We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River walk in Chiangmai”
Review of Mae Ping River

Mae Ping River
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.18*
and up
1 Day Bike and River Kayak Adventure from Chiang Mai
Ranked #85 of 249 things to do in Chiang Mai
Attraction details
Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“River walk in Chiangmai”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Nice walk alongside river, with quaint shops to visit and charming coffee houses. Can stop and check your messages with free wi fi. The Old City Wall is a lovely place to linger for awhile

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    44
    29
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
S'pore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Beauty of Ping River attracts the floating clouds”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The beauty of Ping river certainly is not because the old iron bridge which has become an iconic symbol added to the burden of this small and quiet river. I would rather say it is the reflection of the floating clouds which were awesomely beyond our descriptions and they simply do not place any weight on the Ping river.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Qingzhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mae Ping River Cruise to Farmer's House”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

20 mon down the fairly brown Ping River to a small jetty with a "farm" attached. Farm - 5 geese and 2 fat wild pigs and a few plants and herbs. Fresh fruit served. Watermelon and pineapple - not exactly from the farm but nice. Guide alleged it was the snake pit as filmed in Rambo 4......

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenPUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cool down on a hot day”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

(http://www.maepingrivercruise.com/)
When we finally found it behind the Wat Chaimongkol, we booked a long boat river cruise in the afternoon. It was a very pleasant cruise and a great way to see the city from the waterside. The guide/skipper on the steering had entertaining stories to tell and was also explaining the sights as we went. The stop at the Thai Farmer’s House proved to be more interesting than we expected. It was a fun and easy-going activity. Take your photo camera with you!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Most Boring Thing To Do In Chiang Mai”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

On our last afternoon in Chiang Mai we finished early with everything that we sought out to do in the city. We were looking for something to pass a few hours so we went on one of the river cruises. BORING. Snooze-fest. I'm not sure which operator we used, but I don't think it matters since everyone else on the other boats didn't seem to be having a thrilling time either. A long hour up the river and a long hour back down the river with a sketchy stop at some "farmer's garden". My fiance was convinced that the "farmer's garden" was the setting for the next "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" and we were to be the stars. I'm not going to lie...it was a creepy place that gave you some under ripened fruit & water (beer was for purchase), it was dark and there was an assortment of caged farm animals. I guess this place probably used to be nicer but there was apparently a major flood a year or two ago and...well, this is the best they could do. The river it self is boring and not pretty- muddy water, trash floating around and absolutely nothing of interest to see. All the tour guide could point out was "there is a hotel, that is a restaurant, that's another hotel, blah blah blah"...nothing of value or interest. Skip the river tours....I wish we did.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mae Ping River also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Mae Ping River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing