We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai
Ranked #24 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at Kantary Hills for 2 weeks. What an awesome stay. Attentive staff, awesome breakfast and dinners.
Could not fault the cleanliness of the hotel or our room
The pool was great. Planned on using the gym but didn't
Fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anma53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
The Kantary Hills Hotel, Chiang Mai thanks you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your 2 week stay with us, and that our dining options, rooms and facilities met your expectations. We truly do appreciate your feedback, and hope to have the opportunity to see and serve you again.

Sincerely yours,

General Manager
Kantary Hills Hotel and Serviced Apartments, Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    261
    60
    10
    9
See reviews for
145
249
64
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel has some very good points which should have earn't it a rating of 5 out of 5, but some of its staff let it down a bit on our visit.

The hotel is located a bit away from the very centre of Chiang Mai, but don't that put you off at all, as the area it is in is one of the trendiest neighborhoods in this lovely city. The location in fact couldn't be better. Just a short walk away is Nimminhemin Road, which is full of trendy coffee shops and restaurants with bags of choice for all tastes.

To get to town involves just a short trip in the Chiang Mai Red Car, which is about 20Baht per person into town or about 50 cent. These are like taxis but pretty much stop for anyone on the way, and are very cost effective means of getting around the city. We even hired one for the afternoon to take us to various places out in the outlet village and is only cost about €12.

The hotel itself is very nicely appointed with the rooms we had being like mini apartments, with separate living area and kitchenette, as well as you bedroom. The big plus being a washing machine that we could clean some clothes in, with drying space on the balconies.

The pool is very nice after a day out in town, or trekking with Elephants, with a big pool and hot tubs.

Now on to the staff. Unfortunately when we arrived we weer given the two rooms we booked for five of us, two adults and our three children. There was a bit of fuss at the reception desk, to which i asked if everything was OK, so we proceeded up to our rooms. When we arrived there was only a double bed in each room. The your student porter was very helpful and immediately saw our problem, but the staff on reception were ridiculous. They said we had booked five people for breakfast, but not for an extra bed, so we would have to pay more now for the extra bed! I asked why on earth we would book for breakfast but no bed, but they had no answer. They were very insistent and quite rude, so I ended up saying I would pay, and then got my travel agent to sort it out. Even after it was sorted out they then tried to charge me for it on departure! Only giving in when i thew a wobbly at the desk.

Second example of some poor staff was at breakfast. The staff here wanted to get your details as you entered but then were in no way interested in finding us a table for five on any of the days we visited. They had no eggs pre-prepared and the egg chef appeared to be annoyed to be asked to make any, finally at 15 mins before the end of breakfast they were already warning you that you needed to leave!

having said that the location, bedrooms facilities and the one porter who was so helpful, overcame the other niggles with staff and I would still definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichCDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
The Kantary Hills Hotel, Chiang Mai thanks you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, in-room amenities, and facilities. We sincerely apologize for the confusion on your arrival, as the reservation was made for 5 people; some guests accommodate the extra child in their party by sharing beds, and thus avoiding the extra bed charge. We share your disappointment in regards to this miscommunication.
Our breakfast staff inform our guests that the buffet will close 15 minutes prior to doing so only so the guests are aware and are given ample time to get any desired items from the buffet. In regards to our staff not seating you upon your arrival, we have spoken to our breakfast buffet F&B staff and reminded them to escort every guest to their desired tables upon their arrival.
Again, thank you for your review, and thank you for your recommendation. If there is anything that I can help you with, or if you have any other comments or concerns, please feel free to contact me at rm@kantaryhills-chiangmai.com. We truly look forward to seeing and serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed hear march 2014 and found this hotel fault ness .we were picked up from the airport by one of their drivers arrived alittle early and found our room was nt ready so we eear treated to a complementary breakfast while waiting for the room.After checking in we went to our room in block 2 this is a little away from the main building but closer to the main road.The hotel it self is out side the main walled city and down town but only a short taxi drive away.the area around the hotel has a massive of bars and restaurants mainly used by young thais and not a great deal of tourists about which I found a good thing.The staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful. The rooms are superb every think in them you need .will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bracknelljohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
We at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai are proud to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you plan of visiting us again. We are elated to have met your expectations, and are glad to hear that you were able to mix with the locals here in Chiang Mai.
As we pride ourselves on providing the best in services and amenities to our visitors, we truly appreciate your review. If there is anything that I can do to ensure that your next visit is as pleasant as possible, feel free to contact me directly at gm@kantaryhills-chiangmai.com. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing and serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed with my family at this hotel for 4 nights.
The staff is very helpful and friendly.
The rooms are well equipped with new stuff (furniture, electricity equipment and bathroom).
The pool and Jacuzzi are very clean and well equipped .
Breakfast was nutrient with many options.
The restaurant offers many possibilities of dishes (buffet and on demand dishes).
The hotel is located near one of Chiang Mai’s commercial street.
We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We at Kantary Hills Hotel, Chiang Mai thank you for your review. We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your 4 nights with us, and are glad to know our our facilities, dining options and location met your expectations. Chiang Mai is a wonderful city and Nimmanhaeman road offers some of the most chic shopping options and most exciting nightlife in the city. We hope to have an opportunity to see and serve your family again soon, and if there is anything that I could help you with upon your return to Kantary Hills, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at gm@kantaryhills-chiangmai.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is in the Nimman area, which is outside of the down town area. I like this area as it's not over run by tourists, and has a lot of great restaurants and shops.

The hotel itself is nice, but definitely feels dated. As it's 4.5 star, I was expecting a bit more. The staff was helpful and friendly, and the breakfast and restaurant were quite good. One big negative is the lack of free Wifi. Wifi is now free at most hotels, so you just feel gouged when you have to pay. In addition, you only get one device when you pay, so I was constantly having to log into either my computer or phone when switching between the two. It got very annoying.

On the positive side, the workout room was quite good. Had treadmill, elipticals, weight lifting equipment and free weights.

One tip: If you pay for wifi, they offer a daily rate and a weekly rate. The weekly rate is significantly better, and may save you money even if your only there for 5 days.

Would I stay here again? I'm not sure...It felt a bit expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nacho_T53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai thanks you for taking the time to write a review for our property. We are glad that you enjoyed our location and facilities, found our staff helpful, and enjoyed our breakfast options.
In regards to your comments about Wi-Fi; Kantary Hills offers complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas of the hotel, including our executive lounge, lobby, swimming pool, as well as our restaurant and bar. The small fee that we charge for in-room Wi-Fi is an unfortunate expense but minor inconvenience considering that Wi-Fi is accessible free of charge in all other areas of the hotel. If you have and further questions or concerns, feel free to contact me at rm@kantaryhills-chiangmai.com. Thank you again for taking time to write your review, and we hope to see and serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We have visited the cafe connected to the Kantary Hills hotel a few time and have always been pleased with the products and service. Yesterday's experience was a complete disappointment on all counts. We ordered sandwiches, which were pre-packed. Both sandwiches had stale bread and were clearly not fresh. We had also ordered salmon quiche, which was acceptable, but on the expensive side at 100 baht for a small slice. In addition we ordered two latte andone cappucino. Only one of the latte was rung in, so we had to ask for it again. We also asked for the sandwiches to be refunded as we took them straight back to the counter. Instead they asked if we would accept spinach quiche, which we did. This then came microwaved and was cold in the middle. There is no excuse for the poor quality of food given the cafe is connected to the hotel, and especialy for the prices charged. The cafe management also need to start managing to ensure that the food being served is fresh and that the staff are better trained as they can be described as ambivalent at best. We did eventually get the second latte! Needless to say we will not be going back there.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jools053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
The Kantary Hills Hotel and Serviced Apartments would like to thank you for taking the time to review Café Kantary, as your feedback is invaluable to us. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations in regards to the service at Café Kantary, and apologize for the communication issues with our staff. We share your disappointment in regards to not getting the two ordered lattes and the stale sandwiches. We have now instituted a daily quality check schedule to ensure the freshness of the food served, and we have spoken to the Café staff and employed training measures to ensure that similar incidents do not occur in the future.
Again, thank you for your review, and again, I apologize for the lack of meticulousness of the staff at Café Kantary and I do hope that we have an opportunity to see and serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have stayed many times at the Kantary over the past 7 years. However, on our last visit in April 2014 we experienced the presence of many many pigeons around and at the edge of the pool area - drinking and cleaning themselves in the water.
Whilst swimming we could see excessive droppings in the water along with live mites (insects) - obviously from the birds feathers.
On checkout we left a polite letter to Management expressing our concerns suggesting some quick effective solutions to this problem - we received no reply. When we returned to England we emailed the hotel a couple of weeks later mentioning all the above as we were intending to book again for April 2015. We still have had no response (3 months later) whatsoever - so sadly we will not be returning and have booked another hotel for our stay.
Such a shame as we had always enjoyed our breaks at the Kantary.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank tigerlily102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Art Mai Gallery Nimman Hotel Chiang Mai By Compass Hospitality
3.1 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BED Nimman Hotel
BED Nimman Hotel
#6 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
3.7 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai

Property: Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai
Address: 44 Nimmanhaemin Road | Suthep, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#43 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kantary Hills, Chiangmai is the latest addition to the stylish Kantary Group of Hotels and Serviced Apartments, renowned throughout Thailand for offering the very finest in service and facilities. Featuring a range of spacious, elegantly appointed and fully furnished studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, the accommodation at Kantary Hills is unrivaled for style and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing