We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little hidden oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Little hidden oasis”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Lovely place, not far from the town. Great staff, nice room and beautiful surroundings. If you are booking ask for a room facing inwards, and not number 11, you can hear them preparing breakfast from 6.30 each morning. Other than that, this place is perfect, and brilliant value.

Room Tip: If you are booking ask for a room facing inwards, and not number 11, you can hear them preparing bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    284
    43
    10
    4
See reviews for
209
536
63
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

A few mins away from the old city and sort of industrial surroundings but I loved it coz the moment you enter the resort you feel like you are in some other world. Very cute. Friendly staff. Take the red cabs everywhere. Go to live music bars. One of my fav is inter bar

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank walmuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This place looks very simple from the outside, but step thought the gates and it's a lush, green oasis with beautiful orchids everywhere. The suite rooms are large and well equipped and the balcony, complete with a day bed overlook lovely gardens. Breakfast is a buffet with additional choices available via the menu. Dinner at the restaurant was also good, as is the little coffee shop next door. Free tuk tuk rides to the market each evening - it's about a 15 minute walk back. The old town is about 30 minutes walk away. The spa is expensive compared to places on the street, but veyr nice. Finally all the staff here were wonderful. Very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The suites are large. Downstairs seem nicer. Keeps doors shut - lots of Mosquitos
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

From the road this resort looks fairly unassuming, but walking through the doors to the back of the building takes you into such a wonderful setting! The whole site is not large, although it is beautifully kept and very lush! It is a quiet and peaceful haven, yet within walking distance to bars and restaurants along the river, plus they provide a shuttle service for points further afield.

Our room was massive; more of a suite than a room! It consisted of a large bedroom, a walk-in closet, a great bathroom with jacuzzi bath, a huge living room and and our own balcony! Breakfast was excellent and the setting even better! There was also free WiFi and free drinks in the refrigerator! Like other commentators, the bed was hard but then every bed we had across Vietnam, Cambodia, and Thailand was hard!

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made our whole stay of five nights truly wonderful! We would definitely recommend this resort and will stay again if visiting Chiang Mai!

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JHT2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Nice place, nice people, beautiful rooms; we'll come back as soon as possible. Keep in mind that this place is not suitable for diving or snorkelling because the water is cloudy; however, you can easily join Koh Ma by speedboat (or taxi), which is a nice place for diving or/and snorkelling.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rochsnake P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We spent 3 nights of our 2-week honeymoon at the Shewe Wana. It's walking distance to the bars and restaurants along the river, and a short 5-10 min tuk tuk ride (provided by the resort) to the Night Market. The resort was very quiet and full of lush greenery. A very cute and quaint hotel room but you have to keep the door closed at all times to keep mosquitos out. The basic rooms are pretty small but didn't matter too much to us since we were out most of the day. The continental breakfast at the hotel was delicious with made-to-order pancakes, waffles and omelets. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Vicky at the front desk was such an amazing help at coordinating cab rides and calling our scheduled excursions for us and speaking to them in Thai. She made our visit so easy and care-free. In fact, the entire staff at Shewe Wana were so welcoming and friendly including the cab driver (Mr. Pab) that they called to taxi us around the day's activities. I had a nice body scrub and oil massage at their spa which was quite nice, but overpriced for a massage in Thailand. Those who stayed at the resort did receive a 25% discount on services though so that was a nice perk. Overall, very happy with our hotel choice and would stay here again. Thanks to the entire staff for making our stay such a great experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kristal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We spent 14 nights in this wonderful and romantic hotel and felt like home from the beginning. Exactly what we were looking for. A small and peaceful hotel but in the middle of the bustling city. We had a huge living room, a separate bedroom and finally a walk in closet. Fantastic! We were delighted by the excellent natural products in the bathroom. Exceptionally positive was the free Internet access and free drinks in a large refrigerator. It was also pleasing that an airport shuttle was available. Unfortunately for Europeans, the mattress was too hard. For all employees was the service and the welfare of the guests in the foreground. We were spoiled every day and the problem was quickly solved. The dinner at the hotel's restaurant was always a treat ! We really recovered well and can recommend this charming resort. Guests who want to relax in natural surroundings are correct right here! Thanks for the great service and attention from the first to the last day!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Discoverone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#13 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
1.9 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 386 in Chiang Mai
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,854 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 386 in Chiang Mai
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Property: Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Address: 296, 298 Charoen Muang Rd | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shewe" means life, "Wana" means forest and nature. "Shewe Wana" means life returning to the forest. Shewe Wana is a small cozy boutique style resort in Chiang Mai city. We are an environmentally friendly resort, using natural products made by Chiang Mai local people. We are located about 15-20 minutes by walk from resort to Chiang Mai old city. It is located on the main road to the railroad station and a few minutes walk to the Ping River where you will find a variety of international restaurants, pubs and cafes. It is also just a short walk to a Buddhist temple and a local market name "SAN PA KHOI" where you will find a delicious assortment of northern Thai food, fruit and confections. We offer complimentary 'tuk-tuk' shuttle to the night bazaar and railroad station and van service to the airport. Shewe Wana Boutique wing A cozy boutique resort with two room types; Superior Double room and Superior Twin room have Thai-style wood furniture and windows that open to a view of the lovely garden and pool-side setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shewe Wana Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing