar - just be prepared to a) pay 20BHT for any photos you have taken with them, and b) buy a drink at the cabaret. A great compilation of gay/disco anthems, superb dancing and a real feel-good crowd (female and male).

Room Tip: Perhaps a higher floor room would have less wildlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzieWallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Nothing startling from the outside, but being hidden behind a wall in the old walled city was very appropriate and kept the accommodation very quiet and private. We were travelling with our two teenage sons, and although we couldn't get an interconnecting room, they were right next door. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the bath in the bathroom huge! Only problem was that the beds were very hard, but considering most of s.e. Asia sleep on mats on the floor, it was luxurious and really not a complaint. We had a ground floor room and found that we couldn't use our outdoor balcony as there were a lot of Mosquitos, but when we did go out and they followed us inside, the staff provided spray for our room. We didn't have any problem with mosquitoes in any of the other public areas. The breakfast was in a lovely area and eggs, pancakes and waffles were cooked on request and there was ample choice of other options. The pool was clean and refreshing after a long day of sight seeing. Within walking distance to many pagodas and markets. We stayed for 5 nights and we would definitely recommend to others and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

It is a very nice hotel, helpfull staff, good breakfast. But..... There were cockroaches everywhere. They came up out a hole near the toilet. They were very big. It is a problem that the management of the hotel is working on. We booked another hotel

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kamala D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

the staff, grounds, pool, location were amazing. The bathroom was older, but very clean. The only negatives was the mattress was very firm, the breakfast buffet was fair (it wasn't included and there were plenty of walkable places to eat very close to hotel), and we heard the rooster located on the street behind our room every morning. Luckily we used the rooster to our advantage as our alarm clock! This was definitely a step above other hotels we heard about in the same vicinity.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A cute little hotel, with a great sun trap in the pool area and a pool side restaurant/bar.

We stayed here for a couple of nights in November as a group of 4 taking 2 rooms. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived (due to us being early) however we were greeted with a welcome drink and our bags quickly taken from us so that we were free to go and explore.

We had a ground floor room, nice and spacious with a rather massive whirlpool bath, big enough for a small party!! We were given a voucher for a free afternoon tea, which was toast, a lettuce leaf and some chicken like substance on top with some herbal tea. Nothing special but the thought was there. We didn't spend a great deal of time in the hotel, as we were out sight seeing each day and choose to eat in town and explore further. However we did spend a couple of hours relaxing by the pool and sampling the cocktails one afternoon and found the staff to be lovely and the pool area very clean and well kept.

On the final evening one of our group had bought some local wine from a trip in the hills and the hotel had no problem letting the 4 of us sit in the lounge area (up by the pool) drinking the wine which the opened and provided the glasses for. Again a small thing but a nice touch from the hotel.

Breakfast each morning was in the garden, a lovely environment and a good range of options to keep you going until lunch.

I would certainly stay here again should we return to Chiang Mai

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room, just to help keep the mosquitoes at bay. (Not that we had many whilst s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelpea34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel really completed our Chiang Mai holiday. Chiang Mai is fantastic, we had wonderful days exploring the whole area on foot and in tuk tuks and Bhodi Serene is the place to come back to.
The rooms are perfect, the pool is wonderful, breakfast is fantastic and the staff are lovely. Being in the old city is best, we had considered other cheaper hotels outside the walls but after seeing the areas on our walks were so glad we paid a little more and stayed in the old city, the atmosphere is what we came for, we will return.

Room Tip: upstairs away from the breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VioletAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Truly a boutique hotel with a secluded garden setting in the midst of an urban area. Spacious rooms, great staff and superb food make for a neat spot. We ended up eating there several times plus the breakfast in the garden is wonderful. A good bargain in every respect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#33 of 394 in Chiang Mai
997 reviews
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#16 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#38 of 394 in Chiang Mai
967 reviews
1.1 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#13 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodhi Serene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodhi Serene Hotel

Address: 110 Ratchaphakhinai Road, Phra-sing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £58 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodhi Serene Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bodhi Serene is located within the old city walls of down town Chiang Mai surrounded by many ancient temples and is a mere 20 minutes from the airport, train station as well as the bus terminal. It is also visually and architecturally stunning with exotic Lanna style influenced by Chinese designs. There are only 38 rooms to offer most of which overlooks our central courtyard area with a tropical garden and waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bodhi Serene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodhi Serene Chiang Mai
Hotel Bodhi Serene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing