We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #19 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
ACT
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We spent four nights at the Shangri La Chiang Mai, staying in one of the Horizon Club rooms. It is a beautiful hotel, with fantastic staff. The Horizon Club is fantastic with high quality food and drink. We also ate at the pool and that was great too. The cocktail bar is a lovely venue. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cait1Act
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLCMcomms, Assistant Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,305
    510
    132
    31
    23
See reviews for
486
788
125
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2010

This hotel was excellent in all ways. The rooms are clean and modern, the staff are always happy to help and were very good with the kids.

A trip I will always remember.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank iwantatr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLCMcomms, Assistant Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

This hotel was everything we expected from Shangri-la group with wonderful staff who could not have been more friendly and helpful, especially in the Horizon lounge and the pool.
Our room on the 10th floor, overlooking the pool, was very comfortable with excellent amenities.
The hotel is ideally situated for local restaurants and markets. The Kad Kafe in the hotel is also very good.
We enjoyed 16 very relaxing days there and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone considering a holiday in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david_hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLCMcomms, Assistant Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2010

The hotel was in a great location walk to the night markets. Tuk Tuk ride to the walking street market. The food was amazing. The kids could eat western food that they missed from home. Our 5 year old son got sick and they have a nurse at the hotel they sent to us 10mins after we requested one. They also have a docter which we didn't need. All staff in the whole hotel asked about our son the next day and were genuinely concerned. The kids loved the kids corner and the pool and the western cartoons on TV. Next time we go to Chaing Mai we will definatly go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herring76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLCMcomms, Assistant Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Givatayim
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2010

A beautifully architected facility, with care for the smallest of details, succeeds to feature a very warm and elegant atmosphere everywhere in the hotel. The Chi SPA’s unmatched elegance with its pampering staff made it to an unforgettable SPA experience; one to long for and return to.
The hotel’s staff, everywhere, strived to delight its guests and we admit that they did so successfully. We plan to be back and hope that the hotel and its staff will keep up their outstanding service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haim_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLCMcomms, Asssitant Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

The Shangri La is a wonderful hotel to relax, enjoy some time off with friends and family or also for business purposes. The pool is absolutely stunning with the garden, outside jacuzzi. The staff of the horizon club was soo helpful as I was preparing a conference and was grateful for their secretarial assistance. The restaurant serves a delicious buffet in the evenings. It's a short walk from the hotel to the night bazar and other tourist and local attractions. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markjmoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLCMcomms, Assistant Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

There is not a lot to say that other reviews have not said it. The hotel was great, beautiful room, amazing swimming pool, and very friendly staff. As we were on room only basis, we ate in the nearby restaurants. There is a great restaurant in the night market which is located very near the hotel. I have been to many Shangri-La and Traders and I have not had a single serious complaint. Fully recommend this hotel. The internet that the hotel provides in the business centre is not free and it is extremely slow, so it is better to bring your own if you need to use it frequently.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anastasiaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLCMcomms, Assistant Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.4 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 383 in Chiang Mai
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Travelbag, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing