We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“leisure excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #19 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Seremban, Malaysia
1 review
“leisure excellent”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Excellent room and services, great breakfast and peaceful clean pool and facilities. Great staff and very courteous. Ample staffing at all department. We love the cleanliness and thoughts put to details.


Room Tip: Excellent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank laichee724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Laichee724

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and we thank you for your kind words on the staff great services and courtesies, the cleanliness of the hotel, breakfast and facilities.

We look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,305
    510
    132
    31
    23
See reviews for
486
788
125
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had 2 nights at the Shangri-la to wind up our week in Chiang Mai. So 2 other hotels to compare on many levels. We immediately upgraded our room upon check in to take advantage of the drinks/appies in the private lounge on the 11th floor, an easy walk up stairs for us. This was was fantastic value not only the appies were substantial, but it was an opportunity to visit with other travelers. Lots of privacy if didn't want to engage with anyone though too. The hotel is a short walk to one of the night markets. At this market we came upon a band that was spell binding as well as karaoke lady boy show, with 'Cher' type costumes, silver sequin curtains. It was an experience, so much fun! The concierge is prompt to get a tuk tuk so getting around is easy. We didn't use the Spa at the hotel, instead went to the Peake around the corner for combo treatments, Thai massage, etc. Great shopping within walking distance from the hotel. Pool is large, crystal clear and was bath tub warm. Staff could not have been more friendly. Beds were super comfy with lovely bedding. The highlight has to be the breakfast, a wandering buffet plus a la carte if you choose. It was beyond description, catering to both Asian and western cuisine.
The lobby is grand but not overly done. They really listen to comments and go out of their way to make your stay memorable, which it was.

Room Tip: 10th floor room facing pool, twin beds....very quiet and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Janice H

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us, we are glad that you had a memorable stay with us.

We would also like to thank you for your kind words on the hotels facilities, superb location and the valu for money Horizon Club benefits.

We will definitely share this with the team and we look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just returned from an excellent stay at the Shangri-La which typified everything that we looked for in a luxury hotel chain for a 5 night stay. The hotel is large by Chiang Mai standards with 12 floors and it occupies a good amount of real estate that includes a good sized outdoor pool,some tropical gardens and the spa is located at the rear of the hotel behind the pool. We stayed on the 12th Floor that was part of the hotel's 'Horizon's' Club and gives you access to the Executive Lounge on the 11th floor that has some food and drink options for breakfast and lunch but comes into it's own during Happy Hour (5.30-7.30pm) where food and drinks (wine,beers,spirits and soft drinks) are free and can easily sate an evenings appetite and thirst if the ease and comfort outweighs potential external options. With 2 kids (6 and 4) we stayed in Room 1221 which was more than big enough and had every facet of room comforts that we required. The gym and health club is excellent and the main restaurant Kad Cafe where the breakfast is has great range of Thai and International menu options. There is a Chinese restaurant onsite as well but we did not try this preferring local options when we pulled ourselves away from the Exec lounge :-)
The location is just south east of the old town and 5 mins walk from the night bazaar and markets and was 15 mins taxi from the airport and 120THB.
The service from start to finish was top notch - attentive,helpful,warm and accommodating and surpassed expectation. My only other observation was that the hotel seemed quite empty and whilst I would not recommend necessarily planning holidays around country's that have recently staged a military coup it certainly benefitted us. The curfew had been lifted a couple of days before we arrived but we did hear that a lot of Chinese tourists had postponed their travel and as such there was a refreshing lack of busy-ness in the hotel which added to the relaxed vibe. Overall - an excellent hotel that is credit to the brand and enabled a perfect stay for our family!

Room Tip: Go for the 10th/11th and 12th floors that give you access to the Exec lounge which was a real bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLAKTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear LLAKTravel,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us, we are glad that you and your family had a wonderful time with us.

We thank you for your kind and inspiring words on the facilities of the hotel, the value for money benefits of the Horizon Club Lounge, our centralized location and services rendered by our team.

We will share this with the team and celebrate the success.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai in the near future.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The room is very clean, people working there friendly, many elephant toy also very interesting! Though not very convient to the market, ca easily rent a motocycle in hotel or go outside and take a tuk-tuk, also an interesting experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Susan S

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you had a great stay with us and we thank you for your kind words on the cleanliness of the hotel, friendliness of our team, our location and the Elephant Parade (Charitable Organisation) exhibit that we offer on sale for the elephants of Chiang Mai conservation.

We will share this with all our team and we look forward in welcoming you back to the Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This stay was near perfect. Everything worked like clockwork. The staff were all really great. Very helpful, friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them all.
It was a business trip and it went very much according to plan. The meals were all super; the arrangements for meetings were just right; everything worked as it should have done.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank AndrewWoodBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear AndrewWoodBangkok,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you had a great stay with us and we thank you for your kind words on the friendliness and helpfulness of the team, the meals that were offered and the meeting arrangements that the team have provided.

We will definitely celebrate this with all the team and we look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai in the near future.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldwide
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was our first time to Chiang Mai so opted for a well known brand for our stay.

The Shangri-La is very well appointed, good attentive staff, good food and a very good location.

Nice swimming pool also, although a little warm.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank lee_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Lee_the_Traveller

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad to learn that you had a wonderful time with us and we thank you for your kind words on the attentiveness of our team, the food offerings, the hotel location and the pool facilities.

We will share this with the team to celebrate and we look forward in welcoming you back to the Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed at Shangri-la hotel Chiang Mai in June 6-9, 2014. The hotel staff are very presant, friendly & helpful. Hotel location is closed to night market & Art of Paradise, a walk in 5 mins time only.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Mabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Mabel W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you had a memorable stay with us and we thank you for your kind words on team friendly and helpful team and the superb location of our hotel.

We look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.4 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 383 in Chiang Mai
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing