We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BanThai Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BanThai Village
Ranked #36 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed here with a group of 4 people for 4 nights. From the moment we arrived, we really loved the place. The rooms were very clean and spacious and we loved having the pool right on our door-step. In terms of location, it's about 10 minutes away from restaurants and bars but we didn't find that to be a problem. For anyone looking for a busy resort, this is not the place as there were predominantly family groups staying during our time there. But the service was excellent as well and Baan Thai was overall one of our favourite stops on our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah-Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    288
    76
    13
    11
See reviews for
164
274
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

If you like the crowding swimmimg pool and the crowding breakfast! if you are willing to sleep under an GSM antenna welcome to BanthaiVillage. If your back is in good shape you will have pleasure to sleep under wood beds ! For honeymooners forget intimity ! it is a french repair ...ok the localisation is good ! and dont be afraid of candidosia in the swimmimgpool it is so dirty ...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Collomb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel is in a great central location, close to lots of restaurants and within walking distance to both the Night Market and the Sunday Walking Market. Yet it is nice and quiet. The pool and the rooms are clean. The staff are very friendly and happy to help. A good tip is to arrange tours and transport yourself, because organising any tours through the hotel is more expensive, but that is standard for any hotel anyway. We would definately stay here again if we came back to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Hotel was decent...you get what u pay for. Overall clean hotel. Staff were busy but poliet when u get to them however had difficulty understanding english. Tour desk as always was overcharging...best to goto a tour company outside the hotel to pay half or less of wgat they quote.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MirageP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

If I could describe my overall experience at this hotel in two words: decidedly average. Concrete bunkers of rooms, service that does not aim to please and a mediocre breakfast. That being said, the blue and white themed decor and open spaces of the hotel displayed refined charm.

Rooms: The annex across the street is nicely decorated with white and blue modern furnishings and square sink-in tubs, but rooms face out towards the deck where smokers congregate. We asked to be moved to a room that did not face smokers. The front desk staff initially resisted but then showed us to a mainly concrete structure on the second floor of one of their old buildings with old shower fixtures and a creaky bed. Luckily one did not need the room key to keep on the air conditioning so when we returned from our meals the room stayed cool. The private balcony was also nice.

Below Average Service: Aside from not wanting to move us to a non-smoking section of the hotel, the staff at breakfast insisted that I did not have breakfast included in my rate. Instead of the waitress heading to the front desk to settle the matter, I had to leave my table and walk to the front desk.

Decor: As I mentioned, the decor and grounds are lovely, with blue and white pillows and furnishings on the tropical hardwood furniture and open lobbies and breakfast areas. But I will definitely stay someplace else on my next visit to Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new annex or above the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diplogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

2 families travelling together (kids afed3-6) we had a list of requirements
Pool, interconnecting or family rooms, families next to each other, ability to sit outside the room at night while kids slept, easy walking distance to restaurants and attractions, clean and under $115 pn
Ban Thai village ticked all the boxes.

They accommodated our requests
We chose a standard room with extra bed which suited our family of 4
Other family of 5 got interconnecting room.
Family rooms were already booked, but by let us look at them for future reference .

Outside the rooms were verandas with seating which was perfect at night when kids slept the adults could chat and have a few drinks
Very friendly staff and accommodating, even happily emptied the mini bar so we could fill with food and drink for the kids.

Location we felt perfect, down ally off busy street to a quiet oasis, a few restaurants right next door and laundry lady, massages, pedicures. Then easy walking distance to night markets, the gate, wororot markets, the riverside, Sunday walking street and many restaurants, didn't have to use tuktuks much. Really in he middle of everything but so quiet.

We re already plotting to return next year loved Chiang Mai and loved Ban Thai Village

Room Tip: There are 2 sections to hotel one with reception and large pool , other across lane with small pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuznKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We booked "family room" via booking.com for 3nights. Also stayed 1night in "junior suite". The family room is superior - having more style. A luxurious atmosphere. Loved it :)
Traditional live music by pool side was a lovely touch for a late afternoon dip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoToIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#41 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
0.1 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#37 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BanThai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BanThai Village

Property: BanThai Village
Address: 19 Tapae Soi 3, Tapae Rd. | Changklan, Mueang, Chiang Mai 50130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#32 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BanThai Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banthai Village is the mini size hotel that tries to keep balance between the tradition and modernity among the changes of the world. This modern-Lanna decorated hotel, consisting of 23 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BanThai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Village Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing