We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #22 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Beautiful hotel, but since it's quite fancy, it felt less cozy or comfortable than others I've stayed at. Room was large and comfortable with beautiful bathtub I actually felt clean enough to use. Comfortable bed. Pool was a little formal and seemed to close early. Concierge helped you get whatever rides you need. Not terribly far from the old town and within walking distance if you're ambitious. Food through room service was delivered quickly and was tasty. Breakfast was extra and I was not overly impressed - did not seem worth $20. Had a 90-minute Thai massage which completely worked me over, in a good way, but the pain level is not for the faint-hearted when the therapist is working on your "trouble" spots of tensed muscles. Overall, it was one of the more beautiful and well kept hotels I've stayed in, but some of the formality felt distancing.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Nuclear D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Nuclear D

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We would also like to thank you for your kind words on the facilities of the hotel, our rooms, services by our concierge team, our in room dining offerings and services and the rejuvenating experiencesd you had at our Spa.

We will definitely share this with our team and celebrate it together.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,062 - 1,068 of 2,121 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Shangri-La in Chiang Mai. The location was great--it was very close to all local markets and yet very quiet. The breakfast buffet was excellent with an international variety of cold and hot dishes--this restaurant had one of the best croissants I've ever tasted. The room was very clean but a little outdated. The only major complaint we had was that when we checked in, we were given a room that smelled like the guests had been smoking in it. The guest services representative insisted that if they used a spray, the smell would go away. Cigarette smell infused into a room generally doesn't go away. However, we went back downstairs and spoke to the supervisor and she gave us another room right away which did not smell. The other negative with this hotel is that I expected that the Shangri-La would have a professional concierge to give their guests more guidance with Chiang Mai and the town's venues. This job appeared to be performed by whoever was on shift that day or night--the bellboy, the guest check-in person, or the front desk manager. I believe the Shangri-La needs to invest in a professional concierge.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannahkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Hannahkk

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for your kind words on the breakfast offerings and our superb location.

Nevertheless we took note on your feedback regarding the room assignments and also the concierge expertise and will definitely share this with relevant department heads for areas to imporve to prevent reoccurances.

We look forward in serving you again and we thank you for your sincere feedbacks.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the recommendation of a tour guide. While the rooms were massive the furnishings were outdated but well appointed with nice amenities. Location is nice and central. Pool was lovely. Food in restaurant was almost inedible. I advise eating out!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Tracy K

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your kind words on our superb location, facilities, amenities and pool, nevertheless we also have taken note on your feedback regarding the interior and the food quality which we will definitely share this with our relevant department heads for corrective actions.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back to the Shangri-la hotel Chiang Mai.

SIncerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel. Although not as plush as the Bangkok Shangri-la it is a really great place to stay. The rooms are really spacious with great city views. The bathrooms are large and well appointed. The beds are however a little firm- the management should go to the Pullman Phuket to know what hotel bed should feel like! Breakfast was good and service was slick. The pool is really lovely- a great place to unwind after a busy day sight seeing.
Location is ok- near the night market but a 30 minute walk to the old town.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Chris1304

Thank you for writting a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thank you for your kind and inspiring words on the superb location of our hotel, rooms facilities, relaxing pool and our breakfast services.

We would also like to thank you for your sincere feedbacks regarding the bed and have shared this with our relevant key department heads for our future corrective measures.

We look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Went here with my wife for our 2nd yr anniv. Nice spacious room. Ideally located as it is near the night bazaar. Food and coffee at kad cafe were also pretty good. Would definitely recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrbugsyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear mrbugsyph

Thank you for writting a review on your recent celebratory stay with us.

We are glad to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us and thank you for your kind words on our hotel spacious rooms, superb location and beverage offerings.

We look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We checked in around 3 in the afternoon, and due to no one bed room available at the higher level they gave us room 309 instead. This room has a little patio and garden attached, we did enjoyed our breakfast at the patio for few mornings. It's very quiet and the swimming pool is amazing.
Hotel itself is only few minutes away from the famous night bazaar (starting 5pm till midnight), and it's easily to rent a motorbike (beside Le Méridien called KPD for $200 bah/day).

Room Tip: I think higher level can have a good view of Chiang Mai... :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLMarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear LKMarkham

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you have enjoyed the garden room assigned. We would also like to thank you for your kind words on our superb location in the city and our relaxing pool.

We look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I was in Chiang Mai for business and had a Horizon Club deluxe room. Room was big, really nicely decorated and furnished, great bed and nice view. The breakfast is in a private lounge. Very nice and very good.
Staff is amazing and the whole experience is to remember. I have stayed at very many 5-star hotels around the world, and Shangri-La in Chiang Mai is one of the top three (to my surprise). That much living and service etc for such a reasonable price.
Also they have a great tailor - Genesis. Had them make me three pants and four shirts. Very well done. I highly recommend them.
Thanks staff and thanks Genesis!

Room Tip: Horizon Club delux
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Peter J

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and we thank you for your kind words on the facilities, view and spaciousness of our rooms.

We would also like to thank you for your inspiring words on the service of our staff and will definitely share this with the team to celebrate.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 402 in Chiang Mai
3,251 reviews
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#9 of 402 in Chiang Mai
2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Na Nirand Romantic Boutique Resort
1.1 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £104 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing