We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every time I'm visiting Chiang Mai, I stay at Hollanda Montri Guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hollanda Montri Guesthouse
Ranked #108 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Pai, Mae Hong Son
1 review
“Every time I'm visiting Chiang Mai, I stay at Hollanda Montri Guesthouse”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Since 2000 I am visiting Chiang Mai quite regularly. The last decade I always opt for Hollanda Montri because of the good atmosphere, always good company, nice view over the Ping river, quiet, good service and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pai-advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    71
    31
    9
    6
See reviews for
14
75
22
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed here for a few days. The place in right next to the river which makes it nice to sit outside for quiet beer in the evening. Food is good and value for money. I had an air-con room with cable TV which was clean and comfortable. Only drawback is that it's a little out of town but a tuk-tuk is cheap to get into the centre or a 15-20 min walk & they also provide free bikes. If you are looking for a quieter location than in the centre then this a good place to stay. Also have live music once every so often with a good band. Staff are more than willing to provide assistance and are very friendly.
I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tec_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort St. John, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights and enjoyed our stay. Good value for money! It's a but out of town but we took the tuk tuk and rented a motorbike (250 bah per day) cheap!!! It was nice having the option to eat at the guest house. We ate breakfast everyday here then ventured out for dinner.

It was nice to relax in peace with the river view and our room had air conditioning.

We had difficulty understanding the staff and getting touring information. The owner was awesome but wasn't here very much. But it was easy to take the tuk tuk into town to figure out flights, rentals, touring ect.

It was also much cooler, cleaner and quiter than in town!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it! The Place is a bit away from The centre but you can rent a motor or get a bicycle for free (you only need to pay a deposit 500 Baht).

We had a fan room for 450 Baht a night. We had a double soft big bed! A desk, chair, tv, fan. A bathroom with hot shower, Western toilet, sink and mirror. An extra room with a closet and free space for what ever you need!

At The reception you could eat and sit and look at The River view.

And if you like dutch snacks you can go here!

A really Nice Place to stay and The Guy at The reception is really helpfull!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patriesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This guesthouse is a little bit out of the very centre of town, but it takes only about half an hour to walk into the very center (of course you can also grab a TukTuk or Song Tao). In return it costs roughly HALF of what the cheaper guesthouses in or nearer the town center cost. The guesthouse is clean and friendly. You can hear the nearby road on the bridge a little, but it's not too bad. Another great asset of the place is its location on the river and its riverside restaurant, very much atmosphere in the evenings, with candlelights and everything.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms more to the riverside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thuna72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Nice basic spacious clean rooms. Very nice staff that was very helpfull.
Affordable menu with food, snacks and drinks. We enjoyed the garden at night when we came back from town. Our gin tonic was waiting for us, with a friendly talk with one of the hosts.
the hotel is not in the center but it's only a 20 min walk.

They offer a few trips but they are rather expencive and standard.
We booked a driver for one day and chose or own destinations. Not the standard elephant park and snake show...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schelleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and big. Little expensive for Chiang Mai, especially given its slightly middle of nowhere, have to taxi to anywhere in the city. However the tour options are affordable and the staff are unusually friendly and the breakfast menu is very yummy! If I wanted a quiet stay I would go back but if I was on a budget and wanted something in a fun location I wouldn't.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenzybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.0 mi away
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
#162 of 747 in Chiang Mai
224 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#56 of 747 in Chiang Mai
137 reviews
1.6 mi away
Banilah
Banilah
#35 of 747 in Chiang Mai
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dozy House
Dozy House
#49 of 747 in Chiang Mai
188 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tri Gong Residence
Tri Gong Residence
#117 of 747 in Chiang Mai
244 reviews
1.1 mi away
Finlay's Cottage
Finlay's Cottage
#115 of 846 in Chiang Mai
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollanda Montri Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollanda Montri Guesthouse

Property: Hollanda Montri Guesthouse
Address: 365 Charoenrat Rd., Faham,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollanda Montri Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family style guesthouse along the river , with spectacular views and a relax setting . Great food western and Thai style room price starting from 500 bht . AL major tourist destinations are here we also provide a huge range of tours and trekking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hollanda Montri Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing