We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #19 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Odense
1 review
“Very poor service”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Beautiful hotel, but if you want to stay at a hotel with great service then do not stay at the Shangri-La. They promise you so much but they can not live up to what they promise you. I have never experienced souch bad service in my life from the front desk and management! They do not even smile at you. Service at the pool is much better - they should swich positions! And do not expect to use the free Wi-Fi - it does not work in the rooms and is verry slow if you can get a connection.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Camilla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Camilla N,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a feedback on your recent stay with us.

We regret to learn that we did not met your expectation during your stay with us. We have taken note on your feedback regarding the flowers that you mentioned in our survey, the friendliness and smiles of our team and also the wifi connection.

We would also like to thank you for the positive feedbacks on our pool them.

We will shared this with all relevant department heads to review the areas that we need work on.

Camilla N, it is only by receiving feedback from a customer like your kind self that we are made aware of areas that we need to improve and strive for service excellence.

Thank you once again and we look forward in the future to serve you again. I can be reached at azmi.kamsari@shangri-la.com should there be any other valuable feedbacks that would like to share.

Sincerely;

Azmi Kamsari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,305
    510
    132
    31
    23
See reviews for
486
788
125
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My wife and I spent part of our honeymoon trip at the Shangri-La Hotel in Chiang Mai. All I can say is that it was simply amazing. Azmi (resident manager) and Nick (front desk manager) were very attentive to our needs and they along with the rest of their team made sure our stay was unforgettable. Every night when we would return to the hotel after a day of exploring they would have some sort of special surprise waiting for us.

The hotel itself was beautiful and very clean. The staff were very attentive, friendly, and polite. The pool area is a little paradise in itself. Overall, I am completely satisfied we chose to stay here and will be back in the future.

Thank you again to Azmi, Nick, and the hotel staff, for making our honeymoon stay in Chiang Mai unforgettable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Rick P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are inspired and motivated by your kind words on your experience that you and madam had during your stay at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

We will definitely share this with the team and celebrate this.

We look forward in serving you back again at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Thank you once again for being with us.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We expected more from a 5 star hotel. The room, a deluxe king, was decent but certainly nothing to rave about. The bathroom was nice and the toiletries were better than most we have seen throughout our stay. My husband also thoroughly enjoyed the gym.

Breakfast was good and we even had a quick lunch when we arrived because the front desk was having issues with our reservation so we had to kill time while they figured it out. Lunch was pretty good as well, the curry puffs were awesome!

There was an extremely large wedding at the hotel while we were there which was quite a hassle for any other guests of the hotel. We had kids running up and down our floor- right in front of 3 shangri-la staff members who did nothing about it. The whole pool was closed one of the days we were there for the wedding which was super inconvenient.

The location was superb as we could walk to the night bazaar and other highly rated restaurants and spas on trip advisor, but next time we visit we will likely try a different hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jenntref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Jenntref

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We would like to thank you for your kind words on the hotel's gym and bathrooms, food quality and our hotels superb location. Nevertheless, we regret to learn about the inconvenience of the pool closure and the acostic disturbance at your corridor.

We will definitely share this with all relevant department heads and place corrective actions to prevent reoccurances.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward in welcoming you back again to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

I have been to Chiang Mai many times. I normally stay in a hotel half the price as the Shangri-la. However my fiancé and I just finished a 6 day 1000 mile motorcycle ride through the Golden Triangle and wanted a bit of luxury. We pulled into the Shangri -la after an 8 hour motorcycle ride from Laos to Chiang Mai. We were exhausted! I went to reception and they told me of the Horizon club. I booked it on Agoda in the lobby. About $100 US dollars more than a regular room. Let me tell you something! Well worth every penny! Treated like a king! A woman named Da took such incredible care of us our entire visit in the Horizon club. She checked on everything from excursions to the political climate in Bangkok for us. Most importantly Da did this with a genuine concern for our happiness. Thank you Da!

With the Horizon club benefits you get an amazing breakfast as well as an amazing happy hour from 5:30 - 7:30 with great food and free beer,wine and booze! I easily got my money's worth in booze alone. If you know anything about Thailand you know booze ain't cheep!

Oh before I forget the pool, the gym and all the staff are amazing!

Highly recommended!!!!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureMonkey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear AdventureMondkey12

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent adventure in Chiang Mai and definitely the luxury get away to be renewed at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

We are glad that you are being pampered while you are here with us after that 1000mile ride.

Thank you for your candid comments and we will definitely share this with the team especially Da.

We look forward in welcoming you back again to The SHangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

SIncerely

Azmi Kamsari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Such beautiful surroundings, You start to relax as soon as you walk through the front door. Staff members were all so courteous and helpful. Horizon Club is well worth the extra $$.Pool just gorgeous. Can walk to the old city centre. Markets just down the road.

Room Tip: Use the safe, don't leave things lying around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank PennyHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear PennyHS

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your kind words on the services of our friendly and helpful staff, the value for money CLub Floor Lounge, the pool also our superb centralized location.

Thank you once again and we will definitely share this with the team.

We look forward in welcoming you back again to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile


We visited this hotel four years ago when it was quite new and I am glad to report that we were not disappointed with choosing it again. Everything is still kept in pristine condition and the rooms are very comfortable. The toiletries include the usual, plus toothbrushes and toothpaste and there is free wifi although it is of poor quality. There is a good gym open until 9pm. The hotel has a beautiful pool with very comfortable seats/beds around it.
The breakfast is excellent, with a choice of four to six juices every day and everything else you may think of. We are tea drinkers and a tip would be not to have the tea they automatically bring you. We asked for earl grey, and they brought us pots of freshly brewed tea which was lovely. The few changes I could see from our last stay were all improvements:
The breakfast has greatly improved and I can say that is was our favourite between all the hotels we visited this time.
The pool service is now very efficient with iced water and cold towels are brought to you automatically.
The lift now has a key recognition system which means that no one without a key card can get to the floors where the rooms are located.
The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the night market and only a few minutes tuk tuk drive from anywhere else in town.
I suppose the only negative about this hotel is that there are hardly any balconies but then again, not everyone wants one.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tripforthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear tripforthree

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that overall you and family had a memorable stay with us. Thank you for your kind and inspiring words on our room amenities, breakfast services and food offerings, especially the tea.

We also took note on the wifi speed and we will definitely look towards improving this.

Thank you once agaian and we look forward in welcoming you again to The SHangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I loved this hotel, from the great Lounge to the excellent service by the staff. Just a few things stopped this being a 5 star stay. ( They put me in a room right opposite a staff entrance/Exit. So during the night, they would make ALOT of noise. I did not complain because it would've ruined my stay.

The food here was better than the old Mandarin (Dhara Devi).

Very cheap to get to the hotel from the Airport. Between 150-200 THB

The spa was one of the best designs i have seen for a spa.

p.s. The waffles and pancakes in the Lounge for breakfast very amazing!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VP_DHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear VP_DHC

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your kind words on the staff services at the loungs and the culinary offerings.

We also took note on the acostic inconvinience that you experience during your stay.

We will definitely share this with the team and ensure that corrective measure and reoccurances does not happen.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back to the Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.4 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 383 in Chiang Mai
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Travelbag, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing