We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located within Chang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #20 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

First visit here and we were not dissapointed. The service was good we had a great room with good views over the city. Choice of food for westerners was not the best but if you like the local cuisine then it will suit you well. We would certainly go back if we came to Chang Mai again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Louis M

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that overall you had a wonderful stay with us and thank you for your comments on the team services rendered and our rooms sizes and views.

We took note on the food offerings and will definitely share this with the team on areas we could improve in our product offerings.

We look forward in welcming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,078 - 1,084 of 2,085 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

After 2 perfect nights in Shangri-La in Bangkok we made a trip to Chiang Mai and it was really clear for us to stay in Shangri-La, because we know the perfect service from some other Hotels of this group. But we were really a bit disappointed about a lot of things. The room service is really poor, we came back after a sightseeing tour at 4 a.m. and the rooms were not cleaned. The service in the restaurant is also not really good (Breakfast and evening).
The Horizon Club in Bangkok is more much better, the warm snacks are cold and not really good. I had a talk with the Manager and I think he knows that there is a lot of organisation work to reach the normal perfect standard of Shangri-La. But I am sure he is able to improve!
The highlight was our departure. I asked 1 day before if there is a problem to get a Transfer to the Airport , and then it was a problem. The reception was not able to organize a taxi, and so we went to Airport with a funny red car.
Normally I am not a friend of bad critic, but I think if you dont tell, then there will be no change!

Room Tip: Horizon Club rooms are a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Claudia W

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay, its only by receiving sincere feedbacks from customers like your good self we are made aware of areas that we need to improve.

We took note on the service setbacks in houskeeping for your room, the restaurants for the breakfast/dinner and the airport transfers.

We will definitely share this with the team and ensure corrective actions and trainings are in placed to avoid future reoccurrences.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back in the future.

SIncerely

Azmi Kamsari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at the Shangri la for 4 nights ,2nd to 4th of January.The standard of service was excellent, all the staff were courteous and helpful.
Special mention to George in the 12th floor club lounge who was charming and patient at all times.Our room on 12th floor was spacious and comfortable..excellent bed.The pool area was well kept and breakfast
offered a good choice.We accidentally left some belongings behind which the hotel found and sent on to us..great service..thank you.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Sally O

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and thank your for the motivational and inspirational words regarding our teams services, particularly at the CLub Lounge by George and the hotel facilities.

We are relieved that you got the items that we send and we look forward in welcoming you again to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This was a return trip to Chiang Mai but first time at the Shangri-La. We stayed for 7 nights over the Christmas Holiday in a Horizon Club room. Our room was spacious and overlooked the swimming pool - very quite. Excellent service by the Horizon Club staff and appreciated the extra time spent by the staff for us during our stay. Really appreciated George in the Horizon Club friendly greeting.
The hotel is located within walking distance to the night market and staff is helpful in getting transportation to areas that are not within walking distance.
We had both Christmas Eve Dinner and Christmas Day Brunch at the hotel - both had an excellent selection of foods - really appreciated the traditional western choice of turkey and all the trimmings. Food was excellent at both meals with a wide selection - wonderful desserts. Nice touch of the Chef coming to our table to see if all was okay. Noticed they even had set up an entertainment area in the dining room for children.
Only negatives was housekeeping - lack of leaving towels and other amenities and having to call and the noise from the elevator in our room.
We have stayed at many Shangri-La Hotels and will stay here again on our return to Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Horizon Room facing the pool area away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Retiredonguam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Retiredonguam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that overall you had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your kind words on the services of our team in particular George at the lounge, our facicilties in the hotel and the festive offerings that you enjoyed.

We also took note on the service setbacks from our houskeeping team and we do apologise for the inconvinience caused.

We aill definitely share this with the team and we look forward in welcoming you back again to the Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I was a bit sceptical after a disappointing stay in the Bangkok Shangri La however this hotel excedeed our expectations. The room was amazing (executive suite) and more than comfortable travelling with 2 small children. The club lounge and its breakfasts and cocktail hour canapés was great but the quality of the coffee was very average and needs to be improved. Wifi was weak in our room especially the bedroom.The pool area was beautiful and relaxing in the afternoon. Also the staff always mentioned the kids club in actual fact it's not a kids club as it provides no supervision but simply a playroom. The kids loved playing there though and it had lots of toys and was clean. Overall a great stay but next time would prefer something with a bit more character which the Shangri-La lacks.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool side not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeeBP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear BeeBP99

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad thet overall you had a wonderful stay with us and thank you for your kind words on the sizes of our rooms and our swimming pool.

We took note on your comments about the coffee and the wifi service that we will definitely share with the team and look into improvements.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back to The Shnagri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

While Chiang Mai is a lovely city, this hotel quite disappointed me in a number of ways (although I do realize that being there over New Year's they were at capacity and probably a little stretched).
Rooms:
Regular rooms are old and a little tired and some have really terrible views but somewhat acceptable.
Location:
I'm sure there are probably better situated hotels, but this location suited us fine as it was about 10 minutes walk to the night market, the massage places and not too far from restaurants. Also about 30 minutes walk to the old city, although it is super easy and cheap to grab a tuk-tuk.
F&B:
Breakfast was ok - mainly catering to Western and Chinese, not really any thai. Certainly not the fantastic breakfasts we've had at other Shangri-la's. The waffles and pancakes are made in advance and sit under a hot lamp so they are cold and not very tasty by the time you put them on your plate, not as many of the beautiful pastries as in other Shangri-la's. I consider the Shangri-la in Boracay to be the benchmark for breakfast and this did not come close. We did have one buffet dinner there and again, curiously, barely any thai food. Catering to the Chinese clientele and Western tastes. While the soups are good and sushi was ok the mains were not exciting and not extensive. Also not fantastic desserts. Need a good pastry chef!
Service:
For the most part, surprisingly, service was really poor. We had to call 3 times one evening for towels and received them about 1.5 hours later; concierge service was barely in english one night and because of his lack of language skills really did not try to be especially helpful or ensure we were happy with the result; restaurant told us buffet would close in 15 minutes when we tried to go in 30 minutes before close; pool service was terrible with the staff just standing around talking to eachother at their cabana vs walking around to see if customers needed anything. Just lacklustre service at almost every turn.
Housekeeping:
Really quite bad. While the rooms looked good we twice did not have towels in the evenings; they were very tardy in responding to needs, yet put a note under the door at 8:30am to say that since we had our 'do not disturb' on they could not clean; we had no toilet paper in the room for a period of about 24 hours (even though we hardly spent any time in the room); and the bathrooms in the common area on the 1st floor were awful - not maintained with dirt and tissues on the floors, etc. - I was there 3 times and had the same experience all 3 times.
Facilities:
Pool is beautiful but not heated, really, really cold but nice to sit next to on a beautiful day. Gym was small but fine.
The Good Stuff:
Club rooms - Speaking with the GM after a couple of days there, he was apologetic for our experience and really hoping to make it better. We did end up moving to the Club rooms which were a much nicer experience in terms of service in the club area and a nicer room - although the housekeeping misses continued (including the no-toilet paper incident).
Concierge - There was one lovely young man named Bee who really stood out as especially helpful and spent as much time as it took to ensure we were going to have a great time in Chiang Mai and even checked in when we got back to ensure we had a good experience. He was really the lone bright light of service, with the exception of the Club area where they largely know how to take care of their clients.
In the absence of a big budget for room upgrades etc, a revamp of service levels throughout the hotel and a new housekeeping crew would work miracles!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSJones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear KSJones1

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

We regret to learn that there are setbacks on services during your stay with us.

We have noted your comments regarding the services during breakfast and the products offering like the pastries and eggs, dinner Thai food variety, pool and the housekeeping.

We will definitely share this with the team and ensure that corrective measures are in place to avoid future reoccurrences.

We are also glad that you mentioned Mr Bee our concierge team on his services provided to you and will definitely celebrate this with him.

Thank you so much and we look forward in welcoming you back to The Shnagri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

SIncerely

Azmi Kamsari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had not heard of the Shangri-la hotel chain until about six months ago when we started planning our trip to Southeast Asia. By chance, at a party, we were talking to a friend who travels extensively in this part of the world. On his recommendation, we switched our hotels and booked the Shangri-la in Bangkok and Chiang Mai. We were extremely pleased with our stay in both cities. The Chiang Mai Shangri-la is a quiet oasis, close to the town center, with nicely appointed rooms, a beautiful pool and spa, and excellent service. We stayed on the Horizon Club floor. The staff was extremely helpful assisting us with various reservations. We loved the Chiang Mai area and hope to return soon. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paristodc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Paristodc50

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that overall you had a wonderful stay with us and we are happy to learn that your first stay with the Shangri-la Hotels and Resorts have been a memorable one.

Thank you for your kind words on the hotels facilities, services and our centralized location.

We look forward in welcoming you back again to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 393 in Chiang Mai
3,146 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#12 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £118 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing