We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful grounds with fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #19 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds with fantastic service”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The rooms are very nice and large, TV screen is quite small with tv speakers in the bathroom. Nice bathroom with large window to bedroom. Swimming pool is massive and stunning. With cold towel's, fruit and water jug brought over as soon as entered the pool area. The hotel lobby and stairways are beautiful and spotless. House keeping service kept our room spotless throughout our stay. Although it is a large hotel, there was always an army of staff in the lobby who greeted us with a bow when we went past and super helpful when ever we needed something. Great location yet so peaceful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,274
    494
    129
    30
    23
See reviews for
472
769
123
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We returned to the Chiang Mai Shangri-La in March. As this was a business trip I wanted safe and true and the Shangri-La delivers. Very central location for a nice walk to the Night Market, Saturday & Sunday walking street markets. The hotel is really built for conventions as it is huge and a bit impersonal. I recommend booking to Club Level. Great staff at all hours and very comfortable. Their pool is gigantic and the spa is on of the best in CM. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The attention to detail is the defining issue for me. Everything about the room and service was faultless. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. I needed to use the business centre to briefly and they opend it up and because I was only a few minutes did not charge the minimum fee. The pool was a wonderful relaxing place after a hot day of sightseeing. The food in the main restaurant was good but not cheap however the variety and quality made it worthwhile. The Seafood Buffet was particularly good. The only slight downside was that at times there were tour groups some members of which seemed to have rather sharp elbows.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phlogiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
316 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This is 5 star hotel so our expectation was accordingly high. We were not disappointed. Everything is OK even free wi-fi works well. The location of the hotel is terrific, can walk to the night bazaar and around city center. Pool and Spa very beautiful and with good service. Recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel only two nights without dining. Staffs were well-trained and friendly. Clean and neat room with more than sufficient spaces. Swimming pool was perfectly maintained with crystal clear water. The best swimming pool in the hotel I ever experienced. My wife was so happy with well-organized bathroom and lovely amenity goods. She was so happy for this time of stay and wishes to come back soon. We wish to have our meals at this hotel on next occasion.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FCQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2012

A very expensive and disappointing buffet lunch at Shangri-La. The food was very ordinary and tepid with far better available from Chiang Mai's mirade of roadside cafes. The cost for 2, including 2 beers and a coffee (which we believed was part of the deal - wrong) was 1063 baht. The basic price sounds alright but it is the add ons that get you - tax, service charge and a drink list that would put you off drinking alcohol forever. If you must eat there save yourself for the deserts, they were the one saving grace.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This hotel was amazing. Beautiful rooms, fantastic services, excellent staff, wonderful pool, close to everything. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. It was one of the best places I stayed in Thailand. Nothing else could compete.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,914 reviews
2.4 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing