We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel with unfortunately quite big problem”
Review of BanThai Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BanThai Village
Ranked #42 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely hotel with unfortunately quite big problem”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I stay here on mid August 2011 for 3 nights. I actually love this hotel. Though we didn't get room around d pool area, d room we got is still lovely. I love good smell towel. I really love d room design, so lovely and comfortable. d bed is big. d bathtub is big. there is toilet shower (quite important for me). their price for many type of tours are reasonable too (though I heard from other person they get slightly cheaper price from outside hotel). breakfast is average, only limited choices. the pool looks lovely though I didn't try it. another good thing is d location. It is only about 5-10 mins to get to tha phae gate, d gate to old city, many nearby restaurants too. It costs 60 baht to go to good view restaurant (beside ping river) and about 10 mins walk from night market to hotel.
so anything was actually perfect, until I need to get shower. then I find it sooo difficult to set. d only choices are too hot or too cold plus around 3 seconds of normal warm water. So it takes about half an hour for me to finish my shower, cos I only get d warm water every 3 seconds after changing from hot to cold / cold to hot. This is actually worst shower I've ever get. It is clean, but so frustrating to set. A message for the hotel, if you really care about d environment, you wont only ask us to not change d towel everyday but also to fix this problem. Because, I waste so much water for half an hour because this problem, I usually finish my shower only about 15 mins without shampooing. I will love to stay here again if they really care about this problem.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cemmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    296
    84
    14
    11
See reviews for
169
289
39
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
1,235 reviews
302 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,254 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Loved this little hotel! The location is excellent for the night Market- literally just a few minutes walk away. The staff were so helpful and friendly. Breakfast was lovely. The hotel itself is beautiful and it's small which is nice. The rooms were great and they had everything you would want, including free wifi. There's a nice little pool- I didn't get time to use it but it looked lovely and spotless ! I would highly recommend banthai village hotel, it was perfect!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

After trawling through hundreds of reviews of numerous hotels, we settled on this one, and boy did we find a little gem. Arriving at night, the approach to the hotel was not the most auspicious, and we were a bit worried, but when we stepped inside, wow! Built in the style of a Lanna rice village, this boutique hotel is full of character and built around a small (immaculately clean) pool and open air bar/dining area with plenty of greenery and trees. Lit by lots of lamps at night, the effect is positively magical. The rooms are fairly basic with teak or polished concrete floors but spotlessly clean. An oasis of calm, ideally located, halfway between the old city and the night bazaar, it is within walking distance of both. We stayed with our family of 3 kids - 11,13 and 16 years oldfor 6 days in adjoining rooms - no interconnecting ones avail. The pool was literally outside our bedroom doors, which they loved. Service was discreet and unassuming. No pressure to get in to clean the rooms - they saw when you were heading out and then appeared. Lots of patience with kids who locked themselves out of room or forgot code for safe . . . . Brekfast was freshly cooked to order. Reasonably priced menu for lunch/dinner if you dont feel like going any further, with enough selection to satisfy western and asian tastes. Though lots of restaurants nearby. We adored the place. Will definitely return. Highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skycomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

What a beautiful hotel, great rooms, concrete floors and timber furniture, really clean, great staff and good breakies. Inground pool and bar. Walking distance to night markets.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murials
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Excellent small boutique hotel, very quite and green. The pool was very relaxing and clean. The food was excellent and quite cheap. We were a big group and had 4 rooms and none of us had any problems. The breakfast was very healthy and hearty.

The hotel is very close to the city centre , night market and to the river-side restaurants. They even have cycles and you can explore the city on your own.

Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Ask for free upgrade to their junior suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Atul102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Nice hotel, nice quiet location in chang mai. Rooms spacious and clean. I got a much cheaper deal through internet than we were offered by the hotel directly so do shop around. The service at the pool bar for food and drinks was not great but the Tom Yum soup was fab. Pool is in the shade for much of the day which is nice and makes it cool and usable despite very high temperatures. We handed in laundry thinking it would be usual thai prices but it was very high. Cost over 20GBP for a few t-shirts - very expensive and much cheaper in other places.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellingnickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed at BanThai Village for 5 nights and everything was perfect.
This hotel is a few hundred meters out of the old city, which can easily be reached by foot or by tuktuk (50 baht is a good price!). The hotel is very quiet and you can rest in or next to the pool during warm hours.
Rooms are well equiped and confortable. We had two rooms, who communicated via the balcony, which was ideal for our family.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhileosFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#45 of 383 in Chiang Mai
484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 383 in Chiang Mai
963 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 383 in Chiang Mai
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,829 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#41 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BanThai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BanThai Village

Property: BanThai Village
Address: 19 Tapae Soi 3, Tapae Rd. | Changklan, Mueang, Chiang Mai 50130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#32 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BanThai Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banthai Village is the mini size hotel that tries to keep balance between the tradition and modernity among the changes of the world. This modern-Lanna decorated hotel, consisting of 23 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BanThai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Village Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing