We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Beautiful Oriental Siam Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oriental Siam Resort
Ranked #50 of 384 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Loved the Beautiful Oriental Siam Resort”
Reviewed 9 July 2008

My wife and I took advantage of a five day stay at The Oriental Siam Resort, Chang Mai which is nestled behind a Buddhist temple on the outskirts of Chang Mai, this resort is peaceful and offers a typical and unique heritage resort atmosphere where one can experience unfettered privilege but in a manner that always feels accessible rather than something remote and strange. As guests my wife and I enjoyed the experience of a relaxed atmosphere where our energies were replenished. This resort offers an experience of authentic sensations far from the bustling activity of the city. It was a privilege to have breakfast each morning overlooking a small water fall and pond full of water lilies and lotus blooms whilst listening to birds and other small forms of wild life greet you to the awaking day. The Oriental Siam Resort offered a warm, friendly and special care so we were made to feel comfortable and safe in capable hands. I asked the management if I could view each villa which is unique and offers similar but different facilities. The gardens in the resort are something to behold and a credit to management who have worked hard in preparing what could be classed as a true heritage resort.
The Oriental Siam Resort is surrounded by many of Chang Mai’s beautiful golf courses which is only a 30 minute or less taxi ride in any direction from the resort to teeing off at the first hole at one of the charming golf courses. I particularly enjoyed golfing at the Royal Chang Mai golf course. Chang Mai city centre and riverside restaurants with live entertainment and fine food is only a 20 minute ride from the resort. The resort staff were only to happy to help with recommending and organizing our other recreational activities such as quad bike riding, white water rafting and visits to the famous Chang Mai performing elephants. On the way to the elephant reserve we stopped off for lunch at the tiger park where if you are brave enough you can pat a tiger.

It isn’t just the physical beauty of the place, its peace and its facilities that make it so special, and it's the warmth, attentiveness and apparently telepathic skills of the staff and their infinite attention to detail. Lie on a lounger by the pool and an attendant will bring you iced water, a towel and offer fruit and or cold beer. The resort can also offer Thai massage treatment on the lower level of the beautiful surroundings in the family home stay, something I took advantage of on a couple of occasions. My wife and I shall definitely return to the Oriental Siam Resort in the near future.

  • Liked — Friendly sevice, beautiful surroundings and well appointed rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ChinaGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    39
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
83
128
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WONGGA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2008

My wife and I stayed for 1 week in the resort in April 2008. I was in need of a real break after a very busy year. I found the Oriental Siam Resort to be just what the doctor ordered, it is set in a quiet residential area next door to an enchanting Thai temple. Both my wife and I enjoyed enormously the unobtrusive and friendly service provided by proprietor Pongsri and her staff.

The resort comprises several single bedroom villas as well as a larger three bedroom one, we occupied one of the smaller ones. The villas are of a high standard, very spacious and discrete with all mod cons with sumptuous bathrooms and a separate dressing area. The villas are set in beautifully landscaped gardens with large mature trees, with a profusion colourful hibiscus and bougainvilla everywhere and a pool, there are computers, internet and a gym for those who are interested in these things.

You really feel as if you are living in Thailand, so different from the 5 star hotels in which you could be absolutely anywhere. The resort offers 5 star accommodation standards together with a quiet and well appointed atmosphere, perfect for a relaxing holiday in natural surroundings with the advantage of Pongsri's local knowledge (she is a native of Chiang Mai) and the proximity of the many attractions if you wish to take advantage of them.

  • Liked — Relaxing, quiet, great service
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WONGGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2008

We have just spent the most relaxing and interesting week of our lives at this resort.
Small, (6 villas,) but very well equipped this place was all that we could have wished for in both comfort and service. The service started a week previously when we were met at the airport by two of the staff dressed in traditional Thai costumes and escorted to the resorts car for the short trip to the resort.
Booking in was quick and efficient and we were then taken to our villa.
The resort is new and the villa was outstanding in the quality of furnishings and cleanliness, the workings and placement of all the items was explained to us and we were left to settle in.
Breakfast was served in the restaraunt overlooking the feature pond with water lilies and gold fish and was excellant in both it,s presentation and it,s quality.
The owners discussed the various attractions within Chiang Mai and we were asked what we wanted to see and it would be arranged.
Attractions included everything from elephant rides to an Orchid farm and we planned our vacation as required. For golfers it must be heaven as there are seemingly 10 courses locally and all to a high standard and relatively inexpensive.
Transport for the day trips depended on the location and varied from the owners own car to taxi,s.
When not on the tourist trail it was good to relax in the pool or just taking photographs of the resorts wonderfull display of tropical plants in the surrounding garden. The managers husband is very knowledgable about his garden and was very happy to show it off and discuss it.
The staff were always attentive but not obtrusively so, they always seemed to know when another drink was required at the pools edge without hovering about all the time, any time we did require something for the room it was with us within minutes of me putting down the phone.
Overall the place reeks of relaxation and it should be selling itself more as a honeymoon destination.
We arrived as tourists and departed as friends to all the staff The resort manager and my wife both had a tear in their eye as we left.

  • Liked — Staff friendliness, quality of villas, standard of food. pool and garden. everything !!
  • Disliked — Bed positioned below the A/C unit !!
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank awfShenzhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2008

We spent three nights at this newly opened resort and it turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip. We are a family of 2 adults and 3 chidren aged 3 - 8 Years. The owners are some of the most friendly and helpful people you will ever meet. We had booked two villas which connected with a small bridge and had their own kitchen and private garden. The resort is in a village just outside Chiang Mai but only a short taxi ride away. The staff will arrange for taxis and they have local contacts who are very reliable, good drivers and reasonably priced. On our first morning at the hotel, we were offered the opportunity to go on a walk around the village with one of the owners which we did. She took us to the temple and the local school which she had attended and through the village. The children loved it and were very interested to see and suprised by the local school - so different to their own. This was not a tour or something we were charged for - they are very proud of their village and wanted us to experience it and gave up their time willingly to show us around.
There are two dogs at the hotel that the children loved to play with and feed - please note that they did check before that the children were not scared of dogs and offered to keep them away if they were. One of the owners took some photos of the children playing with the dogs and went off to the photographers the same day and had them printed out, so she could present us with a copy before we left.
There is a small restaurant which is an old rice barn and overlooks the fish lake. The food was excellent and the staff went out of their way to make it child-friendly. The menu is not fixed and if you wish to eat at the resort, they will come and discuss what is available and then tailor the menu to your requirements. We were well catered for as vegetarians and lovely treats like ice cream, local sweets and pancakes at breakfast were produced for the children.
The staff very kindly booked our next accommodation for us as the reservations staff did not speak English and when we arrived and had some problems, the staff from Oriental Siam phoned to try and sort it out. The fantastic service continued even after we had left the resort.
We have no hesitation in recommending this resort to anyone. It is a truely wonderful, relaxing and hospitable place with fantastic management and friendly staff. It is very relaxing and you feel a million miles from the city, yet it is a short taxi ride away. If you want to relax and experience Thailand and are not looking for a wild social scene, then give the Oriental Siam a try.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DubaiLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2008

My wife and I stayed at this great resort for a week at the begining of Feburary.
The resort is very new and finished beautifully, Pongsri and Roop ensured our stay was comfortable and were very friendly helping us with suggestions on where to go and what to do.
It is very well situated in Chiang Mai and a short trip from the airport, there are various restaraunts around as well.

  • Liked — The standard of the facility
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.8 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#40 of 384 in Chiang Mai
928 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 384 in Chiang Mai
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#42 of 384 in Chiang Mai
488 reviews
3.5 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#33 of 384 in Chiang Mai
958 reviews
4.1 mi away
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
#63 of 384 in Chiang Mai
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Siam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Siam Resort

Property: Oriental Siam Resort
Address: 40/1 Moo 2, Tambon Tasala | Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oriental Siam Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental Siam Resort is situated within 15 minutes from the airport & city centre, only 5-10 minutes from the Arts & Crafts villages, restaurants, shopping mall. There are many tourists attractions nearby such as hot springs, cave, Underground Ancient City, golf courses and sport activities for the thrill seekers. At The Oriental Siam Resort, our English, Chinese and Dutch speaking staff promise you an experience you will never forget. Unlike any other resort in the area, each of our accommodations has its own design and characteristics. You will be touched by its elegance and simplicity with smiling faces are everywhere to embrace you like you are a part of the family. The details of each room were painstakingly researched from the ancient-Lanna era. The resort OSR offers 8 types of accommodations on a grand scale from 60 m² to 300 m². The balconies of the colonial suites enhance the senses of our guests in terms of open space and palatial living. Oriental Siam Resort is ideal for chic visitors seeking sophisticated characteristics of city, along with the luxurious facilities for your comfort. The Oriental Siam Resort is more than just a place to stay, we provide service to the highest standard and will help you make the most of your stay in Chiang Mai. The luxurious facilities and serene atmosphere provide an environment to relax and enjoy after a day of sightseeing or a round of golf at the beautiful local courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oriental Siam Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Siam Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing