We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second to none!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai
Ranked #24 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Second to none!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Arrived at this lovely hotel in such a depressed mood as my case was missing at the airport! The staff in reception were absolutely fabulous at dealing with the airport lost luggage etc! Was so happy to get it back, the poor duty manager had to endure a big hug and tears from a very grateful lady!! The hotel itself is in a great location, plenty of bars and restaurants, spas etc in walking distance and a nice relaxed feel to the place. The spotless room we were allocated was like a mini apartment with a full kitchen, dining and lounge area, huge bedroom with comfy bed and well stocked bathroom! Would certainly like to have spent a few more days here but we are off on a tour so only one night was possible! Again many thanks to the fab staff who helped me out in a difficult situation! Thought I was gonna have to wear hubby's shirts for a few days lol!

Room Tip: All rooms great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Medicma3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, thanks you for your thoughtful expression of thanks to our staff in dealing with the airport lost luggage department. We look forward to your soonest return for a more lengthy stay with us. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    261
    60
    10
    9
See reviews for
145
249
64
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed in The Kantary Hills for the second year running from 18 until 26 December 2013. The up front contact with the reservations team was excellent, and everything was exactly as we agreed - transfer from the Airport - One bedroom apartment over looking the pool. The room service staff are excellent. The only negative is the lack of attention to detail around the restaurant - staff on some mornings were great and on other occasions you really have to go and ask fro tables to be cleared and a coffee. We had a complete mix up on the Chistmas Eve around table bookings etc this would not have been so bad except due to previous problems we deliberately made our booking with a Manager and it was still messed up - the GM to his credit did apologies and offer a complimentary bottle of wine but the damage was done. This being compounded because the same thing happened the year before. As I said the Hotel, the facilities - pool and gym, the location in the up and coming area of Chiang Mai are excellent - this is only let down, by an easily fixed lack of attention to detail around the restaurant. That being said we will certainly use the Kantary Hills again.

Room Tip: Over look the Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidWhitelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, thanks you for your thoughtful review which has been shared with our team in our continuing effort to provide attentive, enjoyable and pleasant stays for all of our guests all the time. As a regular guest your observations are appreciated very much and we look forward to continuing to serve you on your next stay with us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from 2nd Jan. We were allocated a studio room that had everything we could want and more including a huge bed! The only problem we had was the noise coming from the nightclub across the road which continued until well after 3.00am and kept me up all night! We reported the problem the following morning and by the afternoon we were moved to a much quieter room in the Kantary Hlls 2 which was a bit of a trek from reception etc but was worth it for a good nights sleep. The staff were brilliant, even repacking and moving all our luggage from one room to the other and leaving it exactly as they found it. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice, but tea & coffee was a bit slow to be served, as others have commented. The pool area was lovely, clean & quiet, with enough sunbeds when we wanted them. The hotel was close to the airport but a little way from the main area of Chiang Mai so a tuk tuk or taxi was required but they were easy to get hold of. We would definatly recommend this hotel as a good base to explore Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the carpark to avoid the nightclub noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayjay45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, thanks you for endorsing our property as being near the airport but a good base from which to go forth and explore Chiang Mai and its environs. Your thoughtful mention of our attentive, brilliant, helpful, and friendly staff has been on passed to them. We hope to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable stay. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I booked at this hotel, based on a recommendation of a friend, and thanks for the recommendation.
I stayed there along with my wife and two kids from 27 Dec till 30. The hotel is excellent by all what it means. I took a studio room, the room is spacious, has LCD , fridge, toaster cooker etc. the big is very comfortable and was big enough for all of us. There is a small dining tables, and two sofas.
The bath room big enough.
The room is clrean. The staff is excellent, very helpfull. Tried the reasturant for dinner, food is good, breakfast variety is also good.
The hotel is on Nimmanhaemin Road, which has shops, caffes, reastaurants etc.
In summary, this is an excellent hotel and near to tje airport.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fadi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, is very pleased to have met your expectations and thanks you for your positive recommendation as an excellent hotel near the airport. We hope to see and serve you and yours again soon. Thank you for your commentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The hotel is a bit out out from the centre, but it's a simple and cheap tuk tuk ride away.

However, it seems the staff cannot be bothered in many respects.

At breakfast the staff tend to ignore you. You always have to ask for coffee - it is never brought to you.

Toilet paper in the room doesn't seem to get replenished.

The reception staff were slow in organising a cab for us one day when we needed to be in town to go on a trip.

Worst of all, when we needed to go to the airport the reception were slow in getting our luggage downstairs despite being given plenty of notice.

Also, the level of spoken English was very poor by the staff.

Overall, it seems the staff are not interested in European or American visitors. Hotel seems to focus on Japanese and other South East Asian customers.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tin586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
The Kantary Hills Hotel appreciates you taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay with us in which we have shared with our management team. We would also like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations during your stay. To clarify, toilet paper in guest rooms is replenished if need be and there is also always a spare roll in the bathroom in a woven basket made for this purpose. We have now assigned a member of staff at breakfast whose sole job is to offer tea and coffee to all guests during breakfast. We have English teachers training our staff as we understand the importance of all our staff being able to communicate in English. We shall review this English training syllabus to ensure that all topics related to each department are covered. It is a great regret for us that it was a very busy time for our reception staff upon the time that you wished to checkout, we have reviewed the situation and will ensure that there are enough staff on reception at all times to be able to assist in these sometimes unexpected busy periods.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity be able to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We spent four nights at the Kantary Hills hotel from 28th-31st January. It is basically a good hotel, which lets itself down badly on service and lack of attention to detail.

Starting with the good points, first. The rooms are spacious and immaculately clean. We had a room overlooking the car park which has a noisy night club in it. The rooms facing on to the pool do not have this disadvantage, but there were none available when we arrived. The rooms at the back like ours have enclosed balconies which are well glazed and can keep out most (but not all) of the noise from the night club (but more on this below).

The pool area is lovely and has two excellent jacuzzis. The gym is well equipped and clean. Breakfasts are fine and served from 5.30 am to 10.30, meaning that you don't have to miss it if you have an early start.

The hotel is located on the Nimmanhaemin Road, which is a hip, buzzing area of Chiang Mai. There are plenty of bars and places to eat around here, but it is not in the old town. That said, it is ten minute, 150 baht (£3) ride into town, so this is not a problem. We found that there were more choices in the old town and that it was a little cheaper to eat and drink there than around the hotel.

During our stay we found the service to be, at best, average, and poor at worst. One of the windows in our enclosed balcony would not close, meaning that we could not keep the noise out of the night club. I had to report it each morning for THREE mornings, before it was repaired on our penultimate day. At breakfast, coffee was never offered to us; we always had to get up and ask for it to be brought. This is the opposite of what we experience in other hotels that we have stayed in- and we are seasoned travellers. On the morning of our check-out, I asked at 7am for our luggage to be brought to the reception for our transfer to the airport at 7.30. We ended up having a fraught check-out because no one seemed to know where the bell boy had got to, leaving our pick-up waiting and me in a panic about getting to the airport on time.

The Kantary Hils could up its game by taking a leaf out of the book of its sister hotel, the Kantary Bay in Phuket where we went on to spend a fantastic week. I will review this hotel separately, but suffice to say that, in contrast, service was excellent, the staff could not do enough for you, and my coffee cup was always full at breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the car park as there is a noisy night club in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NVW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, appreciates your taking the time and making the effort to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us, which has been shared with our management team. We offer our apologies for failing to have met your expectations regarding staff service. On the particular morning when checking out, our staff was overwhelmed by the number of guests checking out at the same time. We will now ensure that there are enough bellboys available for such unexpected busy periods. Our staff has been briefed and trained in our continuing effort to provide enjoyable and pleasant stays for all of our guests all the time. Thank you for your positive commentary on our accommodations, swimming pool, and fitness centre. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you again soon. Please feel free to contact me directly at gm@kantaryhills-chiangmai.com for additional information or if you have any questions. Thank you again for your helpful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We spent 3D2N in this hotel Dec 13 and had a pretty good experience. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable. Staff attitudes are mixed. We had very good experience when we checked into the rooms but some staff working at the restaurant during breakfast are less attentive and impatient. Generally a nice hotel with nice restaurants and shops nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewTan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, thanks you for your feedback and positive endorsement. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Art Mai Gallery Nimman Hotel Chiang Mai By Compass Hospitality
3.1 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BED Nimman Hotel
BED Nimman Hotel
#6 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
3.7 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai

Property: Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai
Address: 44 Nimmanhaemin Road | Suthep, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#43 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kantary Hills, Chiangmai is the latest addition to the stylish Kantary Group of Hotels and Serviced Apartments, renowned throughout Thailand for offering the very finest in service and facilities. Featuring a range of spacious, elegantly appointed and fully furnished studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, the accommodation at Kantary Hills is unrivaled for style and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing