We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and superb service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #18 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and superb service”
Reviewed 25 January 2011

My wife and I and another couple stayed in this hotel for 4 days in December 2010. Upon entering the main entrance, we were impressed with the spaciousness of the hall. Our room was big and very clean. The bathroom was also very clean with ample supply of toiletries. The grounds and swimming area were spacious and well kept. The breakfast was very good with lots of choices of Thai, Chinese, Japanese and western cuisine. The service we received at the restaurant, check-in and concierge was excellent and polite. Our stay in Chiang Mai was pleasant, partly attributed to this beautiful hotel and its staff. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good accommodation in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SINtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLCMcomms, Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 11 February 2011
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,319
    514
    133
    31
    23
See reviews for
491
798
126
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We stayed at an executive room and hence were able to make use of the Executive lounge. We thoroughly enjoyed the pampered lifestyle. We did prefer to have breakfast at the main dining room as the selections were better.

What's the deal with Tang? I'd expect a hotel of this class to serve real OJ...

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnsnkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLCMcomms, Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 11 February 2011
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

I have regularly visited Chiang Mai for the past 12 years and this is my first stay at Shangri La hotel.This hotel is amazing!!! I truly enjoyed the hotel, the very peaceful garden, the Chi Spa, the large swimming pool,the health club and the wonderful caring staff Since my stay lasted about 3 weeks, I had the chance to stay in both the Horizon Club room (excellent value for money) and the suite with garden whirlpool. Both are outstanding, I have never felt better in a hotel. In my opinion, this is the best hotel in Chiang Mai and I will definitely return to Shangri La.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portobello99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLCMcomms, Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 11 February 2011
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

I enjoyed three nights in this hotel in December last year. This was my first time staying in a Shangri-la hotel, and it was certainly different from most other hotels. The welcome was very pleasant and professional, letting you do the check in procedures in room was very nice after 15 hours travel.

I enjoyed Chiang Mai city so much I didnt try the swimming pool, but it sure looked lovely. The breakfast was excellent, really excellent. Of course, it costs also, and for a solo traveller I guess I could have chosen a smaller room or another hotel, but I enjoyed it!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLCMcomms, Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 9 January 2011
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNITED KINGDOM
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Having been an avid follower of the Shangri La hotels in Asia, (was married in one of their hotels) we were truly appalled by the service from their Chiang Mai branch. I do hope their Top managers get to read this!!
When first arriving, it took them 30 minutes to bring up the bags which was really disappointing considering we were desperate to go out and have a bite to eat.
When we stayed in the hotel, there were some festivities outside and nobody has informed us that there will be noise disruption at the wee hours in the morning. We do understand that the festivities is part of the Thai culture, but we would've appreciated it if at least we were informed in advance that this was happening. Considering there weren't a lot of guests in the hotel, you would've thought for a 5 star rated hotel they would've bothered informing theirs guests so they can adjust.
My husband went to complain the next morning and expressed how he felt that for a 5 star hotel their service wasn't really good at all. And that we felt that we are no importance to them. Imagine our faces when the manager told us "YES MR. X, YOU ARE NOT IMPORTANT." I could never imagine any hotel, and in this case even a 5 star hotel, would even utter such words! Not even service from Mcdonald's would make you feel that way and say those harsh words!!
Hotel was virtually empty and felt like a ghost town. No wonder the place is empty! I don't think anyone will come back to this hotel after their APPALLING service.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RACHHampshireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLCMcomms, Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 9 January 2011
“Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for all the inconvenience caused during your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup,Kent
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

This hotel is really nice BUT we really missed the thai feel that we always get when we stay in other hotels in thailand... we missed ......the candles...... the aroma of fragant oils and the flowers of thailand, which were all non existant in this hotel..... which was a shame as it was perfect in every other way. BUT they could add this things so easily. I went out and brought my own oil burner and oils for the room as i love the relaxed spa feel that thailand is so great at giving. If the manager is reading this I would like to say that I did like this hotel, the lady staff at breakfast were wonderful as was the pool area etc, but add a little bit more of a thai feel as it was really mssing here. We enjoyed Chaing Mai but do prefer Hua hin (nrth thailand), we would like to recommend the restaurant outside the hotel called, Lemongrass for a nice thai meal, all in all we did enjoy our 9 days here. Another note to the manager the turndown service was too early 18:30 hrs, as we were always in our room getting ready, so missed out on this service every day as it was simply to early. In other hotels we stay in the turned down service happens around 20:00hrs. We are big fans of thailand and enjoyed every day spent here, the pool the breakfast the staff were all wonderful....

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuanddawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLCMcomms, Assistant Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 2 January 2011
“Thank you for the kind compliments. We have acknowledged and noted on your comments earlier. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

The main standout from this hotel was attention to detail! Everything from the greeting upon arrival, the architecture, the staff, the service, the menus, the food --- attention to detail in every aspect.

Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by the concierge team and offered refreshments and a cool scented towel. The director of rooms then came to talk to us and asked us to view the room with one of the reception staff just to make sure it's adequate. The standard Horizon Club room we'd booked for 3 (a king/twin plus a rollaway) turned out to be a squeezed for space. Since the hotel was not full due to low season, we opted to upgrade rooms to a larger room on the top floor (also a Horizon Club room).

The room wase nice, exceptionally clean and well maintained and had a great lookout across the city to the mountains in the distance (and was great for sunset photographs).

The Horizon Club itself was very worthwhile. The quality of food and refreshments was beyond expectation. The service was exceptional!

The Spa was also on a much higher level than the numerous massage joints dotted through Chiang Mai. The himalayan stone massage was highly rejuvenating. The ambience in the Chi Spa is very soothing.

Overall it's very hard to express in words the cohesiveness with which all the small parts of this hotel play a big role together. The atmosphere, ambience and music in public areas are incredible. The architecture inside and out is jawdropping. The luxury is Thai opulence - not over the top but very very luxurious none the less.

The quality of food in the restaurants was phemonemal. The buffets featured wide ranges of foods over several stations, with many live stations including pizza and pasta for dinner.

Overall I would highly recommend Shangri-La and it will certainly be at the top of my list should I ever return to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miamiheat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLCMcomms, Assistant Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 2 January 2011
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 386 in Chiang Mai
3,013 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,399 reviews
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,854 reviews
2.4 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 386 in Chiang Mai
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelbag, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing