We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Nice place, nice people, beautiful rooms; we'll come back as soon as possible. Keep in mind that this place is not suitable for diving or snorkelling because the water is cloudy; however, you can easily join Koh Ma by speedboat (or taxi), which is a nice place for diving or/and snorkelling.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rochsnake P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,049)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

We spent 3 nights of our 2-week honeymoon at the Shewe Wana. It's walking distance to the bars and restaurants along the river, and a short 5-10 min tuk tuk ride (provided by the resort) to the Night Market. The resort was very quiet and full of lush greenery. A very cute and quaint hotel room but you have to keep the door closed at all times to keep mosquitos out. The basic rooms are pretty small but didn't matter too much to us since we were out most of the day. The continental breakfast at the hotel was delicious with made-to-order pancakes, waffles and omelets. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Vicky at the front desk was such an amazing help at coordinating cab rides and calling our scheduled excursions for us and speaking to them in Thai. She made our visit so easy and care-free. In fact, the entire staff at Shewe Wana were so welcoming and friendly including the cab driver (Mr. Pab) that they called to taxi us around the day's activities. I had a nice body scrub and oil massage at their spa which was quite nice, but overpriced for a massage in Thailand. Those who stayed at the resort did receive a 25% discount on services though so that was a nice perk. Overall, very happy with our hotel choice and would stay here again. Thanks to the entire staff for making our stay such a great experience!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kristal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We spent 14 nights in this wonderful and romantic hotel and felt like home from the beginning. Exactly what we were looking for. A small and peaceful hotel but in the middle of the bustling city. We had a huge living room, a separate bedroom and finally a walk in closet. Fantastic! We were delighted by the excellent natural products in the bathroom. Exceptionally positive was the free Internet access and free drinks in a large refrigerator. It was also pleasing that an airport shuttle was available. Unfortunately for Europeans, the mattress was too hard. For all employees was the service and the welfare of the guests in the foreground. We were spoiled every day and the problem was quickly solved. The dinner at the hotel's restaurant was always a treat ! We really recovered well and can recommend this charming resort. Guests who want to relax in natural surroundings are correct right here! Thanks for the great service and attention from the first to the last day!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Discoverone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at Shewe Wana for three wonderful nights in February. Our 2nd floor room was perfect and we loved the homemade bath products so much that we bought some to take home. The tropical hotel grounds were absolutely beautiful. The service is excellent and we found all of the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfasts at the hotel were the best that we had for our entire three weeks touring around Thailand. Some of our favorites were the banana pancakes, yummy omelets, lattes and sticky rice treats. The hotel was close enough to the night market to walk, but we took advantage of the free tuk tuk ride to the market. If we ever make it back to Chiang Mai, we definitely would stay at this amazing oasis again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunny305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I just got back from a weekend at the Shewe Wana Boutique Resort. It was perfect for us. The rooms are cute with nice details but nothing fancy. The bathroom is good with great Shewe Wana products (including conditioner!, which is not a frequent find). They had a great deal where they picked us up and dropped us off at the airport…they were on time and there right when we got off the plane. The staff was not only gracious but also very helpful. They helped us arrange activities, kept our bags when we had checked out and were very pleasant. The location is ok. We were a 20 minute or 60-100 baht tuktuk ride from the old city. There were places in the old city, but many looked more like backpacker places.

Additionally, the lush green garden was a perfect reprieve from the smoky hot environment of chiang mai. there were two pools that proved wonderful after a long day of temple hopping. also, the breakfast was huge and delightful. there was both thai specialities as well as western options. and there were many options including meats, cooked egg dishes, and waffles and pancakes. overall, great experience and would highly recommend it for budget travelers.

Room Tip: i might ask for the first floor because the balconies look out onto the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

a very nice place and very nice staff who will help you with everything you want.
cosy, a lot of plants, on a small scale (I mean not a big hotel) and an excellent breakfast!
Thank you.
Bernardina Schwirtz

Room Tip: To go to the city takes you a little more time, because it is on the river, but that means quiet en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This hotel is a real thai hotel. The service is excellent and the people working there even better. The peaceful near chiang mai night market.
I will come back to this hotel if I have the chance.
Thank you all personal working there. It was a pleasure.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JairoLombardia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#15 of 388 in Chiang Mai
2,096 reviews
1.9 mi away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#4 of 388 in Chiang Mai
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,883 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 388 in Chiang Mai
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Address: 296, 298 Charoen Muang Rd | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £47 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shewe" means life, "Wana" means forest and nature. "Shewe Wana" means life returning to the forest. Shewe Wana is a small cozy boutique style resort in Chiang Mai city. We are an environmentally friendly resort, using natural products made by Chiang Mai local people. We are located about 15-20 minutes by walk from resort to Chiang Mai old city. It is located on the main road to the railroad station and a few minutes walk to the Ping River where you will find a variety of international restaurants, pubs and cafes. It is also just a short walk to a Buddhist temple and a local market name "SAN PA KHOI" where you will find a delicious assortment of northern Thai food, fruit and confections. We offer complimentary 'tuk-tuk' shuttle to the night bazaar and railroad station and van service to the airport. Shewe Wana Boutique wing A cozy boutique resort with two room types; Superior Double room and Superior Twin room have Thai-style wood furniture and windows that open to a view of the lovely garden and pool-side setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shewe Wana Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing