We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai
Ranked #25 of 384 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Kantary Hills

Only stayed here 2 nights, helpful and pleasant staff who could not do enough for you. Lovely large modern room with plenty of space and facilities. Bathroom was lovely too, nice big hot shower and separate bath. Bed was huge, my husband and I had a great night's sleep which was just what we needed. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was lovely, great choice and amazing bananna bread.

Although hotel is a little way out of the centre, this didn't worry us as we were happy to go and explore despite the torrential rain that we had during our stay.

My only complaint would be that you had to pay for Wifi, which I think is a bit of a cheek when most hotels these days provide this FOC. My husband also used the sauna and steam room, which he said was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
The Kantary Hills Hotel, Chiang Mai, thanks you for sharing your review with us and our readers after your recent stay with us. Your appreciation of our attentive, friendly, and helpful staff has been shared with them. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    270
    61
    10
    11
See reviews for
155
261
64
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kula
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Kantary Hills is convenient to shops, restaurants or tuk tuk/Red Truck taxis.
The hotel is clean, rooms are spacious. On property restaurant convenient any time of day, many delicious selections. Entry/exit security guard and locked access to elevator to the room was comforting. Pool and gym was nice to have.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Darleen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, appreciates your informative endorsement of our property and looks forward to your soonest return. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

If you’re looking for a honeymoon location or a luxury holiday resort in Chiang Mai, the Kantary Hills is not for you. There are several more romantic options to choose from around Chiang Mai for about the same price. But if you’re looking for an efficiently run business hotel that is not far from the airport and offers decent workshop facilities, the Kantary Hills is ideal.

The self-catering apartments are spacious and blandly furnished – functional rather than stylish – with two televisions (lounge and bedroom) and a well-fitted bathroom. Uniquely in my experience, there are individual post-boxes for the self-catering rooms in the lobby. It really does feel like you are living in an apartment block rather than a hotel.

I was not overwhelmed by the breakfast choices or the lunch buffet, which offered too many ‘international’ options and not enough local food. For authentic Thai cuisine, better to go out to one of the numerous nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dromedaryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, thanks you for your positive endorsement of our property as a good venue for business guests and workshops. We look forward to seeing and serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn England
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My wife changed this hotel from the one that Kuoni had arranged and didn't she do well, on arrival the check in was very smooth. We were shown to our room and had been given an up grade to a 1 bedroom apartment filled with washing machine, microwave cooker and everything you could need. The rooms were very spacious and clean just like the rest of the hotel. The free breakfast was excellent and the food and drink in the hotel was excellent and very reasonably priced.the swimming pool was very clean and good size for swimming along with hot tubs and jacuzzi . There is a free use of the coffee and nibble room from 09 00hrs until late if you are staying there and another thing I liked was that you needed a room key to enter the lifts to your rooms and coffee bar. The hotel is about 10 mins in tuc tuc costing around 150bht to centre, we hired Mr Chad from across the road for 800bht to take us on a tour around the city to 3 temples in his Tuc Tuc before transferring to his 4 wheel drive to take us up to Doi Suthep temple and wait for us and only took payment after we had finished our half day out with him. I would highly recommend this hotel for a short break in the area.

Room Tip: We asked for a Room with a. Pool view and were given room on the corner with a pool view and large a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RushyRuncornEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, is pleased to have your informative feedback, after your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing your review with us and our readers which should be useful to those planning a trip to Chiang Mai. We look forward to seeing and serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Visited Chiang Mai in the middle of Sep 2013 for a family vacation. We had 3 rooms. During our check-in, the Front Desk staff did seem to be quite busy multi-tasking which resulted in a little longer wait (~ 20min) than expected, especially since there was only 1 set of guests before my family. While I had overlooked to ask for double sharing rooms during my booking via the travel agent, requests to change to rooms with King sized beds was readily acceded to without questions.

The staff in general are friendly, polite and helpful. Did not face the issues which some other reviews have highlighted.

Breakfast was decent with room for improvement as certain dishes from the buffet line were overcooked. The Wednesday night grill does look very tempting but unfortunately did not have the time to try it on this trip.

The rooms are definitely very comfortable and cosy though design might look a little dated.

Overall, a great place to stay which is value for money and situated at a great location and would definitely return on my next trip and also recommend this place to my friends.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ho X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, is pleased that you have shared your review of your recent stay with us and our readers. Your positive endorsement and stated intent to return on your next trip is appreciated. Your thoughtful mention of our attentive, friendly, and helpful staff has been shared with them.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at the Kantary Hills as part of our holiday package to Thailand. We spend two nights here and the stay was faultless.

Check in
This was really smooth we were met by a rep from our tour operator who was extremely helpful. The staff showed us to our room and took our bags

Room
The room is basically a self contained flat with a fully equipped kitchen. So if you want to you can save cost buying stocking up food but when the food is that cheap already why would you? The shower room was nice and clean which also contained a bath.

Breakfast
They have a breakfast buffet which has a range of options which will fill you up and you can also make your own omelette with a number of different ingredients. You can also order tea, coffee or hot chocolate when you sit down at the table

Other
There is a gym onsite which for a hotel gym is actually very good has a number of weights and machines to have a solid workout. The pool is a nice side and had chairs around it.

Location
Chiang Mai itself is situated in rural northern part of Thailand so the views around the hotel are amazing. The city itself is really small and you can get a tuk tuk around to anywhere or the small red pickup trucks which have been converted into a taxi. Go to the sunday market if you can it is amazing and there are so many bargains to pick up if your barta enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amojaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, is pleased to learn that your recent stay with us was faultless and met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, Devon
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We last visited Chiang Mai 5 years ago and that time stayed in a hotel in the old city. As we booked this holiday very late, we were happy to find that Kantary Hills had availability. I hadn't done much research prior to our trip and thought we had paid for a room with breakfast, but we were pleasantly surprised to find that we had a one-bedroomed serviced apartment, to include lounge and kitchen /dining area. This was well equipped and had the added bonus of a washing machine and a fridge/freezer, which was a welcome replacement to the usual 'mini-bar'! There was an ironing room on the 3rd floor which was also useful.

The whole apartment was spacious with modern, simple furniture, though could be described as functional rather than stylish in design. Bed linen and towels were changed daily, which we appreciated because I wasn't very well during our stay. The bathroom was impressive, again very simply set out, but it was very spacious and had a constant supply of very hot water. The only minor criticism would be the size of the balcony which was very small. We had a room facing the back and didn't have a very attractive view, so we might not have chosen to sit out very often. We were away from the main hustle and bustle of the main street nearby and didn't experience any noise problems from local bars or entertainment.

Unlike some previous reports, we found the staff at Kantary Hills to be very welcoming and though most guests were Chinese or Asian, we didn't have many difficulties communicating as most staff spoke some English.

The facilities at the hotel are quite acceptable. We used the pool area which was a regular shape and good for exercise. The gym, sauna and steam rooms looked very good, but we didn't use these facilities. We enjoyed using the residents lounge which had all day access and complimentary refreshments.

We ate at the hotel on a couple of occasions and the menu serves both Thai and International food. The prices we thought were very reasonable for a 4* hotel. Breakfast was good and likewise catered for a variety of tastes, but the bakery items, particularly the English scones were very good!

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return as we thought the hotel provided excellent value. One thing though that might concern others is the location. It is only a 10 minute taxi ride from the airport and this meant that the flight path crossed the hotel. This didn't bother us because Chiang Mai is nothing like London's Heathrow and the earliest we heard flights was at 7:30am and the latest around 9:20pm. The hotel runs a free shuttle service to the airport which could be useful for some people. As we had previously visited Chiang Mai, we easily orientated ourselves with the old city. It is approximately 40min walk to the old city walls, be we would recommend using the Song Thaews (red taxis) to travel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPDSPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, thanks you for sharing your thoughts with us after your recent stay. Your informative commentary should be helpful to others planning a stay in Chiang Mai while your mention of the amenities in our suites as well as the Residents Lounge’s complimentary refreshments is appreciated. We look forward to serving you again soon. Thank you for your favourable review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 384 in Chiang Mai
1,850 reviews
0.3 mi away
BED Nimman
BED Nimman
#7 of 384 in Chiang Mai
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Art Mai Gallery Nimman Hotel Chiang Mai By Compass Hospitality
2.9 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 384 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai

Property: Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai
Address: 44 Nimmanhaemin Road | Suthep, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#43 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kantary Hills, Chiangmai is the latest addition to the stylish Kantary Group of Hotels and Serviced Apartments, renowned throughout Thailand for offering the very finest in service and facilities. Featuring a range of spacious, elegantly appointed and fully furnished studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, the accommodation at Kantary Hills is unrivaled for style and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing