We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #21 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in September and enjoyed every minute! The location was good, very close to the night market. The breakfasts are awesome - every style of cooking you could imagine! The fresh fruit platters are beautiful, and everything is so perfectly presented. Our rooms were excellent - spacious, well-maintained and with lovely views out over the grounds. Tea and coffee was provided which was very welcome first thing in the morning! Pool was lovely - delightful staff who scurry over with iced water and fresh fruit as soon as you sit down! Our only criticism would be that the Concierge staff were maybe not as knowledgeable or as helpful as they could have been, but if that is all there is to find fault with ......

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliefromsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,359 - 1,365 of 2,073 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

Facilities are great as a 5-star hotel should be, but several facilities are above and beyond that standard, such as spacious room and bathroom. There are little things that will surprise you.

I was staying in the hotel as a participant of FutureGov Summit which was also being held there.

All throughout my stay, the services were wonderful. The staffs are friendly and helpful. They also speaks English quite well.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank 13thirtyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I had a business trip to Chiang mai and the organization I was gonna work with advised us Shangri La. It was really an extremely comfortable hotel. I had stayed there for 6 nights on October, 2012. Staff was very helpful and polite. The lounge on the 11th. floor was very quite and had the Horizon Club advantages. If I come back to this city again, I would like to stay at the same hotel. Nice yoga teacher, as well as a very nice SPA (Chi Spa). If you visit Chiang mai, don't miss this opportunity.
Özlem

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozlem066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Whilst our stay at the Shangri La Chang Mai was definitely enhanced by the fact that we stayed on a Club floor and had access to the Horizon lounge I would not be disappointed to have stayed in a regular room.

All guests are treated with genuine hospitality and the staff are graciously hospitable at all times. The advantages of staying in a club floor room are many and far outweigh the additional cost. Our experience has shown that after a heavy day of sightseeing and a large lunch there is nothing better than returning to a beautifully appointed room, showering and enjoying the cocktail hour and beautiful food in the Club. The quantity of food is abundant and varied and quality exemplary so much so that it sufficed as a meal for the evening.
We would return in a heartbeat. In fact we stayed in the same chain hotel in Bangkok and were equally as pleased.

Room Tip: Club floor rooms will enhance your stay!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vivted56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Shangri-La Chiang Mai is set on quite a large piece of land beautifully landscaped with a very large pool. As expected from a hotel of this category. This is my first stay. . I must admit, interior design and aesthetics, are not a strong point of the Shangri-La group, the food is good ,the room is okay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Great place to stay! No people, no problems, no stress! We loved our stay in the hotel. Low season is fantastic! The pool was very relaxing (no people), the gym was enough for holiday use (no people), the bar was huge and relaxing (no people). The morning buffet was excellent; couldn't ask for much more. The room we had (Horizon floors) was excellent! Internet speed was a bit slow. The hotel is located a couple/few blocks from the "night market" which makes it easy to get to. Lots of restaurants in the area. Some of the staff have trouble with English, but try to help. We would stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed at quite a number of Shangri-La hotels in Asia, but for me this is one of the very best. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, roomy and very well maintained. We had a club-room with use of the Horizon lounge which we can recommend. The price differential between the standard rooms and the club level is easily bridged by the more then excellent breakfast and the happy hour drinks. But the best part of this lounge is the staff. This team is fully dedicated at making the guest happy. They seem to think about your wishes before you even think of them. And they are very knowledgeable about the area, tours shops and every other thing you might need help on. And not unimportant in the area, their English is very good. Our room was quite big, very clean and there was not an item that needed repair or adjustment. There are some famous hotel brands in the area but if you like to be able to walk around the neighborhood and city centre the location of this hotel cannot be beaten as the night bazaar (see my separate review) is around the corner. And price/value this hotel wins hands down. So if you are heading to Chiang Mai and like to be spoiled this hotel should be on your shortlist

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,475 reviews
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £121 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing