We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Warrnambool
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

At first glance this resort appears very unpretentious. But..when you enter into the resort..magic happens!
There is greenery everywhere..2 pools are delightful..breakfasts are excellent & staff are very friendly.
I loved this place & would recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxed, peaceful holiday!

Room Tip: The further away the room, the quieter it is from main road, but noise was not a problem ever with u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitepip45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    276
    41
    10
    4
See reviews for
198
517
62
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South West UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We initially chose this hotel on the basis of the lovely description of the spa which is always a key decision point for me. A local friend recommended it over several other choices due to its location - quiet, edge of town but within easy reach of the local night markets. We also chose it over the several well known large chain hotels since these appeared rather soul-less.

When our bus pulled in to the reception courtyard, we were certainly not disappointed. We were greeted by the charming staff and after checking in taken to our lovely room which was beautifully furnished in a rustic style with teak furniture. We were informed that the toiletries were locally produced and organic - beautiful hand made soaps, honey and turmeric shower gel and bamboo charcoal shampoo and conditioner.
I am extremely fussy about the toiletries I use and almost never use those supplied in hotel rooms - even in well known 5-star resorts but those provided in the Shewe Wana were fabulous quality.

The spa was everything I expected and cannot be faulted at all - perfect service, skilled therapist beautiful ambience. I had two sessions of traditional Thai massage with hot compress, each lasting 2 hours and felt thoroughly pampered. Having booked two sessions of two hours each, I was presented a lovely gift of full sized bottles of the shower gel, shampoo and hair conditioner as supplied in the room as well as ceramic pump bottles.

The breakfasts were freshly cooked and we were amazed to be served hash browns which were freshly prepared rather than the frozen patties found in so many places. The fruit salad was also freshly prepared from seasonal fruits.

We stayed 3 nights at the Shewe Wana resort, the first two nights, we met up with friends who were staying elsewhere in Chiang Mai and ate in restaurants around the town but the third night we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant on the basis of the menu looking good and the breakfasts being so impressive. We chose western food as a change from the lovely Northern Thai food we had been eating throughout our 6-day stay in the region and were pleasantly suprised. Western food in so much of Asia is catered for the local palate but the meals we were served here would not have been out of place in any good restaurant in Europe.

We would certainly choose to stay here again for a fabulous pampering treat but we would probably choose a suite rather than a room since our room was a little small.

Room Tip: The "boutique rooms" are quite tiny so if you feel you might need a bit more space - i.e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriandPaul64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Loved this place, great friendly staff, clean grounds. The family room was just divine. The owner was so accommodating when the floods hit in Sept 2011. She organised for us to go to another resort which was higher ground and not effected by the floods.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totzys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
321 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Shewe Wana is located 7 minutes walking of the main gate of Chiang Mai, just 5 minutes from the train station. What a nice play to spend a few days. The welcome was a very warm one, they picked me up at the airport without extra charge.
Breakfast was very good with a lot of options and delicious mango and other local fruits.
I can imagine myself spending a honeymoon here !
The day I left I realized in the airport that I forgot my private cell phone in the safe of my room. I called them and they send one of their staff with a motorbike to give me my cell phone. This was a very nice gesture, otherwise I would have had to return to the hotel with the risk of missing my flight. Thank you so much for being such good hosts. You exceeded my expectations and I rate you number of 1 of all my stays in the last couple of years. Will be back !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank degtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We have just returned from a 6 night stay in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom suite, and cannot speak highly enough of this wonderful little hotel. It exceeded my expectations in every way. The suite was very spacious, meticulously clean and well furnished. Plenty of storage space in the bedrooms and good sized bathrooms. The showers had very good water pressure, and the toiletries provided are all hand made and just divine (shampoo, conditioner, body wash left my hair and skin feeling amazing). Both pools were excellent, certainly refreshing and a relaxing place to chill out and unwind after touring around Chiang Mai. The tropical gardens are lush and well maintained, it is literally an oasis to escape to - we slept peacefully with no disturbance from the outside world. Bliss! The breakfasts are amazing, nothing is too much trouble for the staff, and those banana pancakes are incredible. All the staff were so friendly and obliging, it was a real home away from home. I would not even contemplate staying anywhere else in Chiang Mai, and cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetcheeks800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Fantastic breakfast - buffet fruit/breads and order for cooked breakfast. Good coffee! Staff very friendly and helpful especially Nit. Beware of the mosquitos though - someone left our balcony door open and even though the mosquito screen was closed when we got home there were about 25 mosquitos in the kids bedroom. Quite easy to kill them though they seemed a bit dopey. Mosquitos not a problem as long as you spray up well and keep the doors closed. We ate at the restaraunt on the last day and the food was delicious - the starter plate was the best. Wished we had eten there more.

Room Tip: We were a bit disappointed in being put on the third floor but actually it was better as no one walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We spent 6 nights at the Shewe Wana in Chiang Mai and were treated to a peaceful paradise within the city. We had royal suite 5 that was right next to the pool (10 steps away!). The suite was spacious, clean and beautifully furnished. We looked forward to an amazing breakfast every morning (don't miss the banana pancakes) with fresh fruits. The main pool was excellent and it was rare for us to ever see anyone else there. Plenty of sun exposure too on the deck. Staff frequently replaced the flowers and decorations around the resort which added a nice touch. Dined in the restaurant and had a wonderful, tasty Thai meal. All of the front desk staff spoke English well and were happy to book a tour for us or book a table at a restaurant. The resort tuk tuk was also handy to take you wherever you would like to go. Laundry service was great - cheap and fast. I will recommend this boutique resort to everyone I know and will stay here when in Chiang Mai again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneG94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
1.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
0.9 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#34 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Property: Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Address: 296, 298 Charoen Muang Rd | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000 , Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shewe" means life, "Wana" means forest and nature. "Shewe Wana" means life returning to the forest. Shewe Wana is a small cozy boutique style resort in Chiang Mai city. We are an environmentally friendly resort, using natural products made by Chiang Mai local people. We are located about 15-20 minutes by walk from resort to Chiang Mai old city. It is located on the main road to the railroad station and a few minutes walk to the Ping River where you will find a variety of international restaurants, pubs and cafes. It is also just a short walk to a Buddhist temple and a local market name "SAN PA KHOI" where you will find a delicious assortment of northern Thai food, fruit and confections. We offer complimentary 'tuk-tuk' shuttle to the night bazaar and railroad station and van service to the airport. Shewe Wana Boutique wing A cozy boutique resort with two room types; Superior Double room and Superior Twin room have Thai-style wood furniture and windows that open to a view of the lovely garden and pool-side setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shewe Wana Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing