We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, F&B service could be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #20 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Shangrila hotels are always great. This one is too.
The hotel is nice, the facilities and location are great.
The concierge was amazing! Helped us book tours to see the elephants, rent a scooter and just all around amazingly helpful! Great job!
The only complaint: The Food & beverage service was not up to the standard of other Shangrila hotels.
I have a food allergy- Gluten (actual allergy, not the new age idea of avoiding it for health reasons, not that there is anything wrong with that.)
Usually Shangrila is AMAZING at catering for my allergy.
In this case, I have to say that this was not up to scratch. However, that being said: If you did not have any allergy I am sure you would find the food plentiful and of high quality. So, really don't want to bash it too much. The dinner buffets looked amazing. Breakfast was great too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear JC

Thank you so much for taking the time off your busy schedule to write a review on your recent stay with us. We are glad to learn that overall you had a good stay with us and we thank you for your kind words on the services of our concierge team, facilities and our centralized location.

We would also like to take this opportunity to apologise to you that we did not met your expectations on our Food and Beverage offerings and services. We will definitely share this with relevant department heads to address the challenges and ensure that reoccurrances will not happen.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back again to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

SIncerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

996 - 1,002 of 2,106 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Excellent service, wonderful facilities and great location. There's really not much more I need to say. We stayed 4 nights and we're sorry to have to leave. Top class service, luxury accommodations and a convenient location near the night bazaar and yet minutes away from the historic center as well as a 15 minute drive from the airport.

Room Tip: Choose a poolside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Mr Jeffrey_L

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that we have met your expectations and we would like to thank you for your kind and inspiring words regarding our services, facilities and superb centralized location.

We look forward of serving you again in the near future at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Booked 3 rooms at the horizon club. We were given an early chack in as well as late check out.
Service is superb and as usual cocktails serve from 5.30-7.30pm with free flows of food & beverages including alcohol. All day long coffee/ tea is serve at the lounge. Laze by the pool, ice water and fruits will be serve :).Hotel location is near the night bazaar. Just 10mins walk. The chinese restaurant shang garden serve good authentic chinese food. Overall a great stay, but as usual in chiang mai please equip yourself with mosquito repellant. Its everywhere

Room Tip: horizon club room has the best in value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear MelissaW10,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that overall you had a wonderful stay with us and we thank you for your kind words on the services rendered by the team in particular the Horizon CLub, the food and beverage offerings and our centralized location.

We will definitely share this with the rest of the team to celebrate.

Looking forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at the Shangri-la, Chiang Mai for 3 nights during the Easter Holidays and it was fantastic. I feel that this is the most "personal" hotel I have ever stayed with.

Checking-in 2 hours earlier, no problem. Complimentary 2 hours check-out extension, yes sir. The front desk is the friendliest I've ever experienced so far.

The rooms are large and bright with huge window glasses and are made out at least 2 times a day. There was even an instance they made it three times!...They also leave bookmarks on my bed each day everyday when they realised I brought books with me. The bookmarks themselves are nothing special but this kind of personal touches is what I would remember long after I leave the place. This is also the first time where our phone cables are actually tended to - they tidied them to a nice knot!

The hotel sits on a huge property along Chang Klan Road - a 5-minute walk to the night market, about 10 minutes by tuk tuk to the Tha Phae Gate and to the walking markets. There is also a nice pool and a health / fitness centre. The daily breakfast is decent..good enough but nothing special..just your typical hotel fare though it's ample. However, the restaurant (Kad Kafe) seems like it is under-staffed. It became very apparent one night when we had dinner at this place - empty dishes are piling up on most tables uncollected.

Just a few steps from the hotel entrance are inexpensive decent massage places (we had the 2-hour traditional Thai massage at Mali's Message, run by a sweet Thai lady - whose name we forgot - highly recommended), and places to eat those amazing Thai noodles. (We also found Suthasinee - a very authentic khao soi place near The Empress Hotel - a few minutes walk from Shangri-La).

There are also 2 wats that are short walking distances from the hotel.

There is also a free-shuttle to one of the new malls in Chiang Mai.

The concierge also booked us taxis on 2 occasions ( to Doi Suthep and back to the airport) which were very very reasonable.

The only complain I had is that there is a huge construction going on (on another property) near the pool area and it can get loud at times. But otherwise, our stay at The Shangri-la Chiang Mai was very very good indeed.

Room Tip: You should probably request the one facing the pool ( or should I say facing east?). We had the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chungwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear chungwan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that your stay was a pleasant one and we would like to thank you for your kind and inspiring words reagrding the services rendered by the team in particular the Housekeeping team on the turn down service bookmark, the room cleanliness, the front offices services on your check in and departure, the facilities of the hotel like the gym and health club and also our hotel's superb location.

We will definitely share this with the team and celebrate together in the successes of anticipating and satisfying a customer spoken and unspoken needs.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

SIncerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Hotel was nice but the ambience was a bit dark.
I checked in around 8 pm and street surrounding hotel was quiet and dark

I had dinner in the coffee shop around 9 pm, the room was big but again, dark, with only 3 table occupied. Many varieties of food with majority was pork contained.
Food taste must be improved as all food that I tried was not appealing.

I went for breakfast around 6.30 am and also only 3 table occupied.
Still many pork contained for meals and the taste need to be improved.

Check in - check out process was fast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Ika C

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that overall you had a good stay with us adn we thank you for your comments on our front office team speedy services during your arrival and departure.

We also took note on the ambient lightings of our all day dining restaurant and the culinary offerings regarding the pork dishes, we will sahre this with our relevant department heads to review this and place improvement measure to elevate the ambient and culinary offerings.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.


Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights - the property itself is nice but somehow seems to lack a little something.... The food was terribly disappointing for a shangri La hotel...... first time in my life I ever had sushi in a five star hotel made with canned tuna ! I was really amazed...

Choices were pretty limited and the food quality was generally not what one would expect from this kind of hotel.

Also I stayed in a room on the third floor that didn't have any glass separating shower and bathroom - good for style very bad for safety ! I slipped a couple of times on the wet bathroom floor - Shangri la you should pay attention to this someone could be hurt

I was here for a conference so am happy I wasn't paying otherwise I believe I would have felt pretty shortchanged.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Kieran11,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We regret to learn that we did not met your expectation on your recent stay with us in particular our Food and Beverage offerings and the wet floor of your toilet due to the design and the need of a partition, we do apologise.

We will share this with our department heads and review the areas of improvements to avoid reoccurences in the future.

Kieran11, it is only by receiving a sincere feedback from a customer like your goodself that we are made aware of areas that we need to improve and for that we thank you.

Looking forward in welcoming your back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at the Shangri-La, Chiang Mai for seven nights from April 19 to April 27 and had a fabulous stay. We reserved two suites on the Horizon Club floors for the week, and they were excellent with a large amount of space and amenities.

The Club floors provide a great breakfast, a great place to relax from 630 AM until 11:30 PM, attentive staff for booking tours, restaurants, etc. We found this upgrade to be of great value.

We dined in the Kad Kafe on three evenings for the buffet dinner. The food quality was great and included a grill, traditional and Western dishes, Sushi, Pasta and Pizza bars, salads and lovely deserts. For around 700 Baht we thought this was good value.

The only downside we saw was the construction occuring next door. While this wasn't too distracting to us, it was noticeable when at the pool (construction noise) that some might find annoying.

Overall though, a nice property with attentive staff that is close to the old city and night markets.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank dag5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear dag5000,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We are glad that overall you had a fantastic stay with us in the suites.

We would like to thank you for your kind words on the facilities, the services by the etam at The horizon club and the food and beverage offerings. We will definitely share this with the team to celebrate.

We would also like to reassure you that we are working very closely with the developers on the acostic inconvinience and ensure that the legal decibals are being followed based on Thai law.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 395 in Chiang Mai
3,209 reviews
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#9 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
0.8 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £106 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelbag, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing