We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right at home at this quiet Chiang Mai oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oriental Siam Resort
Ranked #48 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Right at home at this quiet Chiang Mai oasis”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We spent 4 nights at this family owned and operated boutique small hotel. Located outside of the city, it is a quiet oasis set in lush well tended gardens. Villa style rooms were large and comfortable and hot and cold breakfasts made to order served on your porch or in the communal area were a great start to the day. Being outside the city car/taxi service is needed to get to town easily arranged at the hotel and very reasonable. If you are not going into town for dinner, there is a good restaurant nearby that is owned by another family member, a short drive away (which they will provide) or walk. Pongsri, her husband and staff were all so helpful with activities and welcomed us like we were family. Highly recommended for a more quiet and homey experience for your stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotyogaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    39
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
79
125
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I loved this hotel. It was one of the necest in terms of service and food and accomodations in all the places in Thailand. The people are absolutely great and I would stay here again.

There are two reasons this place does not get five stars. The first is the location. It was difficult getting back to this place from town even with the maps they gave us. We usually made it back (don't take a Tuk-tuk) and it was always a great experience, but it was hard at times. Also costs a lot to get there from town. We paid between 350-450 baht to get back and about 200 to get there. This was a little more than you will pay elsewhere.

The other reason is because we had a bad cab driver leaving. I had let my gaurd down the first day because of how friendly the people were (100% my fault) and asked to get food before we went to a tailor in the city. The tailor was highly reccomended and I knew where I was going.... When we arrived to the place for lunch, which was on the other side of town, and the driver said he would wait. I thought this was nice, and he showed me the outside of some shops, but again, I thought nothing of it. Once we were done with lunch I directed him to the tailor and he said we needed to stop at one of the 'silk factories' right outside of where we ate lunch. I said no and to take us to where WE agreed on before. He ended up taking us there, but the price changed from 200 baht to 600 baht. I told him to call the hotel and see what happened and why the price changed. The explaination was because he 'waited for us.' Regarless, we ended up paying the 200 and he brought us to the shop I asked for. I have a great review for the tailor and I am happy I was thinking on my feet when I said no to the silk factory. Here is the kicker: this guy called the tailor 30 minutes later and demanded a commision which they refused to pay.

Positives:

Great breakfast, coffee when I asked for some (was good too!), room service was great; had my clothes washed and they called several people for a tour I wanted, and brought more fruit at breakfast!

Reccomendations for Chiang Mai:

Patara Elephant Farm and A lot of Thai cooking class. BOOK EARLY!!

Room Tip: Great Breakfast, great serive, location is out of the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Just about to leave the Oriental Siam after staying 3 very p,wasabi nights/days
In this place.

All the staff including the owner/manager "Pongsri" as well as the other staff "Top" just
And driver "Mr Pom" have been extremely nice and helpful.

The quality of the room is great. As previous reviews said not 5 star but it is not trying to be.
The food is good not a huge selection but what you get is very nice. Had the Tom yam goon
Soup and in my opinion as good as I had anywhere else.

I will definitely return here with my husband later in the year.
The people who previously didn't like it probably should have their expectations checked
and check into a large resort.

For what it is and where it is it's excellent.
Thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaws550402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Hotel is small but beautifully created...cool and calm. The owners ( couple) are very kind and lovely people. They take care of every guest personally. Peter (owner) personally takes care of the garden. Breakfast is good and made to match your taste buds. Only a little negative about this property is that its at 15 minutes drive from the night bazar & downtown. Otherwise everything is perfect. Good for couples & family. All staff are very helpful and smiling.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelanalyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This is a very nice place with particularly nice staff.

We really enjoyed our stay over Christmas 2013. It is not a 5 star resort and was surprisingly compact on arrival, but once you relax into it it feels plenty spacious enough. The owner and staff are very nice and helped us a lot while we stayed. You can have a masseuse come to you room to give a very good massage. They sorted train and bus tickets for us. Picked us up from the airport.

Positives: staff are extra-ordinarily smiley and attentive.
Lovely gardens, if a bit smaller than expected.
Quiet and peaceful.
Very nice breakfasts and evening meals.
Mr Pom arranged our train and bus tickets for us.
Very kind and attentive when they knew my girlfriend was feeling unwell.
Close to a good mall for a spot of shopping, cinema or dining.

Slight negatives: sub-urban setting
No welcome booklet in the room to let us know the services and so on without having to ask. I quite like browsing through those things on arrival.

Room Tip: All seem pretty good. At least one has a small kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here in the honeymoon suite during mid December for 5 nights and from the moment we arrived we were made to feel like one of the family.
Sure, the hotel is a little out of the way of the town (20 minutes) but for us this is not a problem as we take day trips regularly and Mr Pom (the hotel driver) is very friendly and speaks great English. We took regular trips to town for dinner and were always met with a smile when we can back by the security guard who takes you back to your room.
The food here was great and very reasonably priced, along with drinks.
Breakfast and dinner out on the veranda over looking the pond is idyllic.
The resort is well put together and very clean. We will definately stay here again if we come back to Chiang Mai and will recommend to all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saracoles2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huizen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Me and a friend have been touring SE Asia, our last stop being Chiang mai and our stay at the Oriental Siam Resort for our last 4 nights in Thailand, was a wonderful ending to our tour. We needed a rest and some peace and quiet and we got that and more. The resort is beautiful, charming villas in a tropical garden, in a quite environment. That was perfect for us as we had had enough of the hassle of trekking around busy city centres.
Our Villa, Leelawadee Villa, had a large bathroom with a bath tub and separate shower. There was also a lovely terraced area at the front and a nice relaxing terrace corner at the back as well
There is a satellite TV and video but we did not need it as we prefer to enjoyed nature and being outside in the lovely garden and swimmingpool,
Every morning we had an enjoyable breakfast at the restaurant overlooking the pond and we were well looked after by the helpful restaurant staff.
Everyone was so friendly, we felt we were a part of the family.
The next time we go to Thailand we will certainly visit this resort again.

Room Tip: Been shown around in the resort and to me all rooms look excellent! Would be hard to pick one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roblauret2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4.5 mi away
Zensala Riverpark Resort
Zensala Riverpark Resort
#52 of 375 in Chiang Mai
152 reviews
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.8 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#44 of 375 in Chiang Mai
890 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Chiang Mai Riverside
The Chiang Mai Riverside
#25 of 375 in Chiang Mai
117 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 375 in Chiang Mai
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Siam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Siam Resort

Property: Oriental Siam Resort
Address: 40/1 Moo 2, Tambon Tasala | Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oriental Siam Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental Siam Resort is situated within 15 minutes from the airport & city centre, only 5-10 minutes from the Arts & Crafts villages, restaurants, shopping mall. There are many tourists attractions nearby such as hot springs, cave, Underground Ancient City, golf courses and sport activities for the thrill seekers. At The Oriental Siam Resort, our English and Dutch speaking staff promise you an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oriental Siam Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Siam Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing