We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Lanna-Style Boutique Hotel”
Review of BanThai Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BanThai Village
Ranked #37 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lanna-Style Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. We were given a deluxe room on the ground floor directly in front of the pool which was very nice. The interior feel of the room is tastefully woody reflecting the Lanna-style design. The bed however could have been better as we could feel the springs inside. Breakfast was simple yet sufficient.

The hotel is a short walk to the Night Bazaar and Old City (within the square moat). The hotel has 2 bicycles for guests to use free of charge and we rode around the area during the cool night which was quite fun. The hotel staff was very friendly, attentive and always ready to help. A security guard was also present at night so we felt safe. The overall experience was a good one and we would recommend this hotel for all types of travellers.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tylermus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    295
    79
    14
    11
See reviews for
167
285
39
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights late November. Our hotel room was next to the pool area to the left side and had easy access to the floor area, via the 'lazy' walkway down the stairs (two ways into hotel room). Our room was excellent, the bathroom was amazing with big granite bath, generous shower and spotless minimalist lanna design. Very chic and with the little touches such as the lovely handicrafts and etc. We left luggage open due to our shopping adventures and no troubles with safety, privacy or any missing items. We even chatted with the cleaners and feel confident they act with respect for their resident's goods. A great thing is that every evening around 6pm they have a talented young musician come to play the lanna/thai instruments, in the hut right in the middle where the bar area is. So peaceful with the lovely lush gardens and architecture.

Would like to complement Pooh at the reception whom does the morning to afternoon shift, whom gave us lovely service and treated us like family. The reception know everything, and if they require further information they woul call up places for you.

At night (after 10pm) the hotel is serviced by a night receptionist and also has a very freindly security guard, whom both service the late night patrons. Very safe and peaceful.

The location is excellent, but as a point of constructive feedback it may be wise to provide guests with like small location slips/hotel location map to be able to easily find our way back, as there are several ways to the hotel via soi's and etc.

We loved this hotel as it was right in between the walled old chiang mai and sunday walking market to the east and then the night market to the west, which are both within 10 minutes walk. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Chiang mai, due to the location, customer service and amenties. A+

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms on the left side (looking from the reception). This had easy access and also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anth0888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2011

By the far the best place we stayed during our three week honeymoon spanning Thailand and Hong Kong. The nicest staff, gorgeous rooms, great bed, huge bathroom, free web access and computer usage in the reception. Good location, great little pool as well, with a cracking little bar and bistro beside it. If we ever go back to Chiang Mai we will stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Surprised to see the hotel staff of BanThai Village appeared at my door singing a happy birthday song with a cake! That's so cool and thanks for the wonderful service!

Let's get back to do a short review of this hotel.

The hotel is located somewhere near the weekend and night market. It's hidden somewhere out from the noisy room. If you are a hermit and want a quite place, this would be your best choice.

Apart that, the staffs are attentive to all your needs. If you have never been to Chiang Mai and you are lost, the front office are always ready to serve you.

The is a Lanna Style Hotel, either you like it or don't. It has a wonderful small pool with a small poolside bar for you to lazy around on a hot summer afternoon. What can be improved would be the condition of the room and bath room. If you need high speed WIFI, it's available in the hotel lobby. Else you can use the 2 desktops in the lobby.

Unless its damn safe in Chiang Mai, else the hotel might have to beef up slightly on the security.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2011

For my first time in Chiangmai, I was stunningly impressed by this authentic Chiangmai-style hotel that could never get the same experience from elsewhere. Hotel's location just simply perfect. It requires only 10 minute-walk to the city-central attraction which makes the hotel more unique and even convenient. Staff immediately kindly and friendly responded to guest's trouble. Its service, and environment are all suitable for short and long stay. I felt like staying at home with a very warm welcome from local people.

Room Tip: Better choose the room nearby swimming pool ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xiao Mei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I and my wife have been flying from Singapore to Chiang Mai and were picked up by Taxi which is provided from the Hotel Banthai Village, It took only 15 minutes to reach the hotel. The taxi cost 250 Baht which is acceptable.
We got welcome drink during our check in at reception desk and got so nice room with decoration of hundreds of red roses (we are on our honeymoon trip) as complimentary from Hotel.
Atmosphere in the hotel is good. The staffs are very friendly and ready for help. There are small swimming pool, internet wi-fi for free of charge, good food with good price, laundry service. And the hotel is situated in the heart of Chiang Mai City which i could reach night bazaar within only 10 min walking. We had borrowed the bicycle from the hotel and made our tour to the old city by ourselves, We have been visiting the famous temples for half day.
It was our great time in Chiang Mai. We will surly come back to Chiang Mai remain to stay at Banthai Village again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in September 2011. My vacation was ruined on the last night - when we woke up in the morning our door to the ( what they called private balcony) was broken and very expensive stuff was stolen , but what is crazy that camera and hard drive with all the pictures from many trips will never be returned . The manager of the hotel , who refured to give her name as they tried to cover there stuff the most unpleasant and horrible person I have ever met in my life. She took us to a local police where we spend hours and we missed our flight to Bangkok . We lost so much money between stollen camera, blackberry phone, ipod etc ,tickets ...None of the compensation was offered ,not even an apology , plus they accused us and questioned like we were not saing truth and making this story up, I almost had a nervous break down. We did offer money saing if only they can return our memories ( at least hard drive and memory card from very expensive camera )-no question asked , But no result . They didnt even asked our address or anything in case it will be found . They refused to show us security camera as well, Its absolytely crazy people with no heart or soul . Will also mention that breakfast is horrible , place has weard setting , so u feel uncomfortable all the time,we chose the place because it had a pool ,but we never used it.Lonely planet put this hotel as a Top Pick in midrange price.ITS NOT A GOOD CHOICE. EVEN IF WE DIDNT HAD THIS AWFUL EXPERIENCE - PLACE IS ONLY OK, and overprised for what it is . it has no warm feeling or good energy.. - There are planty similar hotels in Ching Mai , but please avoid this one as its a horrible people who runs it and why to support them ??? I hope they read this - and hope they will get punished for what they done . They were laughing when we asked to tell their names and took there name tags off- people who has nothing to hide -dont do this. My impression of entire Thailand was ruined by couple people in this little hotel ,wich i never stayed there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank samadhiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#44 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
0.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BanThai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BanThai Village

Property: BanThai Village
Address: 19 Tapae Soi 3, Tapae Rd. | Changklan, Mueang, Chiang Mai 50130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#32 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BanThai Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banthai Village is the mini size hotel that tries to keep balance between the tradition and modernity among the changes of the world. This modern-Lanna decorated hotel, consisting of 23 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BanThai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Village Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing