We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value - wonderful pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #19 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent value - wonderful pool”
Reviewed 1 January 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in November 2009. Wonderful hotel with amazing pool and spa. Spotless rooms and hotel. We were given an upgrade to a very large room overlooking pool. Excellent location. Wife was not feeling well so we spent a lot time in the hotel and at the pool and I had an excellent curry dinner from room service. Breakfast was excellent and the option of sitting outside. Good service from the staff. Business center - charge for internet service. Must be the best pool in Chaing Mai.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hankvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,257
    487
    125
    30
    23
See reviews for
461
762
119
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

I stayed in the Premier Room - room is very stylish and big. The location is very close to night market and it is easy to go any where. Staff are nie and keen. Restaurant is good. I think this is a very smart choice in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2009

We stayed at the Shangri La in Chiang Mai for 4 nights and found at an excellent hotel to stay at to explore Chiang Mai from. The hotel is within 5 min walking distance from the night market and all the street restaurants. Another 25 min gets you to the centre with the main temples.

Having stayed in several Shangri La's before, it meets all the standards and services you expect from the Shangri La. We stayed in a Premier Horizon Club room which was very spacious, had all amenities and facilities you expect from this class of hotel and the room and had a nice view over the mountains.
I always recommend a club room as it gives you access to the Club floor which means drinks and snacks at sunset and a lavish breaksfast in the morning.
The girl at the Club floor reception was extremly helpful and friendly and made our stay even more enjoyable. It is not a lively hotel and on a couple of occasions we were the only people at breakfast onm the clubroom.

It is a city hotel, and it is also aimed at the business traveller (it has large conference facilities) but wat does make it nice is that it has a large garden with spa facilties and a nice, large swimming pool with plenty of space to enjoy the sunshine - a welcome relief from the hussle and bussle of the Chiang Mai streets.

We didn't eat at the hotel as we prefer the experience of having Thai food at the countless street restaurants but judging by the quality of the breakfast I can only assume the restaurant food is good.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravel1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

So often you look at a hotels website and then at the candid pictures on here and they are NOTHING alike. Happily, the photo's on the Shangri La represent the reality..nice serene lobby, beautiful gardens and pool and lovely wall hangings/artworks throughout the hotel. We stayed in a premier room with our own private garden courtyard, room was spacious, nicely furnished. We loved the thai style gold leaf cabinet that disguised the mini bar. Bathroom was large and well appointed.

Had breakfast daily at the Kad Kafe and a few lunches and dinners. Good variety of food on all occasions and of consistent and good quality. Especially loved the desserts! Was fairly quiet when we were there but not empty. Was a few conferences etc taking place but definitely not over crowded nor a ghost town. Most days only a handful of other people at the pool area. Gym facilities were good, only disappointment was segregated spa and sauna inside male/female change rooms, might be a plus for some people but were wanting to sauna together. Housekeeping were very efficient and went out of their way to help out with a lost item. All the staff were really helpful and spoke really good English. The location was good, a short walk to the night bazaar and easy enough to get tuk-tuks to other outer attractions. We had considered the Meridian and D2 but am glad we chose the Shangri la

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai,MAHARASHTRA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Not the best of the Hotels you may have stayed but certainly a very well located hotel in the center of the city.We had a pool facing room which has a better view than the mountain facing one.Breakfast was very good and the all the items were fresh and had a good variety to choose from.Our friends stayed at Le Meridian , which is also good, but the rooms are a bit smaller than Shangri La, but Le Meridian is even better located than this one.Night Market is just few meters away from the hotel and the proximity to the airport is also good.I would definitely suggest this hotel.

  • Liked — Very Good Staff
  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MehtaNirav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Shangri La for 3 nights in November. We made our own way from the airport, getting an official taxi, with agreed rate from the office opposite the baggage claim, no hassles at all. Upon arrival, we were met by the concierge who was very friendly and gave us cold towels and a welcome drink (very welcome after 27 hours travelling!). Check-in was efficient; we had booked/ pre-paid via Expedia. The hotel offered us an upgrade to executive (as our rate didn’t include breakfast), this was quite dear so we didn’t take up the offer.
The room was fantastic, overlooking the pool. A weird window looking into the bathroom from the bedroom, not sure the point of it, but there was a screen that could be pulled across! Bed was very comfortable. We were really impressed by the pool with a large separate Jacuzzi.
The hotel has a strange layout as the reception is on the 2nd floor. The ground floor (with entrance onto the street) had a couple of shops and a bar, but was a little desolate. Our only real criticism of the hotel was that we asked about trips from Chiang Mai, and little information was given, the staff didn’t seem that interested. We booked an excellent trip to the Karen Long Neck tribes and the Burma border from the travel agent directly opposite the hotel. Very efficient.
There are loads of restaurants near the hotel. We ate at the Gekko Garden (turn right outside the hotel then first left). Really reasonable and excellent food. We also ate at the Whole Earth (turn right outside the hotel, then first right). More expensive, excellent location and food. Would recommend you reserve a table as it gets busy. Sitting upstairs is the best place.
We went to the night market. As other reviewers have commented, it’s not as hectic as Bangkok. Some bargains, if you haggle!
We had a fantastic time at the Shangri La and would recommend staying here and would recommend visiting Chiang Mai, it’s a cool city and great scenery around.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DowdsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

We arrived at the airport and I had arranged for a car from the hotel to pick us up - more expensive than a taxi but a lot less hassle - highly recommend.
The hotel is very impressive from the front, the rooms were superb and very spacious with everything that you would need.
The one thing to bear in mind is that this is a business hotel so we saw mainly people on conferences in the hotel as opposed to holiday makers. The plus side of this was that the pool was virtually empty every day. The pool was excellent and the clearest one I have ever seen!
The hotel is at the bottom of the road going into Chiang Mai but is excellently located for a short walk in to the city, the night Bazaar is on the same road about 5 mins walk.
The staff was very friendly, the conceirge/bell boy that met us at the airport with the driver was excellent sharing lots of information on the way to the hotel - again what was good to see and what to miss.
The service from staff is great - an example of which was my wife was hungry so we went to the restaurant late afternoon, even though it was closed they still did us some food - superb!
There is a young lad in the Cocktail bar downstairs that was so fantastic, he made great cocktails but his company was even better. Made huge effort to get information about stuff happening in Chaing Mai and sharing it with my wife - great assest to the hotel!
Outside you have the Night Bazaar up the road - its huge, I preferred it to the one in Bangkok as you were left alone to look around rather than getting hasselled every 2 seconds. Nice Italian restaurant next to the hotel, but some great seafood ones nearby - choose your dinner from the fish tanks!

Would recommend Chaing Mai over Bangkok as a much nicer place to go, feels a lot safer to.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonypatton73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
2,283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 375 in Chiang Mai
2,878 reviews
2.4 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 375 in Chiang Mai
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing