We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value for Chiang Mai.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Value for Chiang Mai.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located 15 walking mins from the night bazaar and other shops. It has a really nice garden within the center of the hotel with a pool as well. Chaing Mai is a much slower city than Bangkok or Phuket so there is not much to do there besides the elephant tours.

The rooms were very old school with a wooden lock inside and padlocks for the outside. Not your usual but very unique and seemingly secure.

The breakfast was very good with a decent menu selection and I believe complimentary.

The staff was great and very accommodating for late check out. We were given a smaller room to stay in and store out bags up until 7pm.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    264
    41
    9
    4
See reviews for
190
491
61
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed in Shewe Wana for two nights, and enjoyed our stay. Room was very nice and clean. Shower temperature was hit and miss - Went from scalding hot, to very cold without moving the temperate. Internet connection was also a bit sketchy at times. Breakfast was very good, and the tuk tuk to the night bazaar was also great. Overall enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Shewe Wana is a little island of paradise in the middle of a very "blah" neighborhood. Rooms were clean, property was beautiful, and we loved the big breakfast every morning. We also feel in love with the staff -- great people, who helped us out at every turn.

The location was pretty good ... not perfect -- and not exactly a charming part of town -- but about 60 - 100 baht tuk-tuk ride to the main parts of Chiang Mai. To go all the way across town to the incredible outdoor buffet (ask around -- it's amazing!! 195 baht, all you can eat, filled only with locals) -- it was about 150 baht.

We didn't have time to try the spa services, but all else was great!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank digitaldescartes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel around Loi Krathong festival and it turned out an excellent base for enjoying the festival as it is located close to Nawarat bridge which is said to offer the most splendid view during the multi-day festivities. There are also a number of bustling restaurants on the river bank next to the bridge and the old town, night market area is just a short walk away.
The hotel itself is a beautiful oasis in the middle of town with beautiful, tropical landscaping. The standard rooms were very pleasant and beautifully decorated, although not overly spacious and maybe a little bit dark. We also found the room to be very quiet and did not see or hear much of other hotel guests. All in all, we were very happy with the room which was well kept and clean as well as comfy and well equipped.
The breakfast was excellent and offered a variety of Western breakfast fare, and the breakfast patio in the garden was lovely. We did not try the restaurant for lunch or dinner as we preferred to go to the more bustling parts of town for this, and the two stools in the lobby may not really deserve to be called a bar although we had a few drinks there while being stuck during a rain shower and they were decent.
We used the hotel laundry which was good and fast, but prices were rather steep for Thailand. The same may be said about the Spa (which we did not use - prices were actually matching Western levels). On the other hand, we really appreciated the complimentary airport pick-up/drop-off and there is also a free hotel shuttle that runs to the night market area a couple of times during the evening.
The true gem of this very pleasant hotel however is its unbelievably kind and helpful staff! First of all, they all spoke very good English. They were extremely helpful with booking tours, pointing out restaurants and places to visit and helping out whenever needed (and we needed helping out several times). I have to say that I have probably never been to a hotel with such a friendly and helpful staff, and they made our stay truly unforgettable.
All in all, I would stay at this hotel again any time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksjehr_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I read a lot of the reviews prior to staying and was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. People mentioned that there are a lot of mosquitoes but I think this would be obvious given the beautiful, lush gardens all throughout the resort. The room was clean and came with a mosquito zapper and reminder to keep the door closed so as not to let more in. We actually did not have any issues with mosquitoes but by this time had become accustom to putting deet on at dawn & dusk! There are two pools and the resort offers a fantastic breakfast spread! The resort is close to the night bazaar, restaurants and other amenities in town, but is removed enough to be quiet at night. I appreciated that the resort also offers free shuttles to the night market in case, like us, you had been walking all day and needed a break! I would definitely recommend this to anyone staying in the city who wants a nice, quiet place to return to at the end of the day!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

In living up to its name Shewe Wana (Life returning to the Forest), the pathway to the Suite Wing where we stayed for 3 nights is filled with beautiful torch ginger and orchid plants and nice water features. Our suite is one of the most spacious rooms we have ever stayed at 112 Sq m, with a separate bedroom, living room (with fridge containing free drinks including mineral water), bathroom and balcony.
 
Free airport transfer:
Provided, but as our flight arrival was delayed, we had to call the hotel before we were fetched. Not a good start!
 
Check in:
Smooth and fast with warm friendly smiles. Front desk staff (Sweet, Rose, Vicky) also served us at the restaurant.
 
Location:
Quiet area, about 15 mins walk to Nawarat Bridge overlooking Ping River. To Tae Pae Gate, it would take more than 30 mins. A ride by Tuk Tuk to Tae Pae Gate and the Night Bazaar would be less than 10 mins @ THB 50 each. Nawarat Bridge area was the location where they released the lanterns at night and also where the Loy Krathong was held. It was a sight to behold!
 
Room & amenities:
Our suite room is very spacious, comfortable and clean.  Room 221 has a small kitchenette, fridge and a huge sofa. As the parquet flooring is very shiny and smooth, the bedroom slippers provided can be a fall hazard as there is no grip.
 
In-house Restaurant:
We had dinner on our first night and had 1 Phad Thai & another Phad Thai Tom Yum and they were both delicious. We paid THB 398.
As a gesture of goodwill due to the airport transfer hitch, we enjoyed complimentary juices.
 
Eating near the hotel at night:
To the right of the hotel, less than 5 mins walk, there are 7 roadside stalls next to the 7-Eleven. We ate chicken rice @ THB 30 per plate, and the Red Ruby dessert (Tub Tim Grob) @ THB15 per bowl. They were both so delicious and inexpensive.
 
Shopping:
Central Festival is a newly opened huge shopping complex located along the Chiangmai super highway. From Shewe Wana by Tuk Tuk, it took 15-20 mins and costs THB100. Uniglo, Marks & Spencer, Central, Topman, Zara, Mango, etc and many restaurants are in the complex.
 
Front desk staff:
Great friendly service from all staff, especially Sweet, Rose and Vicky! Keep it Up!
 
 
 
 

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rainbowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here for a week in November and really enjoyed the experience. The suite we were in was spacious but also comfy. The bed was big and we got some great sleep there! The only downside was that there was no TV in the bedroom (it was in the living area). The location is slightly out of the main city area but for us that worked well as we wanted somewhere calm and relaxing rather than somewhere too noisy or busy, plus you could walk there in about 15 minutes so it isn't exactly remote either! The little mini-gardens between the blocks of rooms were lovely and it was nice for the balcony to overlook one of these. The staff were really nice and friendly and very helpful. We had breakfast brought to our room each morning and even had a phonecall one morning to ask us what we wanted as we hadn't woken up in time to order! We felt it was a lovely place- more charming than pretentious. Overall, a really enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kakie_celala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
1.1 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
1.6 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#3 of 373 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Property: Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Address: 296, 298 Charoen Muang Rd | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000 , Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shewe" means life, "Wana" means forest and nature. "Shewe Wana" means life returning to the forest. Shewe Wana is a small cozy boutique style resort in Chiang Mai city. We are an environmentally friendly resort, using natural products made by Chiang Mai local people. We are located about 15-20 minutes by walk from resort to Chiang Mai old city. It is located on the main road to the railroad station and a few minutes walk to the Ping River where you will find a variety of international restaurants, pubs and cafes. It is also just a short walk to a Buddhist temple and a local market name "SAN PA KHOI" where you will find a delicious assortment of northern Thai food, fruit and confections. We offer complimentary 'tuk-tuk' shuttle to the night bazaar and railroad station and van service to the airport. Shewe Wana Boutique wing A cozy boutique resort with two room types; Superior Double room and Superior Twin room have Thai-style wood furniture and windows that open to a view of the lovely garden and pool-side setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shewe Wana Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing