We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Everything you could wish for in a hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai
Ranked #29 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
SheffieldYorkshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Everything you could wish for in a hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Moving on from Bangkok with Destination Asia we flew to Chiang Mai in the North of Thailand and to the Kantary Hills Hotel. Again a faultless transfer from airport to hotel by this company. We were met by a young man called Lee who was as knowledgeable as he was pleasant and he was assigned to us for the three days of our stay.
The hotel again is of a very high standard. We again had a suite of rooms with a washing machine which came in handy for our smalls!! The restaurant is impressive with lovely food and an added bonus of a very talented duo playing and singing at dinner. The décor is modern and stylish with swimming pool and a useful lounge with books and newspapers and a ready supply of tea, coffee, biscuits and cake for residents to make use of at any time.
We visited the Sunday market with thousands of stalls and it would be impossible to find nothing to buy! Our second day was spent with Lee, our guide at an elephant sanctuary where we watched elephants painting pictures and playing football and darts. By elephant ride we visited a Burmese hill village where the women had elongated necks due to the gold rings they wore round them. Then to an orchid and butterfly farm, silver, jade and silk factories and then to a tiger sanctuary where we cuddled up with tigers in their cages. I can't believe that we did that! The animals all seemed to be well cared for and trained with love rather than cruelty.
Our last day was spent at a village high in the hills where there is Chiang Mais biggest temple and a cruise on the River Ping to a farmers collective where we watched the processes of grinding wheat, preparing rice and looked at the crops of lemon grass, Chinese gooseberries, pineapples and mangos. Like everywhere in Thailand the area is lush and green with amazing tropical blooms. Colours and smells are amazing!
Chiang MaI is a beautiful place and the Kantary Hills Hotel a very good hotel of a very high standard and the perfect base for exploring the town.

Room Tip: Ask to be up graded to a suite of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, appreciates your sharing your thoughts with us and our readers after your recent stay. Your thoughtful appreciation of your guide has been shared with him. Your descriptive review of your stay and the activities available should be very useful to other readers planning a visit to Chiang Mai. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thanks again for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    256
    59
    10
    9
See reviews for
136
244
61
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Fairly new hotel but well designed and very comfortable. A little way out of town but just ashort cab or tuk tuk ride to all the spots you want to visit. Rooms were very well designed and the bathroom was sensational. A must stay.

Room Tip: Anything facing th mountains overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, thanks you for your positive endorsement as a must stay when visiting Chiang Mai. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Kantary Hills

Only stayed here 2 nights, helpful and pleasant staff who could not do enough for you. Lovely large modern room with plenty of space and facilities. Bathroom was lovely too, nice big hot shower and separate bath. Bed was huge, my husband and I had a great night's sleep which was just what we needed. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was lovely, great choice and amazing bananna bread.

Although hotel is a little way out of the centre, this didn't worry us as we were happy to go and explore despite the torrential rain that we had during our stay.

My only complaint would be that you had to pay for Wifi, which I think is a bit of a cheek when most hotels these days provide this FOC. My husband also used the sauna and steam room, which he said was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
The Kantary Hills Hotel, Chiang Mai, thanks you for sharing your review with us and our readers after your recent stay with us. Your appreciation of our attentive, friendly, and helpful staff has been shared with them. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kula
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Kantary Hills is convenient to shops, restaurants or tuk tuk/Red Truck taxis.
The hotel is clean, rooms are spacious. On property restaurant convenient any time of day, many delicious selections. Entry/exit security guard and locked access to elevator to the room was comforting. Pool and gym was nice to have.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Darleen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, appreciates your informative endorsement of our property and looks forward to your soonest return. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

If you’re looking for a honeymoon location or a luxury holiday resort in Chiang Mai, the Kantary Hills is not for you. There are several more romantic options to choose from around Chiang Mai for about the same price. But if you’re looking for an efficiently run business hotel that is not far from the airport and offers decent workshop facilities, the Kantary Hills is ideal.

The self-catering apartments are spacious and blandly furnished – functional rather than stylish – with two televisions (lounge and bedroom) and a well-fitted bathroom. Uniquely in my experience, there are individual post-boxes for the self-catering rooms in the lobby. It really does feel like you are living in an apartment block rather than a hotel.

I was not overwhelmed by the breakfast choices or the lunch buffet, which offered too many ‘international’ options and not enough local food. For authentic Thai cuisine, better to go out to one of the numerous nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dromedaryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, thanks you for your positive endorsement of our property as a good venue for business guests and workshops. We look forward to seeing and serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

My wife changed this hotel from the one that Kuoni had arranged and didn't she do well, on arrival the check in was very smooth. We were shown to our room and had been given an up grade to a 1 bedroom apartment filled with washing machine, microwave cooker and everything you could need. The rooms were very spacious and clean just like the rest of the hotel. The free breakfast was excellent and the food and drink in the hotel was excellent and very reasonably priced.the swimming pool was very clean and good size for swimming along with hot tubs and jacuzzi . There is a free use of the coffee and nibble room from 09 00hrs until late if you are staying there and another thing I liked was that you needed a room key to enter the lifts to your rooms and coffee bar. The hotel is about 10 mins in tuc tuc costing around 150bht to centre, we hired Mr Chad from across the road for 800bht to take us on a tour around the city to 3 temples in his Tuc Tuc before transferring to his 4 wheel drive to take us up to Doi Suthep temple and wait for us and only took payment after we had finished our half day out with him. I would highly recommend this hotel for a short break in the area.

Room Tip: We asked for a Room with a. Pool view and were given room on the corner with a pool view and large a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RushyRuncornEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, is pleased to have your informative feedback, after your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing your review with us and our readers which should be useful to those planning a trip to Chiang Mai. We look forward to seeing and serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Visited Chiang Mai in the middle of Sep 2013 for a family vacation. We had 3 rooms. During our check-in, the Front Desk staff did seem to be quite busy multi-tasking which resulted in a little longer wait (~ 20min) than expected, especially since there was only 1 set of guests before my family. While I had overlooked to ask for double sharing rooms during my booking via the travel agent, requests to change to rooms with King sized beds was readily acceded to without questions.

The staff in general are friendly, polite and helpful. Did not face the issues which some other reviews have highlighted.

Breakfast was decent with room for improvement as certain dishes from the buffet line were overcooked. The Wednesday night grill does look very tempting but unfortunately did not have the time to try it on this trip.

The rooms are definitely very comfortable and cosy though design might look a little dated.

Overall, a great place to stay which is value for money and situated at a great location and would definitely return on my next trip and also recommend this place to my friends.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ho X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, is pleased that you have shared your review of your recent stay with us and our readers. Your positive endorsement and stated intent to return on your next trip is appreciated. Your thoughtful mention of our attentive, friendly, and helpful staff has been shared with them.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.2 mi away
Art Mai Gallery Nimman Hotel Chiang Mai By Compass Hospitality
3.6 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#30 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
0.3 mi away
BED Nimman Hotel
BED Nimman Hotel
#6 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai

Property: Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai
Address: 44 Nimmanhaemin Road | Suthep, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#43 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kantary Hills, Chiangmai is the latest addition to the stylish Kantary Group of Hotels and Serviced Apartments, renowned throughout Thailand for offering the very finest in service and facilities. Featuring a range of spacious, elegantly appointed and fully furnished studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, the accommodation at Kantary Hills is unrivaled for style and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, LateRooms, Travelbag and Agoda so you can book your Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing