We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Nearby Hotels
US$898
US$853
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$149
US$141
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$60
US$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$80
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$87
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$42
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,155)
Filter reviews
2,155 results
Traveller rating
1,404
546
142
35
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,404
546
142
35
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorizon clubkad cafechi spanight marketpremier roompool staffpool areathe executive loungeclub roomconcierge servicemain restaurantbeautiful hotelour honeymoonold citybuffet breakfasttuk tukrooms are large
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,201 - 1,206 of 2,155 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

What a treat to stay here. After being welcomed with a cool refresher towel and lemongrass juice we headed to our very spacious and well appointed room. Wifi was free and excellent. No drop outs or logins required and worked even by the pool. The hotel staff were exceptional. The hotel was a short walk to the night bizarre which was helpful to pick up something to eat for next to nothing. Overall, a great place to stay. I felt really spoilt.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Caroline W

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that your were "spoilt" durng your recent stay with us and we appreciate the candid and inspirational feedbacks.

We are delighted to learn that your arrival experiences with the lemongrass drink and cold towels was a refreshing one.

We would like to also thank you for your comments on our room, pool facilities, free wifi and most of all the service standards that the team have shown during your stay.

It is only by receiving motivational and inspirational feedbacks from guests like your kindself that we are made aware of our achievements in our relentless pursuit of service excellence.

Thank You once again and we look forward in welcoming you back again in the near future at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel was very grand and relaxing. I felt very peaceful there. The location is not that quiet though as it is smack in the middle of the city. We hired a car to sightsee and the hotel said that they knew the driver. The driver was very nice and told us about the attractions while driving. The concierge people were very knowledgeable about the city and gave us lots of information about the good attractions and water activities in Chiang Mai. The rooms were very clean and there were alot of facilities in the hotel. The swimming pool is great and the jacuzzi was amazing. The spa(CHI) was very expensive though.
All in all, I had a great stay at the Shangri-La and I hope to come back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garg12211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Garg12211

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.
We are glad to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us particularly your kind words on the services of our concierge team, the hotel facilities and the cleanliness of our rooms.

We took note on your comment on the prices of our Spa and we would like to reasure you that our prices are competitive based on the products, services and the whole ambient of our facilities, nevertheless, we will discuss this in our meetings with our team to review and analyse our positioning in terms of prices.

Thank you so much once again and we look forward in welcoming you back to The Sangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was a great value. It is also a great location. The food and service are awesome but the internet was really bad comparatively. If they figure-out their internet woes, it would be a sure bet for my return. Their restaurant and spa are top shelf. If you don't hit the spa, you'll be sorry. It was so good great we hit it twice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Joseph G


Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

It is inspiring to read that you had a wonderful time during your stay and thank you for your kind words on the services of our team, our culinary offerings and the experiences at our Chi Spa.

We take note on the internet speed that you have mentioned and will put this in one of our top priorities for actions.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chaing Mai.

Sincerely
Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The feeling of calm and relaxing occurred since the very first minute of checking in. Although it situated in the middle of the city, inside the hotel it is so quiet. The room is neat, clean and beautiful. Wifi is free, hi-speed and available in everywhere. All the hotel staff has "more-than-I-expected"service mind. There are various of facilities for spending time inside, including the kid's corner and health club for adult. I have a good time with free-yoga class here. The breakfast is great. I have a son with food allergy and he has no problem with the hotel's food at all. In fact, without knowing of this special condition, they prepared "gluten free" bread for anyone in everyday. In summary, this hotel is perfect for a family trip in Chiangmai. Next time for Chiangmai trip, I'll stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pojjaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Pojjaman

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for your kind words on the facilities of the hotel, services and particularly the effort of the culinary team in providing the gluten free dietary requirements.

We will definitely share this with the team to celebrate.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This chain of hotels does it right. Very comfortable rooms, excellent and friendly service and nice theme evening meals. Although a little outside the old city, very easy to get there by taxi or tuk tuk. Concierge desk was brilliant in organizing tours etc.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ric_Snowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Ric_Snowden

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us particularly the comfort of our rooms, services rendered by our team and the culinary experiences.

We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews