We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£100
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Breakfast included
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Martin P
London, United Kingdom

OK from far but don’t look closely

Review of Pingviman Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 May 2019via mobile
The rooms were big, but everything in there was old and not taken care of. The front door had a gap when shut and was a nudge away from opening even when “locked”. The floor had cracks where ants and the likes of crawled out of.
Most of the staff don’t speak decent English. The pool area was not enough for more than 15 people at a time, so I don’t know how they handle it when it’s high season. We constantly had to ask 2nd, 3rd or fourth time for pool towels. It’s a struggle and a fight to get one of the dozen sinners they have.

We were told there’s a departure lounge for us to use, but on the day we left we were shown the showers next to the pool where there’s no privacy. Also, unless you want to be in a constant fight with mosquitos in the room and pool showers, don’t visit this place. The location is good for a one night stopover as it’s very close to the airport and they had a shuttle for free (at and up to certain times only) which we were not offered upon arrival. When we were leaving they called a taxi for us - a Mini Cooper. We had 2 massive suitcases and 2 hand luggages. A tuk-tuk would have been better as we were hugging our luggage on the way and also got dropped off 5 mins walk from the airport because “police, police I no stop” at the drop off area.
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    £262
  • Algotels
0.1 miles from Pingviman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    £83
  • Hotels.com
1.3 miles from Pingviman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    £73
  • Hotels.com
0.3 miles from Pingviman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    £84
  • Hotels.com
1.5 miles from Pingviman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    £70
  • Hotels.com
0.6 miles from Pingviman Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    £31
  • Booking.com
0.8 miles from Pingviman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
    £101
  • Hotels.com
1.5 miles from Pingviman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    £36
  • Algotels
3.1 miles from Pingviman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    £37
  • Priceline
    £39
1.7 miles from Pingviman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    £209
  • Booking.com
4.6 miles from Pingviman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveller rating
398
142
37
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
398
142
37
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath carved wood old city beautiful oasis traditional thai hotel egg station pool area lovely hotel koi pond within the walls breakfast selection huge room lanna style spent nights here beautiful room the ground floor spacious rooms
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 601 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2019 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel. Breakfast was included in our fare; it had Thai food, fruits, noodles, and a “omelette bar”.
It has a pool with comfortable sunbath beds. The hotel personnel is very nice and treats you well. It is in one corner of the old city, and it is close by walking to the main temples. You can also find at 15-20min the tuk tuk van station to Doi Suthep.
In the corner next to the river you can also find a bar to take some beers and eat something.
I reserved the Luxury King Bed With Jacuzzi; my room was beautiful, all vintage made of wood with very comfortable bed, and a balcony.
Totally recommendable.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Black_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2019 via mobile

As the title says I have mixed feelings about this hotel:

Pro's
Clean
Spacious
Great pool
Good selection of thai/Chinese breakfast food
Spacious rooms
Great air con

Con's
VERY POOR PLUMBING!!!!!
Poor selection of western food at breakfast
No service around pool for drinks/snacks
The worst coffee on the planet
Uncomfortable bed
Poor internet (but serviceable)
No room key door locks with a padlock

It is good value for money and I feel with some effort this could be a great little hotel, as it stands now though i cant help feeling there are better hotel out there.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2019

The hotel is a traditional Thai Hotel which was very nice. The hotel was very clean. The rooms were very spacious. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was nice. The pool was perfect after a days sight seeing!!

Im not sure if it was just the weekend we stayed, during the week the pool was very calm and relaxing. But at the weekend it was full of children with nowhere to sit and relax!!

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 April 2019

We stayed for 4 nights whilst on honeymoon and I have to say I am quite shocked by all the 5/5 reviews for this hotel. There are a few things they really need to improve on.

The room was nice and I especially liked the spa bath. However I would strongly advise NOT to book a room with "pool access", the truth is anyone can access the pool so it really doesn't matter. However booking "Pool Access" means your door opens right onto the main bit and it is very noisy, kids screaming during the whole day etc and your balcony has no privacy whatsoever.

The breakfast was vile, and I am not usually a fussy person when it comes to food! Everything was very stale and running low no matter what time you turned up.

We also made the mistake of eating in the hotel restaurant one evening as we had returned quite late from a day trip. My husbands satay chicken was grey on the outside and pink in the middle. We both left the meal feeling quite put off (and still hungry as we had barely eaten anything) It was just revolting and makes me feel ill thinking about it now.

The service was mixed. Not as good as previous hotels so felt a bit let down.

Overall the stay was OK but would not return.

Room tip: Dont get a room that faces out onto the pool
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank dianaflanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2019

Beautiful hotel with impressive reception area,Thai style rooms with loads of character and a large jacuzzi bath.Lovely pool area with plenty of sunbeds.the only downside was the breakfast buffet wasn't very warm.

Date of stay: April 2019
2  Thank stephendZ7525PI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews