We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, lots of character”
Review of Bodhi Serene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Ranked #35 of 384 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lots of character”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The room was really lovely and big, the bathroom was also big with a huge bath tub. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Pool area looked lovely and we ate lunch in the restaurant, food was really good. Good location too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahRosa2488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    412
    80
    28
    8
See reviews for
146
420
49
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Overall Bodhi Serene is a good hotel,rooms are spacious,but beds are hard!!! Breakfast is good with fresh fruits and cooked omelettes. The hotel in areas is a little tired,but this seems typical in Thailand. We found that our shower needed some work done to make the room first class, it just was not totally clean, mainly because of its age.Wifi was not good until I complained,hey presto it was good from then on.Also they give you the bare minimum coffee and tea in your room, it is only a small thing I know, but who wants to go to reception at anytime to get more? Overall I would recommend this hotel,a little TLC would put it up amongst the best in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 71years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We spent 3 nights at this hotel for my birthday. The staff are great and very friendly. The place felt like a resort which was a welcome change to the regular hotels I've visited. Very spacious rooms and comfy slippers. Only downside I would say is the wifi was a bit flakey at times.

After returning to our room on my birthday I came back to a fruit basket for my birthday which was very nice and thoughtful. The shuttle bus to the night market was also good. You have to make your own way back which isn't a problem. Tours are able to be made at the hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay happily there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

It feels more like a spa resort than a hotel. The staff are really friendly, the pool is lovely and the food excellent. Our room and facilities are nicely designed with a balcony overlooking the stunning central gardens. Didn't do much research so we landed very lucky.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is a lovely hotel with the rooms situated around a central courtyard. They have a bus, which weekdays will take you at 7 PM to the night market (you're responsible for getting yourself back). The Sunday Market is 2 blocks away and many Wats are within walking distance. The room we had (311) was spacious with dark wood accents, a large round tub big enough for two, a walk-in shower with good water pressure and flat-screen tv and free wifi. Other reviewers have referenced the beds and the one we had was hard but we slept well.
The area around the hotel has plenty of massage parlors, laundry services, tour operators and money exchanges. I felt it was a oriented a bit more towards backpackers than some other areas but I enjoyed the bustle and the feel. The hotel was definitely "serene" compared to the bustle outside. Oh yes, and an absolutely beautiful pool on the second floor. Great place to take a dip and get cooled off.

Room Tip: Rooms 311 and 312 are a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were picked up from the airport via the hotel transfer (not needed as there are multiple taxis at the airport and the hotel is easy to find, also airport taxi is half the price 250 vs 120)

Upon arrival we were greeted with drinks which was a nice touch but then asked to pay for the taxi which should of been added to the final bill.(it's the small things)

Then showed to our lovely room facing the garden. Great room with everything you need...apart from a couple of cockroaches!! These were found and removed and a different room was offered, which was not required as it was our last night.

The hotel is run by a bunch of spotty teenagers....there was an issue with an excursion and rather than sorting the problem out right away, they decided to argue with us in reception and then have a conversation/laugh in thai to each other as we were stood there. In the end it was sorted but left with a sour taste of the confrontation.

Decent enough breakfast with a lovely garden setting. So overall a decent hotel in a good location of Chang Mai. There are lots of shops/bars/restaurants/massage places all around. The hotel has a nice pool and is designed traditionally which gives it a nice feel.

Room Tip: Don't book excursions through the hotel, we went to tiger kingdom via tuk tuk and it was a fract...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I recently stayed at Bodhi Serene on my first trip to Chiang Mai. The hotel is an easy 10 minute drive from the local airport (transfers to and from the hotel were provided complimentary), and the stay was very enjoyable.

The breakfast is hearty and includes both hot and cold selections, continental, asian and western food - something for everyone. You can either elect to sit with other guests in the main pavilion area, or there are tables set along the walkways for 1-2 people if that is your preference.

The staff were very pleasant and attentive, and nothing was too much trouble during my visit. A few pointers which may help other travellers:

1. Pack your insect repellent. Regardless of whether you are in an upstairs or a downstairs room, they are out in force in the evenings and it is required.

2. Wifi is intermittent and very weak (most times non-existent) in the bedrooms. The strongest areas to connect to the outside world during your stay are around Reception and there is good access around the pool in some spots and the pavilion beside it.

3. Be careful when booking tours through the hotel. I had the on site consultants located downstairs arrange a taxi for me which cost triple what it would have had I arranged it myself, and could often find the deals cheaper if I spent a little time researching and booking directly.

Overall, a lovely hotel, very clean and presentable, and friendly, pleasant staff who will go out of their way to assist you. If you get stuck trying to get somewhere locally, the hotel Reception desk is often able to find one of the team who can write your destination in Thai to pass on to a local taxi or tuk-tuk driver. The laundry service is reliable and quick, and I hope to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#33 of 384 in Chiang Mai
958 reviews
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 384 in Chiang Mai
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 384 in Chiang Mai
1,850 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#40 of 384 in Chiang Mai
928 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 384 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodhi Serene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodhi Serene Hotel

Property: Bodhi Serene Hotel
Address: 110 Ratchaphakhinai Road, Phra-sing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodhi Serene Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bodhi Serene is located within the old city walls of down town Chiang Mai surrounded by many ancient temples and is a mere 20 minutes from the airport, train station as well as the bus terminal. It is also visually and architecturally stunning with exotic Lanna style influenced by Chinese designs. There are only 38 rooms to offer most of which overlooks our central courtyard area with a tropical garden and waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bodhi Serene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodhi Serene Chiang Mai
Hotel Bodhi Serene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing