We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the very best hotels in central Chiang Mai.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #19 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

LOCATION: 15 minutes’ drive from the airport to the hotel. The hotel airport pick up service costs THB 550 per way. Less than a 10-minute walk from the hotel to the Night Bazaar area. Tuk-tuk easily available at the hotel. The hotel offers private car service at THB 400 per hour, (minimum 2 hours).

HOTEL: Courteous front desk. Fast check-in and check-out. Concierge is generally really polite and helpful. During my 2 consecutive weekends at the hotel, a couple of the concierge staff did not perform as well as the rest. I think their poor command of English language might be the reason. The housekeepers are fast and very friendly. When I first arrived, I ordered ice cubes to be delivered to the room. The following day, the ice cubes were automatically delivered without the need to re-ordering them. That is what I call a great service.

Very good size room. Bright and clean. Good beds and pillows. Very good and quiet A/C. Very good shower water pressure.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank HKasyouare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear HKasyouare

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and we thank you for your inspiring and kind words on the team politeness and helpfulness, speedy check in a check our experiences and the housekeeping team services.

We also took note on your feedback regarding the English proficiency of some of our concirege team that we had already address with continuance of English trainings for the team.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back again to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,052)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

935 - 941 of 2,052 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We recently spent four nights at this hotel and it was absolutely fantastic. We had booked a premium room but when we checked in we were offered for the price of breakfast everyday and upgrade to a room on the Club Floor with breakfast, happy hour 5 - 7.30 p.m. and also late checkout. Really worth it. Room was amazing with great views. I loved the pool which I tried to use everyday.
The staff are so helpful and very gracious and the manager Franz was extremely amiable and spoke to us on various occasions.
At the airport on arrival we took a taxi and then used the taxi driver as our private driver for the next couple of days. We hired him from 9 am - 6 pm. for 3000 baht. We went up into the mountains to Doi Inthanon which is amazing and a must see and also saw some of the beautiful waterfalls on the way back. Although Mr Nong did not have much English he was a great driver and very patient. The next day we went to the hill tribes also worth a visit.
Restaurants are cheap and plentiful in Chiang Mai and also so many other things to do a great place for families with all the Elephant/Tiger/Monkey parks - plus many adventurous activities. I found I much preferred Chiang Mai to Bangkok.
Mr Nong's email is fuxfang28@gmail.com. I said I would mention him as I think he is a great alternative to booking a tour with a private company. He has a 6 seater car.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a bit extra for a higher up room, although we had mountain view if you stay on lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed four nights this past week, and the experience was absolutely perfect. Staff made us feel at home, hotel gorgeous and convenient to everything, pool a great oasis, and prices more than reasonable. This is the place to stay when you visit Chiang-Mai.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at Shangri la on our visit to Thailand and the rooms were excellent . one of the finest hotels i have ever stayed and the 5 star experience was great!. it is in great location and the food was excellent as well. both breakfast and continental dinner. will definitely return to this in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InvincibleKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We spent 5 days In the Shangri La hotel in Chiang Mai. The hotel lobby is actually quite beautiful and somethign you would expect from the Shangri-La group. Service is very polite and friendly.

The hotel is only two blocks walk from the night markets, which apparently are fabulous. Unfortunately we missed out on this privilege as a military coup was enforced which included a 10pm curfew. So we spent our evenings in the hotel lobby bar. They carry a very limited selection on Whiskeys and Champagne.. and prices are not cheap.

We asked the hotel to give us a price on a private car and driver for the day. We were quoted 6000 baht.. which again is a silly price. We found an amazing driver by ourselves. He had a brand new camery with tinted windows. He drove us to the hot springs, a cave our hotel and then airport for 1500 baht.

Food is very limited for anyone with special dietary requirements. If you are vegan, don't bother eating in the hotel. There is an AMAZING and very new vegan/vegetarian restaurant around the corner. See my other reviews.

Visited the day spa. Was absolutely beautiful. I spent 3 1/2 hours getting a massage and facial. Of course, you will expect to pay more the the hotel day spa.. when next door out on the street will be a fraction of the price. I actually don't mind paying more as it was set in a tranquil setting. In fact, better than most upmarket spas in Sydney, Australia.

Beds are very hard and pillows are very soft.

Gym has a good variety of weight lifting machines and some cardio equipment. Enough to get a good workout each morning.

Room Tip: Get a pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyFijiLomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at the Shangri-La recently for 7 nights. This is an excellent hotel, service was first class with very friendly staff. Breakfast in the Kad Café was superb, the quality of food was very good with plenty of choice. The hotel Manager excelled himself in the way he dealt with guests when there was an earthquake in Chiang Rai. We were all evacuated to the swimming pool area, supplied with drinks and the Manager kept us fully informed while engineers safety checked the building. A special thanks to Sukorjong/Kae, customer services for the upgrade to room with Jacuzzi and her kind and friendly nature throughout our stay.
This is an excellent run hotel which I would recommend to any guests thinking of booking.
Douglas & Pat. United Kingdom

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Hotel staff was great, service was good, food was good. The tours arranged in the hotel were not over priced. Room was very good, even got upgraded. Paid attention to client needs. Nice feel to the hotel. Overall excellent and will surely recommend and revisit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thadanim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Thadanim

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a reviw on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you had an excellent stay with us and we would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind and inspirational words on the services rendered by our team, the quality of the food and the value for money tour packages that we are offering.

We will definitely share this with the team and celebrate.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#22 of 389 in Chiang Mai
3,086 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#9 of 389 in Chiang Mai
2,440 reviews
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,885 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £108 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelbag, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing