We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, But...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

As much as I would like to give the resort 5 stars it just isn't there yet. I think with some better attention to detail it could make it to 5 star rating. Our room was huge and comfortable, all be it a bit tired. Upon checking in we discovered ants in the master bathroom, which was promptly attended to when we informed the front desk. The pool area was nice, the kids enjoyed the pool, and I enjoyed sitting our on balcony reading in the mornings. The breakfast selection is one of the best around, it was really good, but the service was very inconsistent. We never got exactly what we ordered, even when we ticked the boxes on the room service menu, and like some many places in Southeast Asia, the food came out in dribbles, one dish for one person, and by the time that the last person got there food everyone else was done. The location of the hotel was great, just a short yuk yuk ride into town and the markets. The staff very warm and welcoming and all the meals we had were amazing. They just need to iron out some of the kinks.

Room Tip: I recommend one of the rooms on the second or third floor and if you are staying with family opt for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,052)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

We've just spent 5 nights in a one bedroom suite in this hotel. All in all, enjoyed the stay.
Pros: there is a round trip airport shuttle and also an hourly one-way evening shuttle to the night bazaar. Gardens are beautifully kept, with little waterfalls and orchids in every nook and cranny. The resort is very quiet and peaceful with a wonderful ambience. Breakfast is good with a limited buffet + an a la carte menu of everything from bacon and eggs to coconut pancakes. coffee is brought over from the next door coffee shop. The free mini bar is a plus and is filled each day.
Cons: We spent our first day here without internet and were moved to a room with a better internet signal. The second room was older and not as nice, but having internet was important to us. The airconditioning is eratic and difficult to control. The room temp. went from hot to cold with a mind of it's own. The living room couch is as hard as a rock and the bed needs a step to be climbed onto. (no step provided). The room is on a path and the curtains are very transparent and flimsy.
Laundry services are expensive so we washed by hand. Washing lines are provided.
The location is not good so if you want to be able to go out to shop, you have to take a tuk tuk or red bus. Not difficult but not really convenient for going out alone.
We have 3 days left in Chiang Mai but are moving to the Night Bazaar as we find this place expensive.
We had one evening meal in the restaraunt. Portions were not big but the food was tasty.
All in all, if this is within budget, and you don't mind not being in the hub (surrounding area is not at all interesting, but a 15 minute walk to the riverside), I would reccomend staying here).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidayer011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

ouah ..
really a wonderful hotel to stay.
iy you don't want to be in the rush of the city but close enough to enjoy Chiang Mai attractions in the city and around Shewe wana is just perfect.
we booked 3 rooms including one delux with 2 bedrooms. the staff is really welcoming, helpful. breakfast perfect and if you want to dine to.
we were there as a group of 10 people with 4 kids and really we'd love to go back again
Thanks to Shewe Wana staff

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aml_mail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at the Shewe wana from the 26th - 30th of October. We stayed in a two bedroom suite which was absolutely beautiful. Plenty of room. One bedroom with ensuite bath and shower room, the other a larger bedroom with separate bathroom. Contemporary decor throughout. The service we received from the staff was excellent. They are all very willing to help you, whether it be flagging down a tuck tuck or arranging for a hire car to take us wherever we wanted to go at very reasonable rates. We were sorry to leave. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GibsonMays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Chiang Mai and much of our enjoyment was due to our choice of Shewe Wana for our accommodations. We booked one of their wonderful promotions available only throughout their website. We had a spacious & beautiful suite with a jacuzzi tub & a shower and our own lanai. The package included a delicious breakfast every morning, as well as a traditional Thai dinner one night. We also each received a 2 hour spa package of our choice with very skilled therapists. The wifi works great and so does the air conditioning. All of the staff were exceptionally kind & gracious. The food was delicious. The location is great and it was amazing how quiet and private it was. You really feel like you're in a tropical paradise as the gardens, foliage, blooming orchids, water features and statues add to the relaxing ambience. The resort also has a free tuk tuk to the Night Market every evening. And their locally made toiletries were so exceptional we bought some to bring home. They also have two pools. The entire resort is very well maintained and cared for. My husband & I hope to return to Shewe Wana next year. If you're going to Chiang Mai I highly recommend you stay at Shewe Wana and I encourage you to make your reservations directly through their website and choose one of their special promotions. I'm so glad I did! I am grateful to the entire staff for a special and memorable visit to Chiang. Mai

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We've stayed in Shewe Wana for 7 nights.
The place is about 15 minutes from the night market, which is the downside of this place because it's not very fun to walk the streets.
Very quiet (even surprisingly), clean, nice room, nice breakfast. A/C was good, TV not so much, free umbrellas and WiFi.
There are two pools but we've never used them (closed from 19:00).
We didn't use the spa either.
The staff is very friendly.
Booking tours from via the hotel is expensive, we used the Israeli center (Hamrkaz Lametayel) near the night market, which gave us better prices.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BricknerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The price performance ratio was absolutely fine. The hotel was always very clean and the staff have been very concerned about the care around it. They also had two beautiful pools were also cleaned every day. The hotel next door had even an Internet coffee, with some computers. In this hotel you feel like in a small jungle, it was all very nice and green and there were many beautiful large plants. We can only say again, we are absolutely delighted with this hotel, its atmosphere and the friendly staff is very dear to us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#14 of 389 in Chiang Mai
2,099 reviews
1.9 mi away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#4 of 389 in Chiang Mai
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,885 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#50 of 389 in Chiang Mai
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Address: 296, 298 Charoen Muang Rd | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £48 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shewe" means life, "Wana" means forest and nature. "Shewe Wana" means life returning to the forest. Shewe Wana is a small cozy boutique style resort in Chiang Mai city. We are an environmentally friendly resort, using natural products made by Chiang Mai local people. We are located about 15-20 minutes by walk from resort to Chiang Mai old city. It is located on the main road to the railroad station and a few minutes walk to the Ping River where you will find a variety of international restaurants, pubs and cafes. It is also just a short walk to a Buddhist temple and a local market name "SAN PA KHOI" where you will find a delicious assortment of northern Thai food, fruit and confections. We offer complimentary 'tuk-tuk' shuttle to the night bazaar and railroad station and van service to the airport. Shewe Wana Boutique wing A cozy boutique resort with two room types; Superior Double room and Superior Twin room have Thai-style wood furniture and windows that open to a view of the lovely garden and pool-side setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shewe Wana Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing