We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing paradise”
Review of BanThai Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BanThai Village
Ranked #42 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing paradise”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We loved the hotel, we thought it was an oasis in the middle of a bustling city. The location was perfect; walking distance to many shops and restaurants and minutes away from the night market.The hotel itself is very beautiful, it has a great design with a nice atmosphere and Thai music to help you relax. Hotel staff is helpful and friendly.We would certainly stay there again!


Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejam22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your review here in Tripadvisor! I was so happy to ready that you had such a good experience with us. The staff will be delighted to read your comments, I noted your comment regarding the design ,the music at the pool ,the location etc. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I hope it will not be long before we can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    300
    86
    14
    11
See reviews for
172
292
39
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tenterfield, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and found it to be a beaut place right in the middle of wherever we wanted to go. Walked down a little alley way to be on one of the main roads with numerous tuk tuks going past wanting to know if we wanted to go somewhere!! Staff were extremely friendly nothing was a bother even going above and beyond in their service to us.though we were wary of any sort of foods we ate in their resturant every night as we found their food to be simple,tasty, and fresh. They also provide entertainment at dinner time. As they advertise their hotel as a Boutique hotel, this is what drew me to booking it (as well as a friend saying how good it was!!) Not like the major hotel chains being clinical, i found Banthai Village to be clean culturally quaint with authentic fixtures, but most importantly safe!!!( not that we felt unsafe any time in the city of Chiang Mai. I thoroughly reccommend this place to any seasoned or first time traveler.

Room Tip: Book a 1st floor room so you can sit out on the balcony and read/relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mummab69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for sharing such a positive review of our Banthai Village and especially the Staff ,the food at the restaurant and etc. and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My room was on the top floor, overlooking the pool. It was an interesting room in that is was two floors! I had a private balcony on the top floor, and the bed and bathroom, icebox, were on the top as well. On the main floor was the bathroom with shower, wardrobe, and a slightly smaller patio space. The room was great, atmosphere of the entire place was peaceful and had real local charm. The attractions desk was very helpful and managed to get me on many tours despite my last minute requests. They had nightly live music that was very nice, and a great pool, though small. The location is AMAZING! Walking distance (less than 5 mins) to anywhere, and with the Loy Krathong Festival, this hotel was in the middle of the two best locations for lanterns and parades; yet at night you couldn't hear any of the crowds or noise. The service was average, and extra charges here and there which would typically be complimentary. I didnt have the food, as there are many local restaurants so close. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a great view of the courtyard, and the dual floor idea was very neat. I was furthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwiebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay here at Banthai Village Chiang Mai. I was delighted to read you had such a positive experience such as the design of the room the location and atmosphere. We look forward to seeing you back here in Chiang Mai, hopefully sooner than in 10 years time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights.
The hotel is well located near the Thapae Gate and night markets.The service was also good.
the bathroom was a bit strange, with a big hole in the ground Shub and weak tap i and a strange shower curtain that formulated the bathroom blinds.
Breakfast we average.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your review here in Tripadvisor! I was so happy to ready that you had such a good location. I noted your comment regarding the weak tap in the bathroom. the bathroom was deign by the owner and the bath tub like a Japanese mix old Lanna styles ,the weak tap due to the period that you had stayed with us our room was very dense and normally this building no any problem with the weak tap since open last year anyway I am very sorry for this inconvenience and I will report this comment to our technician to recheck and fix it. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I hope it will not be long before we can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

The banthai village is well located to walk into the city or to the night bazaar. The service is very average. Some good days other bad. They did not cook my wife's breakfast correctly, acted like calling a taxi for us was a major inconvenience etc.... The best part was afternoon music that was very nice between day of site seeing and night of bazaar hanging.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay here Banthai Village Chiang Mai. I have taken note of your comment regarding They did not cook your wife's breakfast correctly, acted like calling a taxi for you was a major inconvenience etc. I will take time to review this selection with our Director of Restaurants and Bars and Front Office Supervisor to improve our quality and service and sorry again for this matter.
we hope you'll choose BanThai Village the next time you're in Chiang Mai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Perfect location! Only 120 baht to the airport (one-way). Halfway between old town and the night market (only a few blocks each way). Very friendly staff. Delicious Thai dinner menu (15% off from 5-7p). Relaxing quiet areas throughout the premises. The rooms were decent, a crack in the door lock allowed in some flies...and the showers weren't the nicest (a cement poured hole...), but they were quaint... I would have loved a workout room, but I guess that's not a big deal. Free wifi in rooms and lobby too.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MichiB224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay here at Banthai VillageChiang Mai. I was delighted to read you had such a positive experience . I have taken note of your comment regarding Very friendly staff. Delicious Thai dinner menu (15% off from 5-7pm). Relaxing quiet areas throughout the premises and for the room that you had comment I will recheck with Housekeeping Supervisor and the technician to fix it immediately we're grateful if you can specific which room number that you recent stay .We look forward to seeing you back here in Chiang Mai and thank you again for your stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerfield, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We would definitely stay here again, especially liked the location. The next time we will get the deluxe room instead of the superior room. The superior room was not as nice, especially the bathroom. The floors in the deluxe room are very slippery though. The room is much better and is located in the main area as well. Bring mosquito spray with deet when you visit. The pool was on the cool side and small but was nice after a day of touring. Walk down the road and book your tours or do it online. The cost is cheaper than booking through the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma_and_Vince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your review here in Tripadvisor! I was so happy to ready that you had such a good experience with us. The staff will be delighted to read your comments, I noted your comment regarding to the mosquito we would like to inform you ,we always pest control every 15 days but we are situated in the open area some time pest control not cover around our properties. and with regards to our Deluxe rooms and superior ,our deluxe rooms situated in the main building and pool view the rooms bigger than superior rooms for next time we hopefully you will reserve our Deluxe rooms for you next visit in Chiangmai Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I hope it will not be long before we can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 386 in Chiang Mai
976 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#41 of 386 in Chiang Mai
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#33 of 386 in Chiang Mai
961 reviews
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#52 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BanThai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BanThai Village

Property: BanThai Village
Address: 19 Tapae Soi 3, Tapae Rd. | Changklan, Mueang, Chiang Mai 50130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#32 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BanThai Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banthai Village is the mini size hotel that tries to keep balance between the tradition and modernity among the changes of the world. This modern-Lanna decorated hotel, consisting of 23 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your BanThai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Village Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing