We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jasmine T
Manchester, United Kingdom

Amazing -Couldn’t fault it

Review of Pingviman Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Mar 2019via mobile
Would come back in a heartbeat! This place is amazing - the rooms and property itself is designed beautifully with traditional intricately engraved wood furnishings.

Place is immaculately clean, service is great, breakfast and poolside snacks tasty and good value. All the staff were so welcoming and friendly. A special shout out to Fern on reception for helping us sort out a query we had with our next travel arrangements in Phuket.

We were also able to keep our bags in the storage and use the facilities for the remainder of the day as we had a late flight.

There is a real serene feel here, it is quiet despite being so close to everything going on. The pool area is decorated with palm trees and greenery, all you can hear is the chirping of the birds.

It feels like a piece of heaven between the hustle and bustle of Chiang Mai.
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£47
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.8 miles from Pingviman Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
£93
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
1.3 miles from Pingviman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£116
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.1 miles from Pingviman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£96
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
1.5 miles from Pingviman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£82
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Pingviman Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £134
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Pingviman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £35
  • Priceline
1.3 miles from Pingviman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £61
  • Priceline
1.7 miles from Pingviman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £235
  • Expedia.com
    £268
4.6 miles from Pingviman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    £45
  • Hotels.com
3.1 miles from Pingviman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveller rating
399
142
37
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
399
142
37
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath carved wood old city beautiful oasis traditional thai hotel egg station pool area lovely hotel koi pond within the walls breakfast selection huge room lanna style spent nights here beautiful room the ground floor spacious rooms
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 602 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2019 via mobile

I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Friendly staff, beautifully clean with an excellent buffet breakfast provided, this quirky hotel delivers on every point.

For us, its location in the old town, 10 minutes walk from Wat Phra Sing, was perfect. Whilst some have commented that it is not in near Tha Pae Gate, we viewed this as a bonus as we were away from the touristy bits. It is also extremely easy to get anywhere by flagging down the red vehicles (Song Thaews)... Price per person at time of writing this review was 30 baht per person (40 baht to the £ sterling as at Feb 2019).

For those who are travelling light, there is a self service launderette virtually opposite the hotel.

Please do consider the Pingviman Hotel. It is a wonderfully restful, calming place.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank SianH194
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2019 via mobile

We have just finished a 3 night stay here, and it was absolutely lovely. The staff were really friendly and always happy to help. It’s a great location within walking distance of everything or if you prefer the hotel offers free bike hire, the bikes were a little dodgy but it was all part of the fun of it. Pool /bar area is nice and never had trouble finding a sunbed. The pool is lovely and warm aswell. The room was also really nice, very spacious and clean. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip to Chiang Mai.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Aimeelou262
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2019

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are quite spacious with very nice bathrooms. I loved the whole decor of the hotel, very "Thai" feeling. Staff was friendly. We arrived earlier than our room was ready and they stored our bags for us. Breakfast was good too.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire41090
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2019 via mobile

We made our weeklong Pingviman reservation based on favorable TripAdvisor reviews. Our experience has exceeded expectations.

Each time we step into our enormous, beautifully furnished room we feel a welcome relief from the hustle bustle of the old city. We enjoy the koi ponds, lushly landscaped pool area and gorgeous lobby.

Best of all: the staff. The front desk people are warm and helpful, and greeted us with a welcome drink the day we arrived. A special thanks goes to Kannika (“Kie”) who generously opened her own purse to share her nail scissors when we were unable to find one anywhere in town. Her kindness and generosity are much appreciated!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hollyf757
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2019 via mobile

The Pingvman is a smaller hotel nestled in the old city. If you like the location you can’t beat the accommodations for the value.
Nice pool.
Staff friendly.
Fitness center is passable, but not air conditioned.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Annemarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews