We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #20 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We are a family of 5 with 9',15,,17 year olds. We stayed for one week to do as many trips as we could fit in . The hotel was perfect. It was very safe, comfortable and friendly with plenty of things to do and a great pool as so many have commented but chilly. Table tennis and giant chess were fun, we used the tennis courts which were ok but would have liked free balls. Fitness center and gym were really good too. The restaurant was great and the kids loved it. It is not that expensive against some of the outside restaurants but of course you can eat cheaply in cm. but can you eat safely? The buffet selection was really good and we all looked forward to it. You must have high tea. That was great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Antony S

Thank you so much for writting a review on your recent stay with us. We are glad that you and your family have had a wonderful stay with us and had enjoyed the hotel facilities and activities that were offered in particular our pool.

We are also inspired to learn that you and your families enjoyed the culinary offerings too while you are with us.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you once again to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Azmi Kamsari

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,276
    495
    129
    30
    23
See reviews for
473
771
123
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed at Shangri-La in Chiang Mai for 6 nights with hubby and our 6 year old son at the club lounge level.

The room is spacious and beautifully decorated with quality furniture and lamps. It has that classic look and feel which I really like. The bathroom is very nice and pretty big with separate shower and bathtub. The bathtub also comes with a handheld shower head which is very handy for my son.

We had our buffet breakfast at the club lounge, you can also order the hot food from the menu. I felt the food was good, but not as good as I expected from Shangri-La. I stayed in a few 4 star hotels on the same trip and their breakfasts seem to be better in terms of variety and quality. The club lounge has complimentary drinks all day as well as a happy hour in late afternoon when they serve light finger food. The service is always good, nothing is too much trouble.

It is a short ride on Suang Taew or Tuk Tuk to the old town if you don't feel like walking much.

Overall, an excellent and beautiful hotel with great services at reasonable price. Won't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qipao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Qipao

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you and your family had an ejoyable time with us in particular the facilities in the room.

We aslo took note on your feedbacks on the variety and quality of the breakfast and will shared this with our team to relook into the offerings.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcming you once again to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a centrally located hotel with excellent staff and very good food. The rooms and the bathrooms are very comfortable. The staff go out of their way to be helpful despite occasional communication problems. Everybody has a smile. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. The Chinese restaurant on the premises is also worth a visit. Their wi-fi system could probably use some updating. But definitely a place I would recommend to fellow travelers.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilsel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear BilSel74

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad to learn that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and in particular the hotel rooms comfort, facilities and our team services.

We will definitely share this with our team to celebrate.

We also do take note on the wifi system, that we are addressing it now to serve our guests better.

Looking forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Located just outside the night markets, yet has a very secluded feel with great views of the mountains.Hotel is beautifully appointed, couldn't think of anything missing. Staff was welcoming and most helpful with all our needs. Spa was world class. Would highly recommend to any traveller.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank tpjplyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear tpjplyma,

Thank you so much for writting a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you have enjoyed the hotel facilities, its suoperb locationa nd the service rendered by the team.

We are also happy to learned that your experience in our CHi The Spa was a memorable and renewing one.

We will definitely share this with the team and celebrate it this achievements.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Azmi Kamsari

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
199 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Prestigious and luxurious are fitting. The rooms are dashing! With an ante room 2 bathroom, 1 bedroom suite they are amazing! The numbering is off on the rooms but a bit peculiar of the place. The service is mint condition. Was part of an indian wedding staying here, the lawn was converted into a thai/indian melange of some sort, it was spectacular! The food was divine! The duck and sushi are fresh and by far the best quality I have tasted in years. If it's in your budget and you want luxury while in Chiang Mai - its the way to go, but make sure to leave the hotel to see the city!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anabellepaulino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Annabellepaulino

Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay with us.

It is very inspiring and motivating to read comments from a satisfied customer like your goodself in aprticular the facilities of the the hotel rooms, the services by the team and the food and beverage offerings that you have enjoyed.

We will definitely sahre this with all the team and celebrate this together.

Looking forward in welcoming you back again to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tehran
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

good location , very good service & delux room .....is......great !!!! breakfast : not bad , made for japan's peopel , i dont have lot of choices , they are happy : (Japan's peopel), but shangrila its good .....i like swimming pool , spa is verrrrry expensive !!!? room is very clean & big , bathroom also big ....

Room Tip: only rooms with garden view is very quiet & very nice .....i love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear barmak,

Thank you for taking the time to write a revies on your rcent stay with us. We are glad that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for your kind words on the hotel facilities and the services rendered by the team.

We took note on the comments on the food variety for breakfast and the pricing of our Chi The Spa and will share this with the relevant department heads for further actions.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back again to The SHangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

the hotel has one of the best for "mass" convention conference service but not good for typical hotel service which business or pleasure visitor should experience. Staff provided service with poor attitude.
Location is more centre (near night bazaar) but also near all those hooker area. Hotel does not allow appreciation for the great weather in Chiangmai.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank TKthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,918 reviews
2.4 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#25 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing